We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
Review of Hotel Kaktus Albir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Kaktus Albir
Ranked #4 of 14 Hotels in L'Alfas del Pi
Reviewed 1 May 2014

went to this hotel for 10 days in January could not fault it so good we are going back for a week from may 27th did not think we could find a better hotel than the deloix in Benidorm but this beats it completely cant wait

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lainey123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (591)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Kaktus Albir
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 203 of 591 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2014

Excellent hotel. Asked for sea view and Got frist row to Albir playa. Seemed like everything could be arranged in the reception without problems. Nice breakfast as well. Room was clean and tidy. Could do with some complementary Tea and coffee. Didn't try the pool or supper but it looked good. Very recommendable. Do try the charming new coffee joint around the corner as well, Very Nice people even though they're dutch;-)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Claus M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed for a week at the beginning of April and found the Kaktus to be a relaxed and spacious hotel with a very high standard of cleanliness and hygiene. The room (which was shared by three adults) was large and comfortable with corner sofa and table. The bathroom housed a bath and separate shower cubicle, and was kept spotlessly clean by the friendly staff. As mentioned in previous reviews, the inner balconies do overlook each other, which could probably be a little uncomfortable in the high season when the hotel is fully occupied. The restaurant is also very spacious and the buffet meals are extremely varied and plentiful - there is always something that everyone can enjoy. There was even hand hygiene gel at the restaurant entrance, although I didn't see too many people using it!
This really is a hotel more suited to the older clientele rather than families, as the pool and outside area are quite limited, although there is a rooftop pool but this is also quite small. Our only real complaint was that there were no parasols with the sunbeds, and only a few on the bar terrace - even in early April we felt that these were needed.
Although close to Benidorm, Albir is a quiet, rather sedate resort, with a lovely clean pebble beach.
All-in-all an enjoyable location for three 60-somethings in low season, but not so sure about what it would be like in high summer.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Anijen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Stayed here for a one week break over Easter. in summary this hotel is like a ship at sea without a Captain or a navigation officer, it does not know where it is, where it is going or who will command it. There is a lack of visible management, lack of imagination and clear lack of customer service training.

On a positive note this hotel is in an ideal location with easy access to the town, bus service and walks along the coastal path which now allows access through to Altea. It is a very pleasant walk with cafes en route and places to sit and watch the world go by.

Accommodation: The rooms and bathrooms are spacious. The beds are hard, lumpy and long overdue for a change, as is the bed linen which is now paper thin and the bed covers which are past their best. The balconies run alongside the hotel so all have a side sea view, there is sufficient space for two chairs and a small table. You need to be careful which side you choose as some balconies do not appear to get any sun. A liner was not provided for the bin in the room although there was one in the bathroom. There is an endless supply of hot water but the gunk which they pass as shower gel and goodness knows what was in the other yukky container really do need an update, so relieved we took our own.

Restaurant: They appeared to be short staffed but our tables were cleared promptly. It is buffet service and there is something for everyone and some themed evenings. Struggled a little at the tapas evening with sheep's heads, veal cheeks etc!! After one week I was however ready for a change of food and not sure I could cope staying much longer.

Bar Service: Miserable, grumpy and none too pleasant is all I could say about the bar staff. The worst I have come across anywhere. If you are on an all inclusive package be prepared for cheap quality brands and watered down Baileys, absolutely awful.

Entertainment: If you enjoy a snake show or parrots you are in luck. Not sure what era these people are living in. The band was pretty good but on the whole it is dire. This really needs attention and someone to arrange the entertainment other than the bar man!!

Reception: Jose on reception has to be the most rude and objectionable young man I have come across. These people really do need training.

There is an outdoor swimming pool with a small area for sun loungers. There is also a covered swimming pool on the roof, however if you have walking difficulities the lift stops and the floor below so you need to walk the remaining flight. Not sure the pool would pass health and safetly regulations as it is so hot in the room you would struggle not to pass out. It is not particularly pleasant on the roof terrace but if you are a sun worshipper and want a nap on a sun lounger then it would be okay.

The hotel needs a complete refurbishment but in the meantime it also need a good clean. The corridors to the rooms were filthy and had not seen a vacuum cleaner in some time. Only one of the cleaners actually replied when we said good morning, again they appeared overworked and fed up.

The hotel is owned by two octogenarian senoras and it would appear there is no chance of any change until it is run by hospitality professionals. If it was in any other location I would be surprised if they had any guests, certainly any who returned for a second visit.

Room Tip: There are some rooms which do not get any sun at all which does suit some people but you would need...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank SamMurrayMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed for a week as SAGA guests . We would like to thank the staff for their warm greeting on arrival and throughout our stay. Special thanks to the restaurant staff for the care and attention during our stay .

Room Tip: Room farther away from the entertainment if you need a early night
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 635Peter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Stayed here at Christmas; booked flights/hotel/transfer through Travel Republic (top marks to them - all very efficient). We were a party of 2 seniors in one room and 1 adult in another. Had inner facing rooms on the 4th floor with a side sea view. At that time of year it seemed to be only the 5th floor rooms on the other side to us that got a bit of sun.
Rooms were big - 2 full sized single beds, big corner sofa, table, desk, chair, and balcony. TV reception wasn't great. Kettle in the room but no supplies - we has taken our own. Big bathroom as well with bath and over bath shower.
Reception staff spoke good English and were helpful when I had key card issues (wouldn't open my door) - even suggesting that I shouldn't keep the card next to my mobile phone as that was possibly the problem (and it probably was as keeping them separate did the trick!)
Restaurant and bar staff were friendly.
We had a half board package that included the Xmas Eve celebration 6 course dinner (a bit too much rich food for me to be honest). Normal dinners were buffet, with "themed" ones most nights - British, Scandinavian, seafood and Tapas themes when we were there. Lots of choice and good quality. Lots of thought had clearly gone into the theme- even if it did seem odd to see the British dishes! Rudolph tasted very nice on the Scandinavian evening! Dinner started at 7.30 (8.00 in summer) which personally I found a little late. Breakfasts were equally plentiful with hot cooked food, lovely baguettes, pastries, churros etc.
The majority of guests were with Saga, with a few Norwegians, independent British travellers and Spanish.
The hotel had a very large lounge area with big dance flood and lots of choice of seats. The "roof top" pool was a bit on the small side, and you had to go outside to get to both it and the changing area for it.
The hotel is bang on the sea front in Albir; about 5 mins walk to the nearest bars and about 15 mins walk to the supermarket back in the town. The nearest bus stops are about 2 mins walk behind the hotel - bus fares are €1.50 single to either Altea or Benidorm.
Things to do in the area:
1) walk to the lighthouse - the first bit up through Albir is the steepest, then when in the park it is a lovely walk. Popular with locals and tourists. Don't expect the lighthouse exhibition to be open though!
2) visit Altea - lovely old town up the hill and more modern down by the sea. 40 mins or so walk from hotel.
3) get the train to Denia and Calp. We used the Altea station (lazily got the bus there from the hotel rather then use Albir station which is about 30 mins walk uphill from the Kaktus). Fares are ridiculously cheap - €7 return to Denia (about 1 hour) and €4 to Calp (about 25 mins). Denia station is right in the town, which is largely flat. Very nice mix of old and new. Calp station is up the top of the hill from the old town - ok walking down but a bit steep (but do-able) going back! Old town a maze of winding streets, then the new town, then the beach area. Nice walk all the way to the Penon de Ifach.
5) bus to Benidorm - not sure it would be my type of place in summer, but very pleasant to stroll around in winter. Bus stops just back from the sea front so very easy to do. Took about 30 mins by bus.
In summary, an excellent holiday away from the rains of Britain!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Teee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

did the christmas and new year thing at the kaktus albir will not be doing it again plane touched down at 11 ocllock organised chaos arrived hotel 3 0clock the hotel told us they had changed our room said it was a better room without any sun at this point we had missed 1meal as we were full board we went down for dinner and wished we had missed this one as well
the room we had was big beds and pillow most uncomfortable you had a kettle in the room no facilities for the use of found out you had to take tea and coffee sugar and milk from restaurant if you wanted to use it
the food was disappointing and never hot the christmas meal was so disgusting the on new years eve we never went down for the meal
some of the waiters could do with learning english and some of the spanish locals could do with learning some manners
as for the poor saga customers the rep could do with one almighty kick she as a niche and is not going to have anyone spoil it for her the times the people complained and all she could say was theres nothing i can do or i,m busy they pay for there drinks and get a different quality to everyone else they are made to feel second class
the last meal we had there was burnt but was not hot
we missed several meals and do not regret it we will not be going back to this hotel

Room Tip: be careful
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank keith811940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaktusgrup H, Responsable TripAdvisor at Hotel Kaktus Albir, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2014

We were very upset to read your review as we do try very hard to make all customer´s holidays a very good experience. If a flight is delayed, arriving after the restaurant has closed, we always offer a cold lunch so that you do not miss a meal. Kettles are provided in rooms as an extra and Saga clients are allowed to make use of the tea facilities but other clients who are not all inclusive pay for their own.
We were very surprised to read what you said about the food as we usually score very high both with Saga clients and also other clients.
We have also spoken to the Saga representative who was concerned about your comments. As we have witnessed many times, she is never too busy to speak to clients whether she is on or off duty. She is a very popular representative both with the clients and hotel staff.

Again, we are sorry that your experience was not as enjoyable as we would have liked it to be.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Alfas del Pi
0.5 mi away
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
1,208 reviews
0.8 mi away
Albir Garden Resort
Albir Garden Resort
#7 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
1,380 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sun Palace Albir Lounge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Magic Robin Hood
Magic Robin Hood
#2 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
344 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
2.7 mi away
Hotel Cap Negret
Hotel Cap Negret
#3 of 8 in Altea
606 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kaktus Albir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaktus Albir

Address: Passeig de Les Estreles 11 | Playa del Albir, 03581, L'Alfas del Pi, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > L'Alfas del Pi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in L'Alfas del Pi
Price Range: £70 - £202 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kaktus Albir 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kaktus Albir Kaktus Albir Hotel has been inaugurated in summer of 2003 and is situated just in front of the Albir Pebble Beach, in Alfaz del Pi, at only 8 kms of Benidorm, touristic capital of Costa Blanca, and 60 kms of the Airport of Alicante. It's only 10 meters from the beach, and in the old town you'll find a lot of shops, restaurants and bars. It's 10 kms from Benidorm bus station, which connects with Alicante, the airport and the rest of the coastal area, it's the perfect place for relaxing and exploring the area. We've an exterior pool for adults and children. In our roof terrace we have a second pool, that not only has wonderful views, in the winter season it is heated and covered. In the roof terrace you can also find sunbeds. The hotel has also bar service, four lifts, air conditioning, heating, and private parking. In our hotel you'll find a nice and helpful staff.Restaurant with Buffet all services: Breakfast , Lunch and Dinner . We have a Sailor's Buffet : Seafood and Fish, British Buffet and also a Special Spanish Tapas Buffet every Saturday evening. In our night Club we have Live Music 5 nights a week and several International shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Kaktus Albir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kaktus Albir Costa Blanca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing