We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A "Very Relaxing and Friendly Hotel" in North Holland.”

Hotel Restaurant Karsten
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Restaurant Karsten
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Norg
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Have now stayed at the Karsten Hotel many times, with my 2013 period already booked. The bedrooms are very well laid out, with no apparent noise whatsoever. The quality of the menu in the restaurant is superb, equaled by the excellence of the food itself. Owners and staff are exceptionally friendly, with a very pleasant humorous slant upon ones conversation. Norg itself is within easy reach of the North Coast of Holland, which is very scenic and a bird watchers paradise. It is also within easy reach of both Groningen and Assen, where the World Ice Speedway Championships take place every March. The area around Norg is perfect for getting on ones bike and seeing the Countryside at it's best. The hotel also has a very secure car park at the rear. All in all, can't wait to get back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RoadHogInsideSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 13 July 2012

This is the Fourth time I have stayed at the Karsten hotel and felt it was time that i shared how good it is. Its a very traditional family run hotel. The suite that i have always had is fantastic- massive water bed, huge jacuzzi bath & shower. Food is excellent and the same price as the local restaurants, but its much better quality! overall we really enjoy our annual visit and is now something that is fixed in our calendars. we always re-book befiore we leave. As for Norg, its a very pleasant villiage and has some great cycle routes.

Room Tip: Opt for the suite, very roomy and graet bathroom. only costs about an extra 20 euros per night .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMRFM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2010

Recommended by business client, rather than travel into town from Groningen (Eelde) airport, and I was not disappointed.

About 10 mins by road from airport, set in the attractive village of Norg. It is a hotel plus restaurant and, reassuringly, had locals dining there ! We were rather late for food (15 mins before closure) but nevertheless welcomed and enjoyed a very good meal from a quite extensive menu, nor were we hurried.

Bedroom plain but clean with very comfortable bed, best experienced for a while. No bath, just shower. Never tried the flat-screen TV. No night-time noise whatsoever.

Breakfast was usual self-service fare but no cooked food except boiled eggs.

Really service was excellent and I would definitely go back there again.

Cost for B&B + evening meal was 76 Euros and a whole lot less than likely central Groningen costs.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loosecannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 days ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Theo d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gerbert N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Slainte13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Marjanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Norg
0.1 mi away
Hotel Norg
Hotel Norg
#2 of 2 in Norg
19 reviews
5.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Assen
9.4 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Groningen-Hoogkerk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Bitter en Zoet Veenhuizen
Bitter en Zoet Veenhuizen
#1 of 1 in Veenhuizen
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Erfgoedlogies de Eshof
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
B&B De Esdoorn
#2 of 2 in Norg
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Restaurant Karsten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Restaurant Karsten

Address: Brink 6, 9331 AA Norg, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Drenthe Province > Norg
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Norg
Price Range: £63 - £205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Restaurant Karsten 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Restaurant Karsten reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing