We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but tired and old”
Review of Hotel Kaktus Albir

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kaktus Albir
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in L'Alfas del Pi
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Don't expect too much from this hotel. Location is excellent, good view of the beach and literally a stone's throw away. You feel like you have stepped into the early 80's in this hotel, the furniture, beds, etc. are exactly that...tired and old. Service is so-so. Did not try the food at this hotel as there were so many good options outside.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmurfetteSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

191 - 197 of 615 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

I would like to start saying that if you are above 55 years old probably you will have great time in the hotel as they are having a big saloon with music and people dancing if you below that age then do not spend time there as it is really annoying. . The reason why I booked the hotel is because I knew it will be lot of elderly people and my father is old enough to fit there; I was trying to celebrate his birthday some girl at the reception said she would set up a bottle of cava ( Spanish champán) they never did, then when my father arrived with bags no one went to the main door to help him and you could see an elderly man not being able to carry bags and the only solution for them was to park the car in their parking even tho they didn't need it...rooms furniture is very old considering hotel is only 10 years old, cold atmosphere, swimming pool ridiculous for more than 220 rooms, location is the best they have with a lot of good quality restaurants around, breakfast good but since they only give you 2 hours from 8 to 10 everybody goes down in short frame of time and no enough staff to cover so many people. They force you to pay 10 pounds to open fridge. ..They should really look after customers a bit better but they don't if you looking for location and not spending time there then hats the place if you looking for comfort and quality then run away

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank cervia2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed here for the weekend , having travelled from Valencia where we were staying with family . Had always wanted to visit Benidorm , but didn't want to stay there . The beach is horrendous . On arriving we were not disappointed . We found a parking spot outside the hotel , check in was smooth and the rooms all with a balcony are spacious and comfy . We had buffet breakfast , which was varied and plentiful , could not find fault . Entertainment at night , in a spacious auditorium , delightful . Pebble beach , not crowded , warm sea and plenty of sunbeds and parasols , just across the road . Hotel has pool on roof and front of hotel but here I preferred the sea . Make sur to take shoes/sandles to walk in the sea , nightmare getting out on the pebbles as it's gets deep quickly but perfectly safe , no undercurrent that I noticed . Would recommend strongly and the good thing ? 15 euro taxi to Benidorm . I've been , an evening was quite sufficient but fun !!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gerry49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We asked for a high floor and they gave us top floor overlooking the sea and towards Altea. Fantastic. The food was terrific with themed buffets most nights. First night included lobster tail and venison and the Tapas night had so much choice you could probably have gone four weeks on the run without repeating yourself. Lovely big bar area. Albir is a lovely resort, so different from Benidorm which is easily reached by bus. Buses are frequent there or the opposite direction, Altea, another lovely place. You can also get the train from Altea either back to Benidorm or to Denia. Lovely walk to Altea along the coast, about 45 mins to 60 mins and the opposite direction a similar distance to the lighthouse. Lots of good bars in Albir and all in all a great place for a holiday.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Just back from a wonderful stay at the Hotel Kactus Albir! Where do I start? Superb rooms, excellent food, great staff - especially Paco and Juan and the rest of the crew! Nothing was too in trouble - thank you again! Location is superb, literally on the beach with views to die for! Wonderful sunrises and sunsets! Beautiful promenade for the after dinner stroll! Very accessible to the entire area either by car or bus! There were a lot of older guests when we first arrived and they were particularly catered for with regards to evening entertainment but we did join in and watch some of the shows etc! We went out and about to see the local beauty spots! Definately worth a vist is the old town of Altea the next town along the promenade ! Long walk but worth it! The fountains in Callosa, make sure you take swimwear and towel as you can swim in them!! Park at one of the restaurant car parks for about €3 all day! Then on to Guadalest for stunning views over the lake and dam and hilltop village ! Worth a drive up to Calpe and beyond! We drove to Valencia City just under 90 minutes away on AP7 ! Lots of lovely places and bays to visit off the N332 ! You can not stay in Albir and not take a trip to Benidorm! It cost €6 each was on the bus for four adults! We spent a morning in the old town which is lovely! Very traditional and pretty then had the afternoon and evening in the English Square are for some drinks, live music and a bit of fun! Nice to visit but wouldn't want to stay there far too busy but a great day and evening out! The pools at the Kactus are lovely only one downside not enough sun loungers as a fair few were damaged and not usable plus no parasols to escape the sun! We went and bought our own parasol for a few euros which meant we could use it on the beach ! The beach is mainly pebbles so you will need to hire sunbeds or buy a padded mat for comfort! Market every night close by and a nice few shops in the town itselff and nearbyLots of nice bars and restaurants if you want to explore outside the hotel! The beach has play areas and outdoor gym and is very clean! Lots of locals stay weekends as they hold various events like dancing, pool, martial arts ! We got to see some of the displays and performances which was interesting! Would Definately go back!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is on the right as you look at the hotel from the beach as they have sun later i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank FamilyNind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Kaktus in Albir the first week in June 2014. Expecting a four star hotel we were sadly disappointed. There was no welcoming atmosphere in the hotel and the staff looked fed up. There was no local information in the room and as we did not travel with a tour operator this would have been helpful. We had a kettle in the room but did not qualify for tea and coffee because we were not traveling with Saga Holidays. The choice and quality of the food was far below a four star. Then on the Friday the place came alive as it was a Spanish Holiday and a lot of the locals booked in for the weekend. It was great the atmosphere changed as did the quality and variety of the food, there was a buzz and even the staff looked happier, just as we expected our holiday to be, we got all exited then Sunday morning they all went home and it became bland and boring once again. It is sad because the hotel itself is in an ideal position and is a good looking building and very clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank jansalmons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I've just returned from two weeks at this hotel. Location right opposite the pebble beach with views for miles in a stunning bay. Views of the beach and lighthouse from my balcony. Food variety and quality were excellent - the best I've experienced at any 4 star hotel. Staff were courteous even the bar staff despite previous bad reviews. I had a single room which was enormous and very comfortable. Trips to various places were interesting and the local buses were frequent and on time with a standard fare irrespective of how far you were going. Benidorm was close by if you wanted more day or nighttime activities. Overall a great holiday which should appeal to adults or families with grown up children since the pool area is quite small.

Room Tip: All rooms have balconies with views of the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sunseeker215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Alfas del Pi
0.5 mi away
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
#2 of 15 in L'Alfas del Pi
1,238 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Sun Palace Albir Lounge & Spa
0.9 mi away
Albir Garden Resort
Albir Garden Resort
#7 of 15 in L'Alfas del Pi
1,409 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Noguera
Hotel Noguera
#3 of 15 in L'Alfas del Pi
142 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
4.1 mi away
Hotel Cimbel
Hotel Cimbel
#40 of 192 in Benidorm
597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kaktus Albir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kaktus Albir

Address: Passeig de Les Estreles 11 | Playa del Albir, 03581, L'Alfas del Pi, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > L'Alfas del Pi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in L'Alfas del Pi
Price Range: £68 - £125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kaktus Albir 4*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Kaktus Albir Kaktus Albir Hotel has been inaugurated in summer of 2003 and is situated just in front of the Albir Pebble Beach, in Alfaz del Pi, at only 8 kms of Benidorm, touristic capital of Costa Blanca, and 60 kms of the Airport of Alicante. It's only 10 meters from the beach, and in the old town you'll find a lot of shops, restaurants and bars. It's 10 kms from Benidorm bus station, which connects with Alicante, the airport and the rest of the coastal area, it's the perfect place for relaxing and exploring the area. We've an exterior pool for adults and children. In our roof terrace we have a second pool, that not only has wonderful views, in the winter season it is heated and covered. In the roof terrace you can also find sunbeds. The hotel has also bar service, four lifts, air conditioning, heating, and private parking. In our hotel you'll find a nice and helpful staff.Restaurant with Buffet all services: Breakfast , Lunch and Dinner . We have a Sailor's Buffet : Seafood and Fish, British Buffet and also a Special Spanish Tapas Buffet every Saturday evening. In our night Club we have Live Music 5 nights a week and several International shows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Kaktus Albir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Kaktus Albir Costa Blanca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing