We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay P,M & D”
Review of Hotel Kaktus Albir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Kaktus Albir
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in L'Alfas del Pi
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed for a week as SAGA guests . We would like to thank the staff for their warm greeting on arrival and throughout our stay. Special thanks to the restaurant staff for the care and attention during our stay .

Room Tip: Room farther away from the entertainment if you need a early night
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 635Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (617)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

207 - 213 of 617 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed here at Christmas; booked flights/hotel/transfer through Travel Republic (top marks to them - all very efficient). We were a party of 2 seniors in one room and 1 adult in another. Had inner facing rooms on the 4th floor with a side sea view. At that time of year it seemed to be only the 5th floor rooms on the other side to us that got a bit of sun.
Rooms were big - 2 full sized single beds, big corner sofa, table, desk, chair, and balcony. TV reception wasn't great. Kettle in the room but no supplies - we has taken our own. Big bathroom as well with bath and over bath shower.
Reception staff spoke good English and were helpful when I had key card issues (wouldn't open my door) - even suggesting that I shouldn't keep the card next to my mobile phone as that was possibly the problem (and it probably was as keeping them separate did the trick!)
Restaurant and bar staff were friendly.
We had a half board package that included the Xmas Eve celebration 6 course dinner (a bit too much rich food for me to be honest). Normal dinners were buffet, with "themed" ones most nights - British, Scandinavian, seafood and Tapas themes when we were there. Lots of choice and good quality. Lots of thought had clearly gone into the theme- even if it did seem odd to see the British dishes! Rudolph tasted very nice on the Scandinavian evening! Dinner started at 7.30 (8.00 in summer) which personally I found a little late. Breakfasts were equally plentiful with hot cooked food, lovely baguettes, pastries, churros etc.
The majority of guests were with Saga, with a few Norwegians, independent British travellers and Spanish.
The hotel had a very large lounge area with big dance flood and lots of choice of seats. The "roof top" pool was a bit on the small side, and you had to go outside to get to both it and the changing area for it.
The hotel is bang on the sea front in Albir; about 5 mins walk to the nearest bars and about 15 mins walk to the supermarket back in the town. The nearest bus stops are about 2 mins walk behind the hotel - bus fares are €1.50 single to either Altea or Benidorm.
Things to do in the area:
1) walk to the lighthouse - the first bit up through Albir is the steepest, then when in the park it is a lovely walk. Popular with locals and tourists. Don't expect the lighthouse exhibition to be open though!
2) visit Altea - lovely old town up the hill and more modern down by the sea. 40 mins or so walk from hotel.
3) get the train to Denia and Calp. We used the Altea station (lazily got the bus there from the hotel rather then use Albir station which is about 30 mins walk uphill from the Kaktus). Fares are ridiculously cheap - €7 return to Denia (about 1 hour) and €4 to Calp (about 25 mins). Denia station is right in the town, which is largely flat. Very nice mix of old and new. Calp station is up the top of the hill from the old town - ok walking down but a bit steep (but do-able) going back! Old town a maze of winding streets, then the new town, then the beach area. Nice walk all the way to the Penon de Ifach.
5) bus to Benidorm - not sure it would be my type of place in summer, but very pleasant to stroll around in winter. Bus stops just back from the sea front so very easy to do. Took about 30 mins by bus.
In summary, an excellent holiday away from the rains of Britain!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Teee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

did the christmas and new year thing at the kaktus albir will not be doing it again plane touched down at 11 ocllock organised chaos arrived hotel 3 0clock the hotel told us they had changed our room said it was a better room without any sun at this point we had missed 1meal as we were full board we went down for dinner and wished we had missed this one as well
the room we had was big beds and pillow most uncomfortable you had a kettle in the room no facilities for the use of found out you had to take tea and coffee sugar and milk from restaurant if you wanted to use it
the food was disappointing and never hot the christmas meal was so disgusting the on new years eve we never went down for the meal
some of the waiters could do with learning english and some of the spanish locals could do with learning some manners
as for the poor saga customers the rep could do with one almighty kick she as a niche and is not going to have anyone spoil it for her the times the people complained and all she could say was theres nothing i can do or i,m busy they pay for there drinks and get a different quality to everyone else they are made to feel second class
the last meal we had there was burnt but was not hot
we missed several meals and do not regret it we will not be going back to this hotel

Room Tip: be careful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank keith811940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaktusgrup H, Responsable TripAdvisor at Hotel Kaktus Albir, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

We were very upset to read your review as we do try very hard to make all customer´s holidays a very good experience. If a flight is delayed, arriving after the restaurant has closed, we always offer a cold lunch so that you do not miss a meal. Kettles are provided in rooms as an extra and Saga clients are allowed to make use of the tea facilities but other clients who are not all inclusive pay for their own.
We were very surprised to read what you said about the food as we usually score very high both with Saga clients and also other clients.
We have also spoken to the Saga representative who was concerned about your comments. As we have witnessed many times, she is never too busy to speak to clients whether she is on or off duty. She is a very popular representative both with the clients and hotel staff.

Again, we are sorry that your experience was not as enjoyable as we would have liked it to be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We were recommended this Hotel from others that had been to Albir. It is a very good hotel, with an amazing view toward the beach from all room, do to the layout of the hotel. Every evening it was dancing in the bar. NB! Here at this hotel it was people dancing waltz, rumba, salsa etc. No disco here, and no young people either.
Good service in the bar and at the Hotel. We will recommend this hotel to friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TorTybringAralt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We travel to Spain twice a year and always stay at the Kaktus. The hotel is best place for the best view in the Whole of Albir. The clientele are predominantly older and the hotel caters perfectly for anyone with mobility issues. We are middle age and have no health issues, and the hotel suits our needs perfectly too - great restaurants nearby, beach just outside the hotel, the promenade all lovely marble and flat with the '' hollywood' style names of stars who have visited. Albir not nearly as big, crass nor busy as enedorm can be, but only a bus ride away - love it love it love it!

Room Tip: ask for front sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
10  Thank Mel1gib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My friend and I travelled with Saga to Hotel Kaktus in October. We were quite happy with the hotel accomodation although I found the bed too hard and the pillows were ancient. As a Saga visitor one is treated very differently to the 'paying' customers at the bar area. The waiter refused to serve us at our tables informing us Saga people 'only had cheap drinks' and we would have to go to the bar to get a drink or pay! The wine given to us at the bar was undrinkable, we asked for beer from then on when getting a drink at the bar. The waiters at the bar were very rude, we were obviously second class visitors as far as they were concerned. When I asked a member of staff why the attitude of the bar staff was so unacceptable and refusing to serve us at the table I was told it was the owners' rule and Saga guests could only get drinks at the bar. We have travelled with Saga to many hotels throughout Europe but have never been treated with such hostility by bar staff before. On a happy note the dining room staff were excellent, the wine in the dining room was drinkable! I found the buffet food very good with a wide choice of dishes.

Room Tip: We had very good rooms on the fifth floor with a side view of the sea, bit close to balconies opposi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank 197Saga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Before leaving home we read the reviews of this hotel and we ended up worrying that we had made a bad decision. Thankfully our concerns were eliminated by our experience during our stay.

We travelled with Saga and as usual we received excellent service from them.

CONS. The beach is made up of pebbles and not ideal for just laying on. To hire two beds and an umberella will cost you 13 euros a day. You can, as we did, get a bed in the hotel gardens (free) although there is not much space and not an abundance of beds.

PROS.

SERVICE. The reception staff all speak fluent english and are very helpful. Restaurant staff work extremely hard and werennonetheless very pleasant. The bar staff at the Saga bar (Free bar) were OK but sometimes sullen, however the service was good.

ROOM. Spacious room with twin beds, corner sofa, old TV (provided all we needed), writing table, balcony with sea view and an excellent bathroom that my wife wanted to take home. The rooms are serviced daily.

FOOD. This was one of our concerns after reading reviews. The selection for all meals was considerable. We had no problems. What you have to accept is that ingredients are cooked the Spanish and is therefore different to what you are used to. Overall we were well pleased with the options on offer.

LOCATION. Right on the beach and good place to walk along the promenade. You can get a bus round the corner to Benidorm for one euro fifty. You can walk to Altea (about 25 minutes) where there is a lovely church at the top of the town where you will find bars and restaurants and beautiful views. There is a train station in Altea town where for four euros twenty five (return) you can enjoy an hour and a quarter trip through the mountains to the resort of Denia that we would highly recommend.

ENTERTAINMENT. A duo perfomed songs on most nights and were professional. On two nights there were other acts. The dancing pair we saw were up to the standard you see from the professionals on 'Strictly Come Dancing'.

If you book a holiday here you shouldn't be disappointed.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 322 that enjoyed a good sea view and had the sun from early morning to late aftern...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank colinhomes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Alfas del Pi
0.5 mi away
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
#2 of 15 in L'Alfas del Pi
1,245 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sun Palace Albir Lounge & Spa
0.9 mi away
Albir Garden Resort
Albir Garden Resort
#7 of 15 in L'Alfas del Pi
1,422 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
0.5 mi away
Hotel Noguera
Hotel Noguera
#3 of 15 in L'Alfas del Pi
145 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hotel Cap Negret
Hotel Cap Negret
#3 of 8 in Altea
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kaktus Albir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaktus Albir

Address: Paseo de las Estrellas 11 | Playa del Albir, 03581, L'Alfas del Pi, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > L'Alfas del Pi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in L'Alfas del Pi
Price Range: £67 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kaktus Albir 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kaktus Albir Kaktus Albir Hotel has been inaugurated in summer of 2003 and is situated just in front of the Albir Pebble Beach, in Alfaz del Pi, at only 8 kms of Benidorm, touristic capital of Costa Blanca, and 60 kms of the Airport of Alicante. It's only 10 meters from the beach, and in the old town you'll find a lot of shops, restaurants and bars. It's 10 kms from Benidorm bus station, which connects with Alicante, the airport and the rest of the coastal area, it's the perfect place for relaxing and exploring the area. We've an exterior pool for adults and children. In our roof terrace we have a second pool, that not only has wonderful views, in the winter season it is heated and covered. In the roof terrace you can also find sunbeds. The hotel has also bar service, four lifts, air conditioning, heating, and private parking. In our hotel you'll find a nice and helpful staff.Restaurant with Buffet all services: Breakfast , Lunch and Dinner . We have a Sailor's Buffet : Seafood and Fish, British Buffet and also a Special Spanish Tapas Buffet every Saturday evening. In our night Club we have Live Music 5 nights a week and several International shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kaktus Albir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kaktus Albir Costa Blanca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing