We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value, great food, not much atmosphere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Albir Garden Resort
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in L'Alfas del Pi
Reviewed 14 August 2013

Booked here last minute as was looking for somewhere to stay near Benidorm that was all inclusive. Stayed between 9th-13th August. Requested a high floor, double bed and pool view and got all of these things. Check in was quick and meal times were explained but no other info was given such as where the gym was, what was included in all inclusive or what entertainment there was. No information pack in room just a leaflet with a few details on about meal times. Cleaners came I think twice whilst we were there and gave new towels and made the bed but bed sheets were not changed whilst we were there. Cleaners spoke no English which made it impossible to ask them anything and on returning to our room one day we found it stank of smoke and then found fag ash all over the balcony obviously the cleaner was smoking whilst cleaning our room as we are not smokers– not impressed! Shampoo, soap etc not replenished the whole stay. No hairdryer in room but you could hire one from reception. Air con free in room. Wifi chargeable although says there is free wifi in public parts of hotel but this barely worked whilst we were there. Room was basic but very clean, bed comfortable. Nice view from balcony over resort which is very big with lost of guests but room blocks are only 3 high and only have 3 rooms on each floor and blocks are spaced far apart so doesn't feel like one big hotel. Had a massage which was really good although lady spoke no English so didn’t get what I asked for which was just my back and got full body but as I said was really good. Snack bar open most of the day with fast food and often few left over bits for lunch which was fine. Didn’t have to queue for long for drinks at any time, also didn’t queue once for the restaurant and sometimes went as soon as it opened and other times later on and always found a table and got food straight away so not sure how other reviews from the same time say otherwise. Breakfast 8-10, Lunch 1-3 and Dinner 8-10. Think dinner should have started earlier as by the time you finish dinner it was getting late and you’re really full. Staff in restaurant work quickly clearing tables etc and all friendly. Always found something I liked to eat and I am a bit fussy. Food was much better quality than other all inclusives I have been to and clearly labelled. No info or menus at bars as to what drinks are available and what is included in all inclusive. Some drinks and all ice creams were not included in the all-inclusive which is a shame as it is not really then all inclusive is it. Entertainment in evening was all a bit rubbish and never anywhere to sit unless you got chair ready before 8pm and didn’t want to leave it to get any dinner. Sun bed situation was the worst ever at any hotel, chained up at night and not unchained until 9am. As usual people would get up first thing and put a chair or towels where they would want a sun bed and then queue up by the chained up sun beds and then everyone goes mad trying to lift off about 6 sunbeds at a time and then as usual don’t use them for most of the day. We did not bother with this and just lay on a towel on the grass. Pools were busy but not to the point where you couldn’t swim and it was August so not sure what people expect who complain about it being busy and full of kids. Bus stop next to hotel, got the bus once to Benidorm for 1Euro 50 each but I wouldn’t bother as took nearly an hour and a taxi will cost about 10 Euros and take 10 minutes, they pull up right next to the bus stop. Walk down to Albir beach is a 10-15 min walk, if it was hot would recommend just getting a taxi for 5 Euros. Beach is very pebbly and hard to walk on and you will need a sun lounger unless you like laying on rocks. Benidorm beach is sandy but packed at this time of year. There are a few restaurants and shops on the walk down and at the beach in Albir but all very quiet considering was August. Night market was along the path in front of the beach in the evenings with stalls of jewellery and bags etc and a big market on Sunday mornings on the walk down to the beach about half way down. Walked half way to the lighthouse as was too hot to continue but there are viewing points all the way along so you can go and just walk a shortish distance and still get amazing views without having to go all the way to the lighthouse. No toilets or food or drink available on the walk though. When you get to the slope on the road down to the beach in Albir you go up a road on the right as you look at the beach which is sign posted El Faro with a picture of the lighthouse and is clearly signposted all the way to the start of the walk at the nature park. As all inclusive didn’t really eat or drink out but look around as some places were doing English breakfast for 1 Euro 50 and a pint was about the same at some places. I would recommend the hotel as good value and good quality food and drinks were not watered down like at some all inclusives in fact measures were very generous but I am not sure I would return only because was more of a family resort and not a good atmosphere in the evenings for couples and younger people. Think it is offically a 3* hotel but i would say is a 4* as very clean and food is very good standard.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Abbie1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

542 - 548 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed 11 August 2013

british family of 4, stayed here from 26th july to 9th aug 2013. the hotel reception, restaurant, bar and cleaning staff were 1st class, no problems at all here but they were all well understaffed hence the constant long queues. there is no sky sports or wifi even though they advertise this on there website. the british are outnumbered 9 to 1 by the Spanish holiday makers, you are not told this when booking, the Spanish hotel staff constantly favour there own people, and there is endless queue jumping and favouritism all over the hotel. they don't realise if the british didn't holiday in there country, 90% of them would not be having a holiday, because all there jobs will be associated with the tourism trade. the queues are endless 20mins at the bars and 40 to 60 minutes getting into the restaurant. they are not geared up for such large numbers and it's all very very amateur planning and organising. the events team get by through the day with a very limited budget, but the evening entertainment is a complete joke and non existent, basically it's shocking. if you are british I would give this hotel a miss in july or august unless you like queueing half your holiday

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yorkshireboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

First time to mainland Spain family of 6 we went All Inclusive.We arrived at 2am and we asked for a bottle of water to get told we had to pay for it because bar closes at 12am. We had 2 rooms which was nice sizes and cleaned every day. Pool area was nice, enough sun beds to go round. Restaurant for breakfast , lunch and dinner was OK but later on in our holiday it became like a cattle market , we feel there was no variety for children and the quality of the food when down as more people arrived.You had to queue up for your drinks at all bars. There was not enough seating for evening entertainment if you wanted to watch it , which wasn't great mainly for the Spanish and not suitable for children.The staff in general wasn't helpful and all for there own ( Spanish).
We spoked to a few British family's and there opinions were the same as ours.We spoke to British people in the pub opposite hotel and they heard the same things all for the Spanish.We will not be returning to this HOTEL but might go back to the resort Albir which was nice and friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Overall I thought hotel was great value for money. I loved the fact that the resort was so Spanish. The little apartments were great for the two of us, and the whole place was spotless. The 2 drinks bar limit wasn't a problem with just the two of us. The buffet food was good for a three star resort, the seafood and paella was excellent. Staff were competent. The location was excellent, with a relaxing beach just 15 minutes away. Albir itself has plenty of restaurants, and the easy #10 bus takes you to central Benidorm with all its busy, fun, crazy bars. The evening entertainment was family based and it was nice to see so many of the kids join in with full gusto. With plenty of pool tables ect, the teenagers seemed to have plenty to do too.

But it is not for couples or singles. The pool was so busy with kids playing, I just didn't feel like I could get in.

A few small bumps that individually shouldn't put you off. It was just so busy, there are so many apartments and just not enough resources. At night there was always a huge queue for the bar. It was tricky to get a sun lounger and the 1 pool was so packed, it's clear they need to add a second. Puddings were terrible, and were mainly fruit and yogurt. The bar closed at 11.50pm, which was too early for us. The snack bar between lunch and 8pm dinner needs a non deep fried option.

For a family I'd really recommend

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank teacherspet123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2013

I read a number of reviews before we booked here & took our chance based on the more sensible ones.

We returned yesterday & had a great time. The 1 bed apartment was a reasonable size, it was clean but a bit tired. The room was cleaned every day we were there. The complex as a whole was very good with a reasonable range of food on offer, even for some choosy teenagers. The entertainment is a bit cheesey & more suited to younger children. We spent a couple of evenings in the Irish bar opposite which was quiet & had free wi-fi, which was handy.

All in all, a very good choice especially when you take into account the amazing price (£70 per night for 4 adults all inclusive). Albir itself is quite nice, nothing like Benidorm!

One piece of advice, it got significantly busier from 1st August so suggest you go in July or early Sept if you want a 'kids-holiday' break.

We all agreed that we would return.

Room Tip: We asked for a high floor in the blocks & liked it as it was a bit quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicholas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We have been to benidorm 12 times over the last 7/8 years, and I must say when I came across this resort on the net. I knew It was for us as a family of two boys 10yrs & 3yrs there was plenty to do we went self catering as I works best for us as both my 3yr old & myself are fussy eaters. There was a big super market rite in front of the hotel & another mercado on down the street towards the litte town, there is also a McDonalds & a lidl on down the street right where you get the bus to benidorm, it's also just across from left side of hotel. The bus to benidorm is €1.50 & run right until 1.30am, as last bus from benidorm is 1.20am to albir/altea takes you about 25mins & leaves you off right outside. We stayed for 8nights but cldve done 4 more quite happily entertainment was brill & also water aerobics in the mornings were fab ha ha. There is also two real big bazaar's which sold everything isles & isles I never even got round them all as they were so big! If real Spain you want with a little bit lively up the road to the dorm for the shows plus keep the kids happy you get the best off both worlds here at this resort amazing. We are planning the month if nov/dec back to it the little gem of blanca we loved it!! Defo give it @ least a good 4*plus. A great spot can't wait now to get booking again, thanks to German & merche the receptionists who helped a great deal see you soon . Luv the little belfast family xx.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mysticroach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

just got back this morning and missing albir already, what a beautiful hotel very clean with wonderful staff. very close to shops and a 15 minute walk to a lovely beach and quaint market. this was a last minute deal for us and i am so glad we got it, will deffo go back would reccomend it. 5 stars for me xx

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Alfas del Pi
0.6 mi away
Magic Robin Hood
Magic Robin Hood
#1 of 8 in El Albir
530 reviews
0.4 mi away
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
#2 of 15 in L'Alfas del Pi
1,249 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Albir
Hotel Kaktus Albir
#4 of 15 in L'Alfas del Pi
626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Sun Palace Albir Lounge & Spa
0.5 mi away
Vidalbir Apartahotel
Vidalbir Apartahotel
#12 of 15 in L'Alfas del Pi
42 reviews
4.5 mi away
Hotel SH Villa Gadea
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albir Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albir Garden Resort

Address: Camino Viejo de Altea 29, 03581, L'Alfas del Pi, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > L'Alfas del Pi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in L'Alfas del Pi
Price Range: £37 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Albir Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Onthebeach, Alpha Holidays Limited, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, HotelsClick, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Albir Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albir Garden Apartments Hotel l`Alfas Del Pi
Albir Garden Resort Costa Blanca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing