We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dancing nightmare”
Review of Hotel Kaktus Albir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Kaktus Albir
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in L'Alfas del Pi
swansea
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Dancing nightmare”
Reviewed 11 September 2013

Went with Saga to this hotel for 7 nights.Saga were good and took good care of it`s clients.There was an included cocktail party and gala dinner,which was acceptable and a good way to meet fellow guests.There was 2 included trips and both were well planned and enjoyable.
ROOMS-very dark and drab,everthing green.Big bathroom and cleanest bath I have ever seen.There was extra charge for everthing.Safety deposit box,and a small fridge,which was a godsend for a cool drink on balcony.Don`t expect privacy on balconies,because of hotel layout,the guests opposite were so close you could have a conversation with them.Remember to close curtains when undressing/dressing!!.Tv could have gone on antiques roadshow.
FOOD-very very salty.Meats cheap cuts.Had crab and crab claws one night but nothing to open shell with.breakfast the worse I`ve had in a hotel for a long while.Waiter service good and drink topup good.
ENTERTAINMENT-non existant.They showed a film on a sunday night,and apparently who got to reception desk first could pick film shown.They did have flamenco dancing one night at 11.30pm.Itwas Spanish dancing that was main event.Non residents came to hotel to dance,and was is cut throat.Men in black patent leather shoes putting chalk on soles for better glide.They were so competitive it was scary.
DRINKS-being with saga we were all inclusive.We had to stand at a certain area of bar for service,and there was NO waiter service for saga guests.Other reviews stated barstaff were rude ,we certainly didn`t experience that.
Overall hotel was clean and wellpositioned.
Would we return no.Poor food options,limited day and night entertainment.Very dirty looking roof top pool area,and air condition in bedroom next to useless,I`ll spend my money elsewhere.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elizabeth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

537 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    135
    217
    123
    42
    20
See reviews for
122
262
18
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Skelmersdale, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2013

We stayed at The Kaktus whilst visiting friends in Albir. It's close to the (Pebble) beach

The room was from 1992 and the TV from before that but we did not really want to watch TV which was just as well as only Sky news was in English and the picture for that was unwatchable.

I cannot comment on the food as we never ate in he hotel at all even though we booked it as B&B. Room only would have been better as the are plenty of places for cheap excellent food all around the main street. Also there are plenty of places for expensive food. The entertainment is limited and the "Bubble man" on Saturday night was fun but I doubt I could watch his act twice.

Free wi-fi in the reception that is crap... Room WiFi you have to pay for

What else can I say, oh yes, it's really close to the beach

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Javea, Spain
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Old fashioned rooms with a tv from the 80s....a minibar that costs 10 euros to open.....poor beds and pillows....parking extra.....wifi extra in rooms
Appalling breakfast......staff ok but not over friendly and we are Brits but speak good spanish. Wont be back

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank montgorhino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

We had a 10 night stay from 8th July. Some reviewers have put this hotel down but you cannot be disappointed. We had a spacious, comfortable room on the 5th floor overlooking the sea and Altea. This was a very quiet location and we had the advantages of a cool breeze from the sea.
I could not fault the food; however, if you are looking for a full English, this is not the place. After all, it is Spain.

Not great for entertainment but we had a relaxing 10 days.

If I had the chance I would return.

Room Tip: 5th floor room 508 or higher. This side overlooks Altea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JEBNewcastleuponTyne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

Went by Jet2 - East Midlands. Arrived early, through airport quickly on plane quickly , plane left early , arrived early, through Alicante quick sticks on shuttle bus quickly arrived hotel early - room not ready. Can't do right for doing wrong. Soon Sorted with coffee and lunch.

Room enormous, bigest hotel room Iv'e ever been in, same with bathroom and balcony.
This hotel is on a grand scale. biggest ballroom and bar area I've ever seen.

Meals were excellent except for Saturday nights which are tapas nights. Not our cup of tea, there is always cheese and ice cream and jelly and fruit and cake, loads of it.

Resort is quiet and suits walkers and keep fit people, Can walk to Altea see church on hill and back for lunch easily. Same with walk to lighthouse. Pebble beach but easy to walk on.

We found we were the only english couple in the hotel at this time and nationalities were well mixed.

We liked it here and were well impressed. Like most seaside buildings it could do with a coat of paint and some revarnished entertainment. It plays host to spanish pensioners for lunch and this in itself is entertaining. The beers good and is better than, the same price, as the local bars.

Room Tip: Out side rooms if you can on the south side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gerald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2013

We have just returned from one week bed & breakfast from this hotel.We had a room for 3 it was on the side of the building ,not a great view, the room was clean & spacious but very dated in need of a revamp & not enough storage for three. The breakfast was very good staff helpful & friendly.If you want Hotel entertainment this is not the hotel for you!!! Great location Right on the beach. Albir is a nice quite place,with lots of bars & nice Restaurants. Altea is worth a visit so easy to get a bus for a few euros .

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013 via mobile

My grandparents went to the Kaktus hotel Albir for 2 weeks and had a lovely stay as always. Food was good, service for good really helpful staff. So I would say highly recommended. A beach right in front of the hotel so you can chill out and relax. Rooms are great!. Best time of the year for weather (really lovely warm weather not like sweaty weather that is in July August) always great to go to a fab hotel ( we go there twice a year to that hotel)

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank The-Red-Eagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Alfas del Pi
0.5 mi away
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sun Palace Albir Lounge & Spa
0.8 mi away
Albir Garden Resort
Albir Garden Resort
#7 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Cap Negret
Hotel Cap Negret
#3 of 8 in Altea
4.0 of 5 bubbles 421 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
1.1 mi away
Magic Robin Hood
Magic Robin Hood
#10 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
3.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kaktus Albir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaktus Albir

Property: Hotel Kaktus Albir
Address: Passeig de Les Estreles 11 | Playa del Albir, 03581, L'Alfas del Pi, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > L'Alfas del Pi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in L'Alfas del Pi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kaktus Albir 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kaktus Albir Kaktus Albir Hotel has been inaugurated in summer of 2003 and is situated just in front of the Albir Pebble Beach, in Alfaz del Pi, at only 8 kms of Benidorm, touristic capital of Costa Blanca, and 60 kms of the Airport of Alicante. It's only 10 meters from the beach, and in the old town you'll find a lot of shops, restaurants and bars. It's 10 kms from Benidorm bus station, which connects with Alicante, the airport and the rest of the coastal area, it's the perfect place for relaxing and exploring the area. We've an exterior pool for adults and children. In our roof terrace we have a second pool, that not only has wonderful views, in the winter season it is heated and covered. In the roof terrace you can also find sunbeds. The hotel has also bar service, four lifts, air conditioning, heating, and private parking. In our hotel you'll find a nice and helpful staff.Restaurant with Buffet all services: Breakfast , Lunch and Dinner . We have a Sailor's Buffet : Seafood and Fish, British Buffet and also a Special Spanish Tapas Buffet every Saturday evening. In our night Club we have Live Music 5 nights a week and several International shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Hotel Kaktus Albir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kaktus Albir Costa Blanca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing