We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in L'Alfas del Pi
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Just returned from a week's all-inclusive stay and have to say that it is a fantastic hotel. I have nothing negative to say about the place. Our room was lovely and although others complain of the beds being too hard we had the best sleeps ever. We really enjoyed the food, something for everyone - we were spoilt for choice. Mealtimes were very flexible too, which is always a plus for us. We enjoyed our evenings in the bar area, not much entertainment, but very relaxing. The walk down to the beach area took about twenty minutes, not a boring walk as plenty of little shops and bars along the way. We went to Benidorm one day, only 1.45 euro each way ( I think everyone should see Benidorm at least once - it's an unbelievable place!!) Same price on the bus to Altea - then the walk up to the church is well worth the effort. We walked it back, along the pleasant promenade. Whilst at Altea we checked at the railway station how much it cost to go to Calpe - 2.20 euros,
very reasonable, but we never found the time to go there. Next time maybe! All in all, I would definitely recommend this hotel - it's great!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank summerhaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

508 - 514 of 1,249 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed for two nights and had a lovely time. We booked a room with 'pool view' which also provided us with a scenic view of Altea and the mountains beyond.
All the staff were friendly and helpful and all spoke good English.The outdoor pool area was tropically relaxing but the pool was freezing and the jacuzzi did not work, so that was disappointing.
The Spa circuit was great, although the pools could have been hotter and a couple of the stations didn't seem to work. I was looking forward to finding out what a 'Scottish Shower' was, but will have to wait till next time.
My body wrap and hot stone massage was fantastic and I am ready to go back from more.
The breakfast buffet was splendid and the live music in the bar area at night was fun entertainment. The room was spacious and clean and had piped in mood music at a click of a button.
There a plenty of restaurants on the area and the beach is a short walk away, It's definitely worth staying here and is great value for money.

Room Tip: pay the extra 6 euros for the 'pool view" and if possible try and get a room that's not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pieceofkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

My husband and I have just returned from a seven night stay at this hotel. It's the second time we have stayed at the Albir Playa. We found the majority of staff to be friendly, efficient and helpful. We were very happy with our fourth floor room, which was immaculately clean and very comfortable, with a sunny balcony. We thoroughly enjoyed the food and the choices available. As seafood lovers, we always found a good variety available. Perhaps the hot food choices could be kept at a hotter temperature, but maybe there is a reason for this - things would dry up if kept too hot. There were always delicious salads and fruit and a good selection of food for breakfast. Albir is a beautiful resort and we had perfect weather. We have visited Albir many times over the last ten years and the local council keep making improvements. We enjoy walking and most days walked to Altea or to the lighthouse, which affords some stunning views of the area. There are countless bars, cafes and restaurants, as well as a good array of shops and boutiques to suit every taste. Benidorm is not our 'cup of tea' so we don't bother to visit any more, but for first-time visitors to the area, Benidorm has to be seen to be believed!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel have the best views, but don't get much sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Just back from Albir after spending 4 nights there. On arrival, after 9pm staff helpful to get us checked in quickly so we could go get some food. Hotel is beautiful, i was impressed. We got a room over looking the pool and the mountains, the mountains are a lovely site to wake up to in the morning.
I had requested a quiet room and thats what we got, but to be honest i dont think any of rooms or guests were rowdy. It was very peaceful. The maids were very accomodating when you just wanted a bit of a lie in after travelling.
Others mentioned the beds, yes there were a bit hard, but not problematic.Our double room was two beds pushed together, would have prefered one double bed. Good size rooms with seperate sitting area.
One thing i did not like was the food, we were half board, I am not a fussy eater and am pretty well travelled but i was not impressed with this. As others have said, food was not hot, not even warm sometimes, and yeah there was a microwave, but i did not feel i should have to microwave my dinner in a 4 star hotel. The dinning room was far to bright, it could have been a lot nicer had they got the lighting right.
Pool area is really nice, no problems with getting a lounger - maybe because weather was not brilliant.
All in all i really loved our break to Albir, i would go back tomorrow, but wouldnt go half board. Albir itself is a nice place, with nice places to eat and drink, Altea just down the road is well worth a visit, enjoyed the old town very much.
Albir is a perfect location, you can get bus to Altea (or walk) or Benidorm if you fancy something a bit more upbeat. I myself do like to party, but was very glad we choose to stay in Albir ad not Benidorm.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chelm9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012

We have just returned from a nine night stay at the Albir Playa Hotel and had a most enjoyable holiday. I did have some reservations prior to booking this resort and hotel as of its proximity to Benidorm and having never been to the Costa Blanca before but i needn't have worried as everything was just great. The hotel was spotless and maintained very well and having booked half board we were not disappointed in the food, there was a variety of different dishes and being a fish lover, the choice was fantastic! I did hear a few people commenting that the food was a little lukewarm but we found it just right and there is a microwave for anyone who wishes to heat their food.Albir is a nice resort with alot of choice of nice restaurants and not so tacky bars, i think it is more suited to couples and maturer people, not for the stag or hen do's, they should just stick to Benidorm. We went to the beach a few times and it was lovely although very pebbly, but having bought some beach shoes , we had no trouble in going for a dip in the fairly warm med. Will definately consider booking here again as it has everything we require for a lovely relaxing holiday

Room Tip: we had an upper floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank spider226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This is a beautiful Hotel, very clean, trendy and modern. The rooms are delightful, clean and bright. Beds are very comfortable and large. Bathroom had phone, bidet and a hairdryer which actually did it's stuff. The room was cleaned daily and smelled wonderful on our return.
The staff are very professional and helpful. The dining room was lovely,again very clean and on trend. The food was what we were expecting, great salads, good choice of main meals, although not always piping hot. A well kept dining room with fresh, crisp table linen and crockery. Drinks can be charged to the room and the saff are hit and miss with giving the tickets to you.
The pool area is a little on the small side but this was never a problem for us as the end of Sept is quieter. No scrambling for beds or space and reservation is a definate no...no...
The bus can't drop off directly outside the Hotel but a very short walk over a quiet road is no problem.
Don't use the internet in the Hotel, it was expensive and very slow. There are loads of internet cafes nearby at 50c per 15 mins. The walk to the beach area is lovely, around 8-10 mins, takning in shops and restaurants on tha way. the beach is pebbles, but beautiful, with a very long seafront walk into Altea which is very well worth it. Lovely seafood cafes along the way, sangria and cakes. Many locals use the cafes in the area. Lidle is next to the Hotel, great for stocking up the room fridge with water, wine etc, though no Tea/coffee facilites but again, not a problem for us.
Market day on sunday on the usual walk to the beach area which is great. Overall this has been a lovely, relaxing holiday in a quiet hotel which catered for our every need and I would love to return one day. There were very few children there but the facilties looked great for them too.
The Indian restaurant next door is fantastic and very resonably priced.
Our holiday was £340 each!!! and I found absolutely no fault in it what so ever..apart from the rain!!

Room Tip: Try not have a .1 or b room...an ajoining room...the door between them was flimsy and we could hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissy186364
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We have just returned from a week's stay at Hotel Albir Playa. After a long and tiresome transfer, it felt as if we had called at every hotel in Benidorm, we had a friendly welcome from the Receptionist on duty and were dealt with efficiently and speedily.

Our room was spacious and spotlessly clean as was the bathroom. There was a good sized balcony, unfortunately we were allocated a room at the front of the hotel on the 2nd floor, so there was a lot of passing traffic noise but no matter, once the door was closed, it was fairly quiet.

Our first evening in the dining room was not every impressive, the salad bar was o.k. but the hot food was lukewarm and staff were very slow in replenishing the food that had run out. All the dining room staff looked and acted very stressed, under staffed perhaps, a Restaurant Manager is needed, after all this is a 4* hotel. On one evening we witnessed a blazing row between two of the female staff, a male staff member had to come over and calm them down, not very professional. Incidentally breakfast was very good with lots of choice. Because of the poor quality of the food on our first evening, we ate out the following evening (can recommend Dominoes at the far end of the main road). We did eat in 4 evenings out of 7, after all we did pay for Half Board but it was very hit and miss. I also thought the dining room furniture needed updating, it was a bit like sitting in a work's canteen.

I can't comment on the pool area, we preferred to go to the beach, incidentally it is not a ten minute walk to the front, more like 25 at a leisurely stroll. I saw comments from previous reviewers about entertainment, we certainly didn't see any just a young lad playing droll music.

The resort of Albir is charming, a world away from Benidorm with lots of great cafes, shops and restaurants. It has a beautiful promenade and pebbly beach. Altea is well worth a visit, easy to get to on the service bus, the walk along the front takes about 45 minutes. Be sure to visit the church in the old town, bit of a climb but well worth it.

To sum up the hotel, this is a very modern and clean hotel but lacks warmth, it reminded me of the kind of hotel you would expect to stay in on a city break.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor not on the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Childwall020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Alfas del Pi
0.4 mi away
Albir Garden Resort
Albir Garden Resort
#7 of 15 in L'Alfas del Pi
1,427 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sun Palace Albir Lounge & Spa
0.5 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Albir
Hotel Kaktus Albir
#4 of 15 in L'Alfas del Pi
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
0.4 mi away
Hotel Noguera
Hotel Noguera
#3 of 15 in L'Alfas del Pi
147 reviews
3.1 mi away
Hotel Cap Negret
Hotel Cap Negret
#3 of 7 in Altea
667 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albir Playa Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albir Playa Hotel & Spa

Address: Camino Vell D,Altea 51, 03581, L'Alfas del Pi, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > L'Alfas del Pi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in L'Alfas del Pi
#2 Luxury Hotel in L'Alfas del Pi
#2 Spa Hotel in L'Alfas del Pi
Price Range: £57 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Albir Playa Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 201
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Albir Playa Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albir Playa Hotel l`Alfas Del Pi
Hotel Albir Playa
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa Costa Blanca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing