We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very nice, wrong time of year”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Ranked #1 of 33 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
Certificate of Excellence
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice, wrong time of year”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Visited Platja D'Aro on business in March, unfortunately most of th town was closed. The hotel was very nice, well appointed rooms. My jacuzzi bath didn't work, however the room was very nice. There also seemed to be a lack of staff, the only time we used the bar, I had to telephone reception to get service.

Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SharkyAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

731 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    517
    151
    43
    7
    13
See reviews for
104
532
8
15
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
essex
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

A lovely hotel with plenty of space to sit and relax. We went out of season (October) but I think the hotel had plenty of sun beds and chairs for all of the guests. Good access (beware lots of stairs) to the small cove below the beach. Very good breakfast selection. Room very clean and well maintained we had access to a terrace which was very nice. Staff helpful and available (which says much these days). Plenty of car parking at hotel. Lots of shops/ eating in resort (the hotel is pricey for dinner) but as the hotel is situated out of town be prepared to either drive or take a taxi. We visited after a trip to Barcelona and found it a good base to get out and about.

Room Tip: Our room was situated on the ground floor in front of and to the right hand side of reception and wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallesHotels, Director at Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, responded to this review, 9 March 2013
Distinguished guest,
Thank you very much for your valuable comments. We are very pleased that your holidays were as you had imagined. We sincerely appreciate your positive comments about our facilities, but more so his words about our staff. Your comments will help us to continue to pursue a level of service excellence that we have set. Regarding the restaurant keep in mind that we work with fresh, seasonal area. With a magnificent presentation and service according to a five stars for hotels. It is true that by proximity to Barcelona, ​​Girona and even France, the proximity of airports (Barcelona, ​​Girona), the TGV (girona) makes it easy to enjoy a few days rest in the Costa Brava and specifically the baix emporda (Platja d'Aro) population where we are right across the Mediterranean sea. Once again thank you very much for your feedback and hope to see you soon in our hotel
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South East, England
Level Contributor
39 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

We have been here twice. The first time you see the view from the restaurant you are taken aback as it is so beautiful. Very good value despite it bing expensive. Top class food. I had the Arroz negro and can still remember it as being oneof the most amazing lunches ever. Pool area is relaxed and classy. You can read a book, sleep, act as though it is your own villa! People are very well behaved and good mannered. It is a steep walk down to the beach and I would not let small children wander about here. You might be living on your nerves with old folks too! So many steps and a bit of a wavy and steeply shelving beach. So many photos to take of the coastline. It is exceptional.
The town of Platja D'aro is nothing special. Just a town really with lots of shops and restaurants. Interesting but .....

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debthereb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallesHotels, Director at Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your comments, we are very pleased that your stay was so enjoyable. We take due note of any improvements we can make to give better service to our guests (beach access).
On your next visit , I recommend to visit some nearby wonderful towns as Pals, Peratallada, Begur .... see in our reception will be pleased to inform you
Thanks again and see you soon
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pune, India
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

Stayed here for company outing in May. The experience was superb. Beautiful rooms with excellent view. Extensive spa facilities. Food was great. Though vegetarian options were less, but they prepared veg pizzas, etc for us. Breakfast was lovely. The rate was although high. But it was worth it. The location was really good. Quiet, calm & peaceful.
Only problem was if they could have provided more veg options, since it is not difficult to manage that.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pr_ri_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallesHotels, Director at Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, responded to this review, 2 February 2013
Dear guest;
thanks for your valuable comments. nothing inspires us more than a satisfied guest. We take due note about vegetarian food, but as you say vegetarian dishes prepared for you. We try to satisfy all the needs of our guests, so we discuss with our chef to see the possibilities expand.
Best wishes and hope to see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night during a January weekend. The presentation of the hotel is outstanding, the staff were welcoming and helpful, and the "standard" room was impressively appointed and clean, with a large terrace and rich decor.
We were thrilled with the visually beautiful and extensive spa facilities, and there was plenty of choice in the breakfast buffet. We had only two minor gripes: the hot food selection at breakfast would've been even better had it been... well, a little hotter! And we found the in-room wifi connection to be particularly poor, which ultimately proved very frustrating. However, there was an excellent connection in the restaurant.

Overall, a memorable and special experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallesHotels, Director at Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear guest;
thank you very much for your valuable comments. We are delighted you had a great stay with us.
We take due note about breakfast service, in terms of the hot products.
Regarding the wi-fi, we have increased the number of antennas to improve coverage and hired an ADSL line more suitable to the needs of our guests. We are awaiting the telephone company for installation. So we hope to have this enhanced service soon
Hope to see you again soon,
best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
French Riviera
Level Contributor
77 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

My wife and I just stayed 1 night on our way back home. We did get a great rate as it was January 1 and could not use most of what makes it charm: a large terrace with direct access from our room #4 and gazebo, an outdoor (unheated) pool and a beautiful little unspoilt natural beach. For sure this is not the place for kids and the long Costa Brava beaches are more adequate.
Our room was of good size and Wifi hook-up and reception easy & good.
Service was excellent (all french speaking personnel at 60 km away from the border). Breakfast was plentiful with fresh juices and fried eggs, bacon & sausages cooked well and maintained warm ! The best was the dinner 2 starters, 2 main dishes, coffee, water and a bottle of local Rose wine for just over 100 €. If you are just passing by as we were don't even bother to find a place to eat !
We will certainly be back - in off season - to get best price, best service, no crowd !

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jr_hummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallesHotels, Director at Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, responded to this review, 11 January 2013
Dear guest;
thanks for your valuable comments. Nothing pleases us more, than a satisfied guest.
Thanks again and hope to see you again soon
best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012

Lovely hotel, full of elegance, relaxation and private atmosphere. Nice sea view, big balcony, cosy rooms. Perfect room service and very comfortable bathroom. Spa is great, but breakfast and restaurant are even better )) So - no chance to became more slim and fit, but absolutely no chance to be dissatisfied or unhappy.
Of cause the beach is public, like everywhere in Spain. When you are looking for private beach - you should just choose another country. Highly recommend for vacation for lonely person or couple.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platja d'Aro
0.2 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
1,544 reviews
5.8 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
591 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
#3 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Hotel Blau Mar
Hotel Blau Mar
#1 of 6 in Llafranc
350 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
#8 of 33 in Platja d'Aro
187 reviews
10.6 mi away
Hotel Aiguablava
Hotel Aiguablava
#4 of 14 in Begur
496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi

Property: Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Address: Avda Cavall Bernat 160, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#7 Family Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel offers direct access to Platja d'Aro's Cala del Pi Beach. It has a free 600m² spa, free Wi-Fi and parking and an outdoor pool with sea views.Rooms at Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi feature a hydromassage shower and a private terrace, many with views over the Mediterranean Sea. All come with satellite TV, pillow menu and Loewe amenities. Hotel Cala del Pi features a heated indoor pool, waterfalls, ice fountains, a Finnish sauna and Turkish bath. There is also a small fitness centre. The Rosa dels Vents restaurant serves Mediterranean cuisine prepared using seasonal products. The cafe bar includes a summer terrace overlooking the sea. Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi is located on the Costa Brava, just 27 km from Girona-Costa Brava Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salles Hotel And Spa Cala Del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala Del Pi Platja D'Aro, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing