We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel- Lots to Recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Augusta Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Augusta Spa Resort
Ranked #5 of 74 Hotels in Sanxenxo
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Hotel- Lots to Recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

Spent a week at The Augusta Spa as part of a mini tour of Galicia. The set up feels strange to begin with, the hotel is based around 2 different buildings on the opposite side of the road, about 10 minutes walk away from the beach. But once you get used to it it has lots of excellent features. The Family Suites in Building 2 are brilliant. There's a useful kitchenette and a luxurious bathroom with a jacuzzi bath and a 'drench' shower. The hammock on the balcony was popular with the whole family! The pool at Building 2 is great. You can be pummelled by several different jets and torrents of water as well as swimming and relaxing in a hot tub. The retractable roof is inspired and staff were quick off the mark to open or close it according to the temperature. It's slightly annoying that there's an 'adults only' pool at the Family Suite building but the rules were only strictly enforced when it was really busy. We didn't visit the pools much at Building 1 but there are 3.

Food-wise there's a choice: we went half board, and could eat breakfast and one other meal in either restaurant in whichever building we fancied. The breakfast buffet was excellent, well staffed with a good choice. The Table D'Hote dinner was fine, mainly grilled meat/fish and rice dishes. I'd probably give it 6-7/10. The menu is is in Spanish, only a few of the staff speak English but those who do are fantastic. Fernando in the restaurant is really charming and helpful and Ludovico too. The reception staff try really hard to speak English and are very helpful as well. I'm pretty sure we were the only British (probably the only non-Spanish) people in the hotel for the whole week.

This is the perfect place for families with kids of all ages. Ours are 12 an 10.There is some 'animacion' for children but it's fairly low key and, again, not very accessible if you don't speak Spanish.

Overall a really good place with some luxurious touches. To me it felt like a spa first and foremost rather than a family beach hotel, which isn't necessarily a bad thing!

Room Tip: Family suites are in building 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fitzbrum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    615
    351
    118
    43
    30
See reviews for
378
590
12
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel is unique in it's class. It can cater for either couples and families; as have two differenciated blocks. One of them contains family suites with kichenette, and direct access to the spa facilities were children are welcome! (before 7pm)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank Compostelana_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2013

a great place for a short family break, only flaw is dining room understaffed for breakfast which lead to shortages of basics and a wait for replenishment. Indoor pool area is very hot as they don't bother to open the roof enough. Kids are hounded a bot in spa, but we generally managed to ignore the staff and let kids go on jets

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suitedreamsdublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

I travelled with my family last week and we had a marvelous time in the resort. Unfortunately we were not able to explore all the SPA (for sure in a future visit) but we were always in the indoor pool with the kids... I highly recommend it for quality family time...

See you soon Augusta!...

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Taveira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, España
Level Contributor
87 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

Gone in december, it is designed to be a complement to the beach, so now the only thing to do was the Spa-related activities.
It has two buildings, with two different spa premises (you can useboth of them), plus an external area that seems to be very god, but obviously not usable in this season.
Apart from this, good premises, clean and correct. Worst for me was the restaurant, good food quality but not very inspiring.. not really a defect.

Room Tip: better the new building (# 2), the rooms are bigger (call them suites)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jon095
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South of England
Level Contributor
83 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We booked this hotel at the last minute and they were fully booked but managed to squeeze us in, initially with some move of rooms but then they sorted out a room for most of our stay. The staff were excellent throughout the hotel. Despite the fact the hotel was full there are so many places to relax it never felt crowded, there were always sunbeds available and rarely more than a few people in Chill Spa or the Swimming Pool. We didn't eat other than lunch or breakfast here but what we did have was excellent and good value for money. We didn't use the Spa facilities much but they looked superb. The hotel is very close to the town and Sanzenco is a great place to visit and eat.

Room Tip: I think all the rooms have balconies and all are a great standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maisieandjazzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portugal
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2011

Stayed at Augusta Spa in May for 3 days and was amazing.
Went with 3 friends, "just girls" to have a special weekend with friends at a Hotel Spa making some treatments and enjoying.
At SPA they have a wide range of treatments, very hard to choose.
It was my 2nd time at Augusta Spa, my 1st time was in winter. As the weather was fantastic we used outside areas and swiming pool. I loved the way the hotel explorer the exterior areas outside, very nice, beautiful, comfortable, the bar closed to the jacuzzi was unreal, they serve delicious meals, salads, sanwich...
The only problem for me was the out side swiming pool water..... was very cold, even been outside around 30º, the water still been very cold.
At night is possible to have dinner at hotel restaurant or to go Sanxenxo center and there you have a variety of restautants, lots of bar and lost of fun.
As i love Spain and Galiza i will back again.
Can´t wait to go again...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tita_Pt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sanxenxo
0.4 mi away
Hotel Carlos I Silgar
Hotel Carlos I Silgar
#2 of 74 in Sanxenxo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 683 reviews
0.7 mi away
Gran Talaso Hotel Sanxenxo
12.2 mi away
Gran Hotel Nagari Boutique & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Hotel Eurostars Isla de La Toja
Hotel Eurostars Isla de La Toja
#2 of 2 in Isla de la Toja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
6.8 mi away
Hotel Spa Norat O Grove
Hotel Spa Norat O Grove
#6 of 25 in O Grove
4.0 of 5 bubbles 338 reviews
5.8 mi away
Talaso Hotel Louxo La Toja
Talaso Hotel Louxo La Toja
#1 of 2 in Isla de la Toja
4.0 of 5 bubbles 635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Augusta Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Augusta Spa Resort

Property: Augusta Spa Resort
Address: Padrinan 25, 36960, Sanxenxo, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Sanxenxo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Sanxenxo
#3 Luxury Hotel in Sanxenxo
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Sanxenxo
#5 Romantic Hotel in Sanxenxo
#11 Family Hotel in Sanxenxo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Augusta Spa Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Augusta Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Augusta Hotel Sanxenxo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing