We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice quite loaction. Very friendly.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel restaurant de Tjattel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We booked late, so this was not our first choice. However we found it clean and comfortable in a super quiter location.
It was good value, close to the 'downtown' part which was just a few hundred meters away. Next to the bus stop, so carrying bags from the ferry was not an issue.
Very friendly and helpful staff. We didn't eat there in the evenings as we were attending events held elsewhere on the island. But the breakfast was super, as were our pre dinner drink times in the bar.
We would definately give this a thumbs up.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tilks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 30 September 2013

The hotel is very clean, rooms are small but very cosy and bathroom well renovated. Breakfast is very nice, choice of hot and cold, fruits,juices... everything you need to feel ready in case you plan a long hike. Terasse is well oriented, and staff is very friendly and helpful, i am glad we stayed in this hotel as a lot of other places looks dated and in a renovation need!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank letiAmstedam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2011

What a surprise! We originally booked for 2 nights and ended up staying 5. Rooms are small but well laid out and functional. Bathroom and shower are a good size. Rooms are very clean. We ate several meals there and the food quality is excellent. The owners and staff were very courteous and helpful. It made our stay wonderful. No telephones in the room but you do not need one there. Internet is very good.

Room Tip: There are mosquitoes so opening your window invites these guys in for lunch
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WMeurope2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2010

As a single traveller off-season, this hotel was just a dream. Much more than I'd expected, especially considering the very reasonable price for a mid-week off-season stay.

The location was perfect - right in the center of the island of Schiermonikoog. The room was clean and quaintly furnished, and everything was blissfully quiet. The owners were kind and friendly when I arrived -- as someone studying Dutch, I really loved that the hotel primarily seemed to served Dutch-speaking tourists; everyone allowed me to get practice trying to speak Dutch and didn't try to "help me" by forcing English.

Finally, the included breakfast was just surprisingly fantastic -- I can't believe I nearly skipped it. Easily the best Dutch breakfast I've ever had - the breads were all bakery-quality and the presentation was just beautiful. And, yes, they do even have free WiFi in the lobby, even though it's not advertised anywhere in English.

The only oddity about the hotel is that they seem to really love the MS Comic Sans font (it's just everywhere). ;-).

But this is a place I would recommend or return to without any reservations whatsoever, and I'm very grateful to the owners and staff for the experience.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eligold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2007

I stayed here in July 2007. The room was recently renovated with a beautiful bathroom w/ shower. It is very well kept. Breakfast was included, and tasted great, with alot of choice. Restaurant food was great quality and good portions.
The decortation was great and I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank js41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 days ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Harm M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marijke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis d, Owner at Hotel restaurant de Tjattel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago
Google Translation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Schiermonnikoog
0.1 mi away
Hotel Graaf Bernstorff
Hotel Graaf Bernstorff
#2 of 6 in Schiermonnikoog
139 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Duinzicht
Hotel Duinzicht
#3 of 6 in Schiermonnikoog
68 reviews
0.9 mi away
Strandappartementen Noderstraun
Strandappartementen Noderstraun
#5 of 6 in Schiermonnikoog
16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Hotel Waddenweelde
Hotel Waddenweelde
#1 of 1 in Pieterburen
134 reviews
16.1 mi away
Van Heeckeren Hotel
0.1 mi away
Ambrosijn
Ambrosijn
#2 of 5 in Schiermonnikoog
11 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel restaurant de Tjattel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel restaurant de Tjattel

Address: Langestreek 94, 9166 LG, Schiermonnikoog, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Schiermonnikoog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Schiermonnikoo...
Price Range: £54 - £426 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel restaurant de Tjattel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our **hotel restaurant is situated in the centre of the village on the beautiful island and National Park of Schiermonnikoog. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel. For a refreshing break on this peaceful Dutch island, Hotel de Tjattel has it all. This small hotel is comfortably equipped to provide you with an enjoyable stay on this welcoming island. Open all year round, the hotel has a restaurant where you can enjoy lunch and dinner or a fine selection from the special guest menu. You can also relax with a drink in the cafe or admire the natural surroundings from the sunny terrace. The surrounding area is perfect for walking or cycling, while the beautiful forests and beach will charm you with their natural beauty. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel restaurant de Tjattel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing