We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How hotels should be!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Carlos I Silgar
Ranked #2 of 76 Hotels in Sanxenxo
Certificate of Excellence
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“How hotels should be!”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

I am English but live in southern Spain where service can sometimes be a little "take it or leave it" and where they often don't appreciate that the tourist and the expats are the lifeblood of the economy.

We moved north to escape the searing heat of August on the Costa Tropical and found the charming seaside town of Sanxenxo in Galicia and the wonderful Carlos 1 Silgar hotel.

This hotel could teach the Spanish tourism industry how to treat their valued clients. Everything in the hotel was just so and nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Having said that, this location and this hotel would probably not suit Brits who just want the UK in the sun. It does not have the type of food and entertainment that you might find in a typical package hotel on the Costas. The town is very Spanish as is the hotel. Of course you can get by very well in the hotel and the town in English but we didn't want to. We speak reasonable Spanish and wanted to be in a very much Spanish environment. I would recommend it to anybody who wanted to holiday in a true Spanish resort and who wanted to escape the high summer temperatures of the south of Spain. In the first week we barely heard an English voice.

The second week we did hear a group of "grey pound" English voices in hotel (pretty much the only English there) and as usual it's the English who don't know how to behave. One or two of the English group thought it was okay to use the F word at full volume in the bar or wherever else. Call me old-fashioned but there's a time and place for everything. However, that was just unfortunate and not a hotel's fault and we largely managed to avoid them. I'm sure most of them were very nice and they'll probably want to leave those that weren't behind next time.

Breakfast in the hotel was included and I defy anyone not to be able to produce themselves a wonderful breakfast from the wide array of food. Freshly cooked eggs were available all the time and omelettes made on demand. No congealed eggs here!

The hotel was only 50 m from the beach and town. It had plenty of free parking. We could basically forget about the car as everything we needed was within walking distance.

The hotel had a wonderful spa. Use the basic facilities was included in the price. We didn't use the spa but we did use the great indoor and outdoor pools.

The room was large with very good ensuite facilities and a balcony. It was spotlessly clean as was the rest of the hotel. Don't expect English TV in the room. I think it was only BBC World News and perhaps CNN that were available. The picture was not of a watchable quality.

There was a cafeteria and restaurant in the hotel. We never intended to use these much as I very much wanted to try the Galician seafood in all the local restaurants. However, although we never ate in the cafeteria (the menu looked very good at a reasonable price), we did eat in the restaurant three times and were not disappointed by the food or the service.

There was great Wi-Fi in the room which was very stable and fast. This was a bonus as we often still have to tolerate poor Wi-Fi in hotels

Although we are not sporty types we did notice that there seemed a good standard tennis court and paddle tennis court at the hotel. They seem to be in use pretty much all the time.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bibsandbobs4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

760 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    186
    17
    3
    5
See reviews for
249
369
13
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sidcup, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2014

We stayed at Hotel Carols Silgar 1 for 12 nights in August.
All of the staff were very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for them.
The hotel location was perfect, just a very short walk to the beach, restaurants, bars and shops.
The breakfast was fully stocked from the start of breakfast to the end of the session. The choice of food was amazing.
The spa was extremely relaxing and the staff were very professional. The outside pool was also very nicely laid out with a pool bar and food available if needed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Porto, Portugal
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Last year I was accommodated at this hotel, and it was certainly an excellent choice!
Well located hotel, the staff are very friendly, and the rooms are spacious with large comfortable beds.
The Spa is very nice.
With all the amenities we have available, this hotel has a good quality / price.
If passed by Sanxenxo, do not forget to be accommodated at this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaniaFerreira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Setubal, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Very relaxing and enjoyable stay in this hotel.
The SPA and all the hotel facilities are excellent for this season of the year.
Staff was very friendly.
The room was very comfortable.
Would recommend this place to stay.
It's probably even better in summer as the surroundings looks very exciting for the summer season

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pedro P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland.
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

I spent a night here in 2011 and was so impressed that I spent 2 nights here recently for some R&R after doing a stretch of the Camino De Santiago. I got super value for money at 50 Euro a night + 8 Euro for a good buffet breakfast. The rooms and bathroom are spotlessly clean, beds are the most comfortable ever, furnishings are great. This is a fabulous hotel in a very scenic Galician resort town. I highly recommend visiting Sanxenxo and staying in this fantastic hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed on the 4th floor and had a super view of the sea and the coast from my balcony even though...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PlanetWaves20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2013

Just returned from a weeks holiday with Titan Tours. Can't say enough about Hotel Carlos Silgar. brilliant hotel, lovely rooms, lovely swimming pool and spa, staff at reception desk were helpful and courteous, and as for the restaurant staff, I have never been on a package tour were if you didn't like what was on offer at dinner you could ask for something else, Javier and his staff bent over backwards to try and accommodate various likes and dislikes.
The hotel is in a great location and I would have no problem recommending it to other travellers.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jan918
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Funchal, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

The hotel is located close to the Silgar beach, restaurants and nightlife. Excellent service and cleanliness. Although is not a new hotel is very well preserved. Rooms are comfortable with a small balcony. Nice pool and bar.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank G5P5S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sanxenxo hotels
0.4 mi away
Augusta Spa Resort
Augusta Spa Resort
#4 of 76 in Sanxenxo
1,271 reviews
0.3 mi away
Gran Talaso Hotel Sanxenxo
1.3 mi away
Hotel Spa Nanin Playa
Hotel Spa Nanin Playa
#5 of 76 in Sanxenxo
294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Hotel Spa Galatea
Hotel Spa Galatea
#11 of 76 in Sanxenxo
298 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Peregrina
Hotel Peregrina
#1 of 15 in Portonovo
325 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Mardevela
Hotel Mardevela
#1 of 76 in Sanxenxo
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlos I Silgar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlos I Silgar

Property: Hotel Carlos I Silgar
Address: Rua Vigo s/n, 36960, Sanxenxo, Spain
Region: Spain > Galicia > Province of Pontevedra > Sanxenxo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Sanxenxo
#1 Luxury Hotel in Sanxenxo
#1 Family Hotel in Sanxenxo
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Sanxenxo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Carlos I Silgar 4*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy a few relaxing days next to the Atlantic Ocean on one of the most famous beaches of the "Rias Altas". Experience the best seafood and cuisine that Galicia has to offer. Modern facilities for relaxation. Let our body care and aesthetics professionals take care of you. Celebrate that special moment or the perfect meeting with our co-ordinators who have more than a decade of experience in organising events ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Carlos I Silgar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Carlos i

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing