We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab holiday for value”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Albir Garden Resort
Ranked #7 of 14 Hotels in L'Alfas del Pi
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fab holiday for value”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel as reading the reviews we kept a open mind
for the money we paid for all incusive the food was lovely something for everyone if there isn't then you must be very fussy
very clean and tidy and entertainment was same most nights but didn't bother us as the kids were happy and so was we
only thing I think is the rooms could do with updating

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,350 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    274
    433
    338
    160
    145
See reviews for
827
260
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 November 2013

The resort of albir was lovely. The beach was great but the hotel was disappointing! Anyone staying there on all inclusive were only allowed to get one drink at a time at the bar and that was in plastic beakers!!! There was a constant long queue for drinks so we spent so long waiting in the queues that we just gave up in the end!!! The staff were miserable except for the very helpful reception staff! The pool was too deep too have fun in and the entertainment was pityful. We will not be returning to this hotel and we will not be recomending it!!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheTWs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

As always, I'm basing my review on the price we paid. This isn't a five-star resort - nor does it pretend to be. And given how cheap it is, there are bound to be niggles and imperfections. However, I think it was a bargain - the negative points were unimportant, and outweighed by the positives. Firstly, the location is pretty good. Albir is just 5-10 minutes' drive from Benidorm - close enough if you want some action but far enough away if you'd like something more peaceful. There is a bus stop just outside the hotel, although we had a hire car so didn't use it. There is a decent-sized supermarket just opposite, and lots of shops, bars and restaurants in the area. It's about a fifteen minute walk down to the beach at Albir - shingle and far smaller than Benidorm, but very pleasant. The reception staff were extremely friendly and helpful. We found most of the bar and restaurant staff the same - a smile and 'gracias' goes a long way! When the light in our bedroom wasn't working, we reported it to reception and someone was along to fix it within an hour - similarly with a problem with one of the pool tables. The room itself was basic but fine, the apartments are laid out in three-storey blocks of (I think) 9 apartments altogether. The layout is such that we didn't have any neighbours, which was brilliant - on the downside, you could hear everything from the stairwell, which was a problem halfway through the holiday, when some very inconsiderate and noisy people moved into the block. We had a one-bedroom apartment, which meant we could put the kids to bed and still have somewhere to sit ourselves - I think we drew the short straw though, as the sofa bed was not particularly comfy. The maids came and cleaned every day, and we had plenty of linen and towels (although they were rather small and rough). We initially had 2 blankets in the wardrobe but when they saw we were using them, more appeared in case the children needed them too (although they had bedspreads already). It was a bit lacking on space for clothes - the wardrobe was big enough, but there was a serious lack of drawers! There were cupboards in the lounge and the kitchen though, as well as a shelf, a dining table (4 chairs) and a coffee table, so there was ample opportunity for storage in general. There was a wide-screen TV but it didn't have any English channels - you could buy a TV card from reception (not sure how much) but we didn't bother. The kitchen was small, with 2 hobs, a microwave and a fridge. Not sure what there was in the way of equipment, as we were all-inclusive, but the fridge came in handy! The balcony was a reasonable size with a table and four chairs. No washing line but plenty of rail space. No cover though, which meant it wasn't sheltered from wind or rain. The bathroom was basic but adequate - no bath, but a big shower. A very small sink with hardly any space to put your bits and pieces, but it served our needs. The food was fine - the usual buffet affair really. We have eaten better food in all-inclusives, but we've also eaten far worse! There was a good choice, and I could always find something I liked - there's always chips and pasta for the fussier eaters! We stayed for eight days, and the food on the 8th day was the same as our first, so it looks like everything is repeated after a week - would get rather samey if you were there for a fortnight. They have Italian and Mexican evenings once a week, and we particularly enjoyed the Mexican food. The restaurant experience is a little chaotic - you have to find your own table and get your own drinks from the bar or the juice dispensers. You usually had to get your own cutlery too! The daytime entertainment had pretty much stopped, as we were out of season, but there was always something on in the evening. A team of one lady and two men seemed to run all the entertainment - they did a mini-disco and games for the children after dinner, which my children loved, and which catered for all nationalities. We did not stay for the entertainment after that, so can't really comment, but it seemed to be the same people in various guises - one of them men as an Elvis tribute, for example. The one time we stayed for an hour, we were pleasantly surprised at the quality of their singing. The pool was nice with no problem getting a sunbed in October (although they weren't adjustable!). There was a good children's playground next to what I assume is the kids club in season. There is also an indoor pool, although we didn't use this - partly because it was warm enough to swim outside, and partly because swimming caps are compulsory! The only real problem we encountered was with other guests. When we first arrived, they had around ten national Tai Kwando teams staying there - while they were not at all disruptive, it meant that the restaurant was extremely crowded for the first couple of days, and we ended up eating in a gazebo area for the first night. They regularly have sports teams staying there - once the Tai Kwando teams had left, there were football and gymnastics teams. None of them caused any problems other than overcrowding! For our last weekend, it was a Spanish bank holiday, and there was a sudden huge influx of Spanish families. The hotel coped with this by implementing a timing restriction for the restaurant - it didn't affect us much other than to ensure the restaurant was quiet and calm, while the new Spanish families always ate afterwards. However, we found a lot of them to be very noisy and disrespectful, shouting up the stairs to their apartments at 12am, and leaving the area outside the bar in a filthy state. We also had a lot of problems with various nationalities pushing in the queues at dinner, with one lady being very rude to me. It did put a bit of a damper on things, but was hardly the hotel's fault. Overall, we were very happy with our stay here - it was not luxury, but we didn't pay for it. I'm more worried about our room being clean that a damp patch in the bathroom. I'm more worried about the food being good than having my drink brought to me. I'm more worried about the staff being friendly than well-known entertainers. If they could just changed some of their clientele, it would be brilliant!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HolidayObsessive1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

having read previous reviews, i have to say i wasnt expecting much- how surprised i was when we arrived at Albir garden. wonderful staff who were very helpful, lovely room in block I room 304, we dumped our cases & headed to the bar area. the dinning room was busy but that was to be expected as we arrived at 7pm & by the time we went in at 8pm it was quiet had a good selection of food we all had roast beef, my 8 year old was in his element. pasta-about 6 different salads- fish-meats-veg-chips & a freashly cooked meat then puddings & fruit & a bottle of wine for your table couldnt fault it. Breakfast consists of bacon,sausage,beans,2 types of egg,mushrooms,bread,toast,jams,pastries etc it was lovely-cant understand why other guests have moaned we certainly had our fill (fat bellys all round). Pool area was gorgeous great for all ages of kids. staff on bar were fab thanks to Jonny,Esther,gasper & Nero a little politeness & a word in spanish goes a long way they appreciate it. My only gripe was on the fri 1st Nov around 300 spanish arrived for there bank holiday they left the pool area & bar in a terrible mess & my son had his DS stolen.Albir is a lovely town you can get a bus to benidorm or Altea from outside the hotel. definatley going back.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sara h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houghton-le-Spring, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2013

We have recently returned from a weeks holiday at this resort and have thoroughly enjoyed it. Cannot fault the staff working there, so friendly and extremely helpful with even the slightest of problems. The day we arrived (after tea), we unfortunately needed a room change due to the layout being open plan, not the best for our situation with 2 12 year olds and myself and my partner, privacy was needed, so the next day we were moved to one of their self catering rooms, (even though we were on an all inclusive basis) which was ideal for us. The food was great and good choices each day and the weather was good too, popped into Benidorm a couple of times just to break up the stay. The only slight downside to the holiday was the entertainment, but we still managed to entertain ourselves, and we won a bottle of champagne on quiz night so that was a bonus. Would recommend this hotel and would also return.

Room Tip: We stayed in block A room 304
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhondarichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Firstly I will say this is the most relaxed hotel I have ever stayed in. The whole complex is immaculate the room was spotless and cleaned every day with fresh towels supplied. But a word of warning the maids do not knock! So ask at reception for a do not disturb sign. Service at the bar is great.food is fresh and plentiful. This is a sports orientated hotel and lots of sports teams stay there so it gets very busy at mealtimes my advice would be wait until later to go to the restuarant. The pool area is lovely plenty of sunbeds and sun canopies. The location of the hotel is ideal Albir is a lovely resort and Benidorm is ten minutes away by bus or taxi which you can get just outside the hotel gates. The supermarket across the street is well stocked and there are British pubs nearby. Entertainment when we were there was poor but i heard it was better in season. All in all we had a lovely holiday here.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deekay868
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crossgar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We spend a week in Albir Garden Resort from 19-26 October 2013. We were Full Board so we got all our meals included. We got room B112 and it was a nice distance from the pool area and reception. Staff were very helpful at reception, however hadn't put our travel cot into the room already as she said she wanted us to see the room first as the sofabed may be ok for our 1yr old... Obviously we still requested the travel cot as there was no way our baby would sleep on a bed without falling out. This was charged at 7 euros per night so 49 euros for the week. We travelled as a young family with a toddler and the hotel was perfect for us. I would mention though that there are steep marble steps at the side of reception slightly out of sight which our daughter made a dash for and nearly fell down them, we literally caught her at the last second!! The 4 outdoor pools were spotless the whole time we were there, and we seen them cleaning the pool in the mornings. On Monday the Tae Kwon Do people arrived from Romania, Scotland, Germany, Nederlands, Kazakhstan, Africa & I'm sure there were more from other countries too. Well they weren't an issue until mealtimes and then it just got hectic. Between all them bombarding the restaurant as soon as it opened and getting all the food and the elderly people pushing in in front of us I was ready for punching someone. There was always plenty of choice though and the food was good. If you want proper british bacon, sausages and eggs then you won't really enjoy their version but there is plenty of other choices for you. Also you get free fruit juice from the dispensers in the restaurant so we never had to buy a drink at all. Two of the days we took the bus right outside the hotel and headed into benidorm for the day and we had lunch out. Another day we just walked around Albir itself to see what was in the town, well we discovered Lidl, McDonalds, plenty of restaurants and bars - especially the only bar in the open shopping mall (they give very generous helpings of alcohol such as malibu and jack daniels in the coke and are very reasonably priced. The Family Club across from that bar seems good, however the girl inside wouldn't allow our daughter in as she was "too small" despite her being in her buggy therefore not seeing her full height and then allowing spanish children the same height and smaller in. Watch out at the market in Albir on a Sunday morning, very expensive at certain stalls. Crafty people up there. There are also plenty of shops, a few tobacco shops, a few chemists and other wee shops. We took the bus to Benidorm to visit Terra Natura Zoo but the bus didn't arrive at the time given by another bus driver, it did finally turn up but he didn't stop and indicated for us to go to the other side of the road. We ran over to the other side and he drove on. We gave up then and got a taxi to and from the zoo - this cost about 8 - 10 euros. The zoo was 15 euros each per adult and our daughter was free. Inside was halloween themed and had a person dressed as a tiger with a dracula cape on to have our photo taken with him - this costs 7 euros on the way out. There were plenty of animals to see and plenty of little areas to visit. It was very quiet on the day we came so it wasn't very busy which was good. We had ice cream in the wee cafe at the start. Toilets were clean and the had somewhere to change the child's nappy - there are no baby changing facilities at the hotel. The whole way around this zoo is directed by yellow arrows to show the right direction so you really can't get lost. You can also visit Aqua Natura when you're there although we didn't and aren't sure what the costs are to get into there. Their shop is also good. The staff at the zoo called a taxi for us and it arrived within 5 minutes which took us back to Benidorm and we got the next bus back to the hotel. Oh great shop to go to is at the end of the Mediterrano where the road goes off in different directions, we turned right which takes you to the beach and there is a Subway and a McDonalds so you know you're in the right street, well there's a shop on your right does engraved plaques, dog tags, signs etc onto Aluminium for 6 euros - the guy designs on the pc what you want and what picture etc you want, gets you to ok it then the machine gets to work itself. It does a brilliant job and we bought several as gifts. When we return again I will definately be going back to this shop and buying many many more for future presents and things for the house. The alcohol is super cheap over there, I seen a bottle of wine for 1 euro 57 cents!! There is a supermarket right across the road for any necessities, milk is quite dear but not breaking the bank. There is a safe in the hotel reception which is very secure and locked at night. TV cards aren't worth buying to be honest, we did purchase one when we ran out of dvds to watch (there is no dvd player, we brought our own portable one). The bathroom floor gets very very wet after a shower so it is best to put towels along the shower edge and the wall along to the toilet and this should be enough. There's a fridge and microwave in the kitchen along with cups, cutlery, glasses, plates etc. The kids play area is very good, however not really designed for younger kids. On my daughter's second visit to this park she went with her daddy and returned after 20 mins as she had cut her foot on a piece of glass in the sand. We didn't go back again. On our final full day we had booked a visit to Safari Aitana (separate review written for there) which was amazing and well worth the money we paid. Definately book a visit to there, they pick you up at your hotel and drop you off, take you to the park, get your entry to the two parks - which gets you up close and touching the animals, you get a 3 course lunch with a bottle of wine, a trip to the factory that makes flavoured vinegars and jams, a trip to Guadalest with visits to the museums there and finally back home to your hotel in time for dinner. Best day out we've had yet. Will add further details if I have missed anything. Oh I did forget something, in Benidorm if you go to the other end of old town where the McDonalds is on the right and the road forks off and there are shops all along on your left, keep walking down there and turn left at the crossroads as such and on the right is an amazing ice cream shop with over 30 flavours and are presented to you in the shape of a flower :) and of course the ice cream is yummy, the even do lovely wee kids tubs that you get to keep. Rooms cleaned daily and beds & towels changed every day also. Nighttime entertainment was repetitive and very loud at the end of the week but ended at 12 so wasn't really an issue.

Room Tip: Room B112 was lovely, sunny in the morning and far enough from pool area so not very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near L'Alfas del Pi
0.4 mi away
Magic Robin Hood
Magic Robin Hood
#6 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
Albir Playa Hotel & Spa
#1 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
1,184 reviews
21.1 mi away
Hotel Bonalba
Hotel Bonalba
#1 of 1 in Mutxamel
1,416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kaktus Albir
Hotel Kaktus Albir
#2 of 14 in L'Alfas del Pi
578 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Sun Palace Albir Lounge & Spa
3.1 mi away
Magic Aqua Rock Gardens
Magic Aqua Rock Gardens
#47 of 192 in Benidorm
2,251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Albir Garden Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albir Garden Resort

Property: Albir Garden Resort
Address: Camino Viejo de Altea 29, 03581, L'Alfas del Pi, Spain
Region: Spain > Valencian Country > Province of Alicante > Costa Blanca > L'Alfas del Pi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in L'Alfas del Pi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Albir Garden Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 426
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Booking.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Albir Garden Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albir Garden Apartments Hotel l`Alfas Del Pi
Albir Garden Resort Costa Blanca, Spain

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing