We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Van Heeckeren Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
De Berkenhof(Nes)(Great Value!)
US$97
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Hotel Nes Ameland(Nes)(Great Value!)
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$124
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
US$147
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$106
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Dolores(Hollum)(Great Value!)
US$96
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (207)
Filter reviews
207 results
Traveller rating
76
97
23
9
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
97
23
9
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoffee machinebeautiful roomthin wallslong weekendbreadpatiotoiletferry
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 207 reviews
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed here at Christmas 2013. The weather was great so we really enjoyed going to the Island. We took an early boat so we arrived well before check-in time. Welcome was really friendly. In the afternoon when the rooms were ready we checked in. The rooms are modern and clean and have a nice atmosphere, though some were a bit small, whereas our room had a really small bathroom. We really liked the coffee and tea facilities in the room, great coffee! Breakfast is great with an abundance of fruit, freshly baked bread, bacon and eggs and fresh orange juice as well as lots of other items. We had a great stay.

Room Tip: Groundfloor rooms may be a bit noisy.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Truus58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Easy to find since it's 10 min walk from the boat and located in the center of Nes.In our room the bed was upstairs which gave the room nice atmosphere.Downstairs there's a fridge and a coffeemachine with beans for the coffee lovers.We had also a small balcony and a bathtub.Breakfast was good and the service too.Only thing,the glasses in our cupboard were pretty dirty,so we asked the housekeeper to give us some new ones and so she did,but they were also dirty,Anyways there was a sink to wash them ourselves.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fossegin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2013

Really a nice and modern hotel in the center of Ness. Rooms are modern and clean with a big tv screen. The bathroom is somehow a little small comparing to the room. Good breakfast! Big plus is the coffee and tea maker on every room with excellent coffee! We only missed a hotel lounge a little bit. We had a really good stay!

Room Tip: We had booked a comfort room, but the bathroom was very tiny. For € 10,- a night we got a Deluxe room and that was really worth the money! The bathroom was still small, but better than in the comfort room.
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Geke P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

The van Heekeren empire has really commercialised the island, from the Sunset Cafe (this is not Santa Monica!) to the anachronous Rixx restaurant. The welcome was one of 'would you like to upgrade your room' rather than 'have you come far' or 'welcome back'. The rooms are functional, bed comfortable and clean bathroom. However, I would happily lose half the television for double the warmth of atmosphere. Come on guys, this costs nothing to improve, ask your receptionist from this morning (Monday 1st April) how to connect to guests, she is your best asset. Final piece of advice, please ask your cleaning staff to give attention ot the patio areas outside the ground floor rooms - cigarette ends, used ashtrays and general detritus are not nice to sit amongst whilst enjoying the fresh air!

Room Tip: Ground floor, we had #29, on the end with a small patio and no passing people,
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BritTravellerTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

The hotel is renamed: "van Heeckeren".
It is a nice hotel; fully equipped rooms. Enormous (Smart) TV screen in the room. Very nice breakfast. No lunch or dinner services, which is no problem at all. Many restaurants in the area.
Bathroom is small but convenient (shower and bath).

Room Tip: We had room 24 on the ground floor; a little bit small, but convenient.
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hans750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews