We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not so sure...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi
Ranked #1 of 32 Hotels in Platja d'Aro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 September 2013

We stayed elsewhere however trusted the reviews that the spa and restaurant are high class and went to experience a relaxing evening with spa, massages, treatments and a gourmet meal.
I am not sure if it was our previous experiences worldwide and skewed reality... or just a Spanish level of 5* but we got very disappointed.
Location is lovely, no doubt & The water/pool area is nice.
SPA employees did not speak one word of English, did not explain anything at all about the treatments, steps, procedure, did not ask for any preferences, etc etc. They did their standard thing (quite below average, we thought - and we were 5 ladies and tried 4 treatments/massages) and off we went. Since we did not stay in the hotel, the changing room was about 2sqm room with a bench... funny, we thought. To go to bathroom - you need to go to the pool area... hmm.
And now the restaurant. For a dinner for 5 people (incl 1 bottle of local wine) we paid 300Eur. It was very far from 5* restaurant although the setting is nice and service pleasant (the younger waitresses not very well trained.. but it was understandable they were there for their language skills - some English - yay!!). We all truly enjoyed all our desserts, wine and coffee however the starters and main courses were ranging from good to... "I better leave it on plate".

Again, possibly we were unlucky, possibly, it was our experience in variety of other 5* establishments that left us wishing for a better value for price... But one thing is for sure - SPA personnel need some basic English training asap....

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Dana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallesHotels, Director at Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2013

Dear guests,
Thank you very much for your valuable comments. It is true that not all of our staff speaks all languages ​​that would be necessary , we have a team that speaks different languages, French, English , German, Dutch , Russian, Spanish ... etc.
but it is true that our spa is perhaps we should work more on that line . We're working on it.
About the restaurant , .I'm sorry if you could not enjoy our restaurant . we have a style of cooking with fresh and typical products of the Baix Emporda , seasonal cuisine, with excellent presentation . In the last two years Rosa dels Vents restaurant become one of the landmark restaurants in the area, for his style of cooking , for their lyrical cycles dining, etc ...
But take note of all your comments about our hotel and restaurant . We are going to work on it , we believe that all comments are really positive , because they help to improve and continue to work looking for the service that our customers deserve .
Thank you very much again and hope to see you soon again
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (872)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

101 - 107 of 872 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013 via mobile

Such a beautiful hotel from outside & in. Decent size room with all the amenities required. Extremely friendly and helpful staff. The spa is amazing. We had 2 massages and enjoyed the spa daily (sauna, pool etc). Great breakfast. Located couple mins drive from the main strip of platja d'aro. Nice restaurants & shopping on that road. We chose to stay in this area of costa brava as the hotel looked amazing and it did not disappoint. Had entrance to its own private beach also.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mons11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallesHotels, director at Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear guest,
Tahnk you vry much for your´s positive comments. Our goal is not other one that to offer the best service to our guests.This kin d of comments , make us think that we are in the good way. Thank you again and we wait to see you soon again
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

This year ,the second time I visited this hotel and once again I can confirm that this is the best option in playa de aro and one of the best luxury resort in costa brava.Rather new property itself , very friendly stuff , one of the best spa . The perfect breakfast , including Jamon , Iberian sausages and many others tasty things , all this with spectacular view on the on of the best small beach in this region. The picture you see from your balcony you can find in many touristic magazines.Special thanks to Willy , the guy at the reception , who helped us to visit many good restaurants , including Michelin stars and not only . Unfortunately he was absent the day we checked out and I could not express my gratitude , so hope to do this next time.
Also I would like to note the restaurant Rosa dels vents , deserved the note in Michelin guide .THeir gazpacho with tomato and beet root with yogurt from goat cheese is the best I have ever tried .Sommelier Jaime Abel Varon at the restaurant was just a godsend , he not only recommended us some wine , but every time did small excursion in the world of wine with detail explanation of every bottle he proposed . All really good wines were at absolutely reasonable price ( 30-40 EUR) close to market .
Some recommendation to the management to make the hotel the superb:
- to improve wi- fi quality
- to expand kids visiting time to spa at least for one hour , not from 2 till 3 , but from 1 till 2 p.m., to have possibility to warm child up , especially in cool season after the swimming pool.
- serve the beer and others drinks in the bar with some snacks like nuts, chips and olives. It is usual practice in all luxury hotels.
Despite the last sentences, the hotel is strongly recommended to visit.

Room Tip: THey have very good room 012 on the first floor with a huge terrace .The 013 is not bad too. The hi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alexander49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallesHotels, director at Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

Dear guest
All Cala del Pi team thanks you for your comments about your stay with us. Nothing pleases us more than a satisfied guest. We only try to give the best service to make the stay of our guests is just as they had imagined. Therefore, and in the case of its 2nd stay with us, we are even more pleased because it tells us that we are on the good way . We take due note of your recommendations.
Once again thank you very much for your comments,
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed here for 5 nights at the end of June/beginning of July and really find it hard to find any fault.
From the moment we arrived the staff were all friendly and helpful: Joan at the entrance gate, the young man who came to meet us in the underground car park to help with our bags and Will on reception who gave us a comprehensive introduction to the hotel and all its facilities.
We had been upgraded to a room with a sea view, which was wonderful, it had a good sized balcony, an enormous bed and also the bathroom was extremely spacious.
We ended up eating in the hotel restaurant every night as the food was excellent and there was a good choice of reasonably priced wines. A nice touch was the complimentary aperitif, usually a glass of Cava and also the pre-starters which were very good. Some of the dishes did seem extremely expensive eg the crab at 55 euros (for a starter!) but there were others more reasonably priced too. Particularly delicious was the rock octopus starter, the monkfish and the confit of kid, also the walnut and fruit bread rolls. On a couple of nights it was extremely empty but, having walked down to the town a few times in search of somewhere different and not really finding anywhere that appealed, it was lovely to return to the tranquility of the hotel. All the waitresses seemed to speak at least 2 languages and had to translate for the sommelier who only spoke Spanish (apologies if it was actually Catalan) when he did his "performance' which was informative but maybe not essential.
The inclusive breakfast had a good selection of fruits, cold meats, cheeses, some delicious pastries and the usual array of cooked eggs, bacon and sausages which always seemed fresh as they didn't put out too much at a time. It was DIY tea and coffee so you never had to ask for another pot but occasionally there was a short queue at the coffee machine.
Most of the other guests appeared to be French families with beautifully behaved children, more mature French and Spanish couples or Russians. Apart from ourselves there seemed to be only one other British couple.
The areas around the pool were always spotlessly clean. Although the beach was small, if you wanted to swim in the sea it was easily accessible from the terrace with its lovely sunbeds, just through a gate and down some steps
We would definitely return to this hotel or try another in the Salles group. They even gave us bottles of water for our trip as we checked out.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank toasty754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallesHotels, director at Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013
Google Translation

Estimados huéspedes,
Nuestras más sinceras gracias por su amplia y detallada descripción de sus estancia entre nosotros. Creo sinceramente que hacen una descripción perfecta de lo que nos hemos propuesto como meta …..intentar dar el mejor servicio a nuestro clientes. Le agradezco sinceramente todas y cada una de sus palabras , las positivas y las no tan positivas , porque realmente nos ayudan a mejorar . De parte de todo el equipo de Cala del PI , muchas gracias e intentaremos mejorar dia a dia en nuestro servicio.
Un saludo y esperamos verlos pronto

Saludos!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2013

More 4 star minus ,rather than 5 star. Clean and on a rocky coast but small pool and only small public cove as a beach. Rooms rather dated in an 80's style but ok but ground floor no view of the sea
Staff all young and very willing can all speak at least Spanish ,Russian and English, although I think I was the only guest from the UK. I was surprised at how good the food was in the restaurant
Lots of excellent seafood as is to be expected and plenty of wines at 20€ mark although 16€ for some sliced tomato is a little steep.actually I found the Russians rather more enjoyable than a hotel full of Germans or French for that matter!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomaskerr7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallesHotels, manager at Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for your positives comments of your holydays in our hotel We Estimate sincerely each and every words. We are happy that you enjoy our restaurant , based on fresh products and seasonal .
Thank ´s again and we hope to see you soon again .
best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We enjoyed 5 nights in this hotel with our 2 sons. Very nice adjoining rooms with Spanish style furniture overlooking the pool and with a very nice sea view. Excellent breakfast with a very comprehensive buffet. We ate in the restaurant one night and were all very pleased with a delicious meal and very friendly service. We used the spa facilities everyday and found them first class. Overall a very enjoyable stay and highly recommended.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
Thank Sean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallesHotels, Director at Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your wonderful comments about your stay in our hotel.
We are pleased that you and your children had a really enjoyable stay. We are pleased that restaurant, spa, pool, etc. .. was perfect for you & your family
We Hope to see you again soon
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

This was a short break birthday treat with my best friend. We found the hotel to be very comfortable, clean, the staff very friendly & helpful & the option to enjoy the spa, very relaxing when the weather was bad. There was a good choice of food on the breakfast buffet, although the food could have been hotter. We ate out in the evening in the nearby seaside town on Platja D'Aro as the hotel restaurant seemed very expensive & lacking in atmosphere. Overall though, a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank js13Hertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SallesHotels, Director at Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your valuable feedback about your stay in our hotel.
We are pleased that you had a really enjoyable stay.
Hope to see you again soon
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Platja d'Aro
0.2 mi away
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
Silken Park Hotel San Jorge
#2 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
1,862 reviews
5.8 mi away
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
Salles Hotel Mas Tapiolas
#1 of 2 in Santa Cristina d'Aro
729 reviews
0.8 mi away
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
Cosmopolita Hotel-Boutique
#9 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
Hotel Spa La Terrassa
#4 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
401 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Cap Roig by Brava Hoteles
Hotel Cap Roig by Brava Hoteles
#11 of 32 in Platja d'Aro
442 reviews
15.5 mi away
Rigat Park & Spa Hotel
Rigat Park & Spa Hotel
#33 of 124 in Lloret de Mar
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi

Address: Avda Cavall Bernat 160, 17250 Platja d'Aro, Spain
Phone Number:
Region: Spain > Catalonia > Province of Girona > Costa Brava > Platja d'Aro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#1 Romantic Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#1 Luxury Hotel in Platja d'Aro
#7 Family Hotel in Platja d'Aro
Price Range: £130 - £338 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi 5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This luxury hotel offers direct access to Platja d'Aro's Cala del Pi Beach. It has a free 600m² spa, free Wi-Fi and parking and an outdoor pool with sea views.Rooms at Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi feature a hydromassage shower and a private terrace, many with views over the Mediterranean Sea. All come with satellite TV, pillow menu and Loewe amenities. Hotel Cala del Pi features a heated indoor pool, waterfalls, ice fountains, a Finnish sauna and Turkish bath. There is also a small fitness centre. The Rosa dels Vents restaurant serves Mediterranean cuisine prepared using seasonal products. The cafe bar includes a summer terrace overlooking the sea. Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi is located on the Costa Brava, just 27 km from Girona-Costa Brava Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mirai, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Ebookers, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Salles Hotel & Spa Cala del Pi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salles Hotel And Spa Cala Del Pi
Salles Hotel & Spa Cala Del Pi Platja D'Aro, Costa Brava, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing