We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice family hotel on the Spanish Costa Blanca”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in L'Alfas del Pi
Paris
Level Contributor
36 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A nice family hotel on the Spanish Costa Blanca”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

We stayed one week at the Albir Playa with our two children aged 7 & 11 and we all enjoyed it. We would recommend it.
The +++:
- The welcoming and the amability of the staff: they have been super nice and smiling every single day, thank you so much!
- The design of the hotel (exterior of the rooms)
- All the buffets (except for the breakfast juices)
- We heard no noise at all (from the other rooms nor from the outside)
- The cleanliness was perfect
The ---:
- The room was a bit small, especially for 4 people (even if they call it "quadruple")
- The bathroom fit was a bit dated
- The pool side was too small for all the people
FYI, the hotel is not situated on the beach but at a 10 minutes walk from it, but it was not a problem and a very easy and nice way to walk. The beach was great and the village of Altea was beautiful.
We would return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeNeLoPe64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,114 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    375
    492
    176
    51
    20
See reviews for
359
521
18
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
waterford
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Traveled as a family of 2 adults & 1 child aged 9 all inclusive for 12 nights. The hotel grounds are so small, everyone is on top of each other. Pool is very small. You are given your all inclusive band when you check in, but if you want a drink, when you go for meals etc, you have to give your room number every time you go to bar even though you are wearing your band which was annoying. There is no entertainment in this hotel (there is nothing to do). My 9 year old was bored which meant he was sitting on our heads he had nothing to do, no kids of his age to play with. The hotel was full of toddlers. We had to get out of the hotel for the last 4 days we were getting institutionalized (whats your room number, everyone sitting in same spots, food getting repetitive etc). The one good thing was the hotel was spotless clean. Albir is lovely resort. Stayed in some lovely all inclusives but this does not come up to scratch, maybe if you are looking for a base & are going to hit the beach everyday try this hotel, but if you are going to stay around the hotel every day give this a miss (sorry hate giving bad reviews but have to be honest).

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2012

Stayed here for 7 days AI and after the long transfer, which gave us a drive by tour of Benidorm, we were impresses with the hotel from the outside.
Inside large lobby, reception, lounge bar, terrace area etc.. Rooms are a reasonable size if you are a couple, a family would find it a little bit small. however the rooms are of a good standard, modern furnishings and have air con (believe me it was needed) if you are AI you have the air con, safe and mini bar (2 cans of beer, 2 cans of coke and 2 cans of fanta) included.. Our room had a lovley view towards Altea and the mountains..
Food, plentiful, varied to meet English and Spanish tastes, seafood evening was amazing.. Breakfast was the usual cooked english, cereals, fruits, continental cold meats and cheeses etc..
Drinks BRANDED spirits are included in the AI, beer coffees (try bonbon) Teas, pop, sangria, etc and as much as you like,,, we battered the nestea lemon lol..

If you are AI you get a circuit of the spa which I highly recommend, it has three spa pools of varied temperatures, sauna, steam room, scottish shower, pebble foot masager, sun terrace etc..

Now the grumble.. the pool sun bathing area is small to accomodate all the guests and yes the sun beds are packed in close together and there are limited parasols and YES the access to the pool is not until 9a.m. to stop sun bed reservations.. although people do go at 9 to reserve sunbeds, there is a policy that they will be removed and THEY ARE! The English pool attendnt folds and removes towels off 'reserved' sun beds so that people actually wanting a bed there and then can have one.. as it was noted when the Spanish pool attendnt was on duty he did not remove and many reserved sun loungers were not actually occupied until late afternoon! Maybe the MISSING towels other reviewers have complained about were removed by the pool attendnt off of 'reserved' sun beds!
Hotel was very busy as is a popular hotel with Spanish holiday makers, and the limited evening entertainment caters mainly for them..

I would really recommend this hotel for it's location, cleanliness, friendly staff, services Especially the free shuutle bus to the beach, food, drink and overall experience.

We went as a couple so can not comment on the hotel if you are travelling families, but it is popular with couples and familes.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank firekat2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

I returned this morning, having had spent 4 days at this hotel. I had arranged to stay with friends who had booked here for 10 days and the hotel were very accomodating, they agreed I could stay on the sofa bed in my friends room and only charged 35 euro per day for me to get on the fully inclusive package. The value of fully inclusive here is amazing! The food is lovely and you can also drink all branded spirits too. The hotel was clean, tidy and despite being fully booked for a couple of nights wasnt cramped. Its popular with the spanish which is always a good sign !! One word of caution.. My friends booked the airtport coach both ways but wont be using it to get back to the airport, the problem is that inbetween the hotel and the aiport is benidorm so you are the first on and last off the coach as they stop several times in Benidorm.. It took them 3 hours to get to the hotel which would have taken 40 mins in taxi.. The hotel can sort a taxi for 80 euro one way....
This is however not the hotels issue, its the tour companies and just tough luck really given where the hotel is..

My friends stay here whenever they are in spain and I would certainly recommend it, staff were very friendly and no one got ill off the food which is always a blessing !!;-)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Basingstoke5starman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
44 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

My family and I have just returned from a 2 week holiday at the Albir Playa Spa Hotel, this hotel is ideally suited to families with young children.
The hotel has a lovely exterior at night time and it is very clean.
We stayed on an all inclusive basis and I thought the food on offer was of a really high standard and tasted lovely. The shellfish night was excellent, and the lamb shank was also very tasty. Breakfast was a little bit same old same old, it would have been nice to have some pancakes which we normally get in AI but that was a very very minor gripe. Check out is at 12 and AI is immediately stopped at this point; you cannot get your lunch etc. Given that we did not arrive until the night time and missed our lunch and dinner on the day of our arrival I think this rule is penny pinching and mean, it let the hotel down and was annoying.
The drinks available on the AI are branded drinks although there can be confusion around this, its difficult to be sure what snacks are provided on AI.
Also there was a wedding at the hotel on the Saturday and one of the dining rooms was closed off, this led to severe delays in getting a table. We went to a restaurant in Albir instead, which was fine if you could afford it. The outside pool and bar area where also closed off at around 7pm due to the wedding, we heard lots of complaints about this, as people with children could not access the park or pool area.
The rooms are nice although they are on the small side but again this is only a very minor complaint. My brother and sister were both given rooms with a pool veiw, they were told they had to pay a €6 per night supplement for this - they said they didn't care about a pool view, they got the rooms but didn't pay the supplement.
This hotel is really geared towards Spanish families with young children, the childrens entertainment is mostly in Spanish and children who did not speak Spanish did not seem to be using the kids club - ours didn't use it at all. There is little adult entertainment but given that this hotel is a family hotel that didn't bother us.
My biggest problem with this hotel was the outside pool and sun bed area - its too small when the hotel is full, the sunbed area has a claustrophobic feeling about it and the pool gets very soupy. Also although a few very large parasols are provided there are not enough of these to go round; a lot more parsols are needed and ideally they should be of the smaller variety, that way those who want shade can then have it and those who don't want shade will not be shaded by very large parsols that are not near their sun beds.
I did enjoy my stay at this hotel, the staff are very friendly and work really hard, a small tip goes a long way.
I don't think I would return to this hotel again, although if I had very young children I might. The Canaria islands particularly Tenerife appears to offer alot more in terms of AI hotels.
I would highly recommeded a visit to Benidorms beaches, Poniente beach is less crowded and really lovely as is Benidorm old town, I will diffently return here.
Terra Mitica and Aqualandia are great days out and are very reasonalbe priced but bring your own food as the food there is especially bad - cheap but bad.
If you are visiting this hotel you will enjoy it but I have been to much better hotels which cost less.

Room Tip: Higher floors are much less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shopping-spraoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My partner and I are staying at this hotel later this month with our 8 year old son. I have just read a review that said it took 2,5 hours to transfer from Alicante airport. Is this the norm or were these people just unlucky? We have a transfer booked on a shuttle bus but I am now wondering about using some of the holiday budget on a taxi. Any views would be helpful.

Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank heatherE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
albirp, Guest Relations Manager at Albir Playa Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 21 August 2012
dear Sir,

The airport shuttle service is provided throw travelling agencies. They pick up many guest for hotels in benidorm and this area. The agencies take many time to share all the travellers, they spend between 2h until 3h.
The hotel is allocated 45 minutes driving by car, we offer the posibility to take a taxi for 70€ aprox.
Anyway, if you would like contact with the Agency you have booked it, maybe they could inform you how many time the take for.
If you have some more questions, you are not hesiste contact with us.

Sales Department.
Emilio Ibáñez
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
newcastle
Level Contributor
50 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2012

We enjoyed a 4 night break at this hotel recently.The staff are lovely.The breakfast buffet has a good choice.We used the spa a couple of times which was a very relaxing experience.It has it's own sun terrace also.The attractive outdoor swimming pool is surrounded by lush vegetation.However,using the pool area was not a relaxing experience!It was constantly overcrowded,with loud music playing.We did not stay long each time,even if it was possible to find unreserved sunbeds.(there is a notice advising that reserving sunbeds is not allowed,but this rule was ignored).Instead,we enjoyed time at the picturesque beach and promenade of Albir.
Our bedroom floor had not been cleaned well prior to our arrival,nor was it cleaned well during our stay.Apart from that the room was o.k.
Albir is a pretty,quiet residential town.I would come back again and would stay at the Albir Playa Hotel,but during the low season.I imagine then the public areas could be enjoyed.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank birdwatcherNewcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Alfas del Pi
0.3 mi away
Albir Garden Resort
Albir Garden Resort
#7 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Albir
Hotel Kaktus Albir
#4 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 537 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sun Palace Albir Lounge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
0.6 mi away
Magic Robin Hood
Magic Robin Hood
#10 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Cap Negret
Hotel Cap Negret
#3 of 8 in Altea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albir Playa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albir Playa Hotel & Spa

Property: Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Address: Camino Vell D,Altea 51, 03581, L'Alfas del Pi, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > L'Alfas del Pi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in L'Alfas del Pi
#1 Spa Hotel in L'Alfas del Pi
#1 Luxury Hotel in L'Alfas del Pi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Albir Playa Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Onthebeach, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Albir Playa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albir Playa Hotel l`Alfas Del Pi
Hotel Albir Playa
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa Costa Blanca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing