We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (84)
Filter reviews
84 results
Traveller rating
28
36
14
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
36
14
5
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 84 reviews
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

The rooms are very clean and a lot of space. We had a three room apartment, two bedrooms and a bathroom. Staff is very friendly. The food in the restaurant is average, not too bad however, just not that wow factor (you don't have to eat there if you don't want to). Breakfast is good.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2016

Very old fashioned beds! The wooden beds need to go please get rid of them. I know a bed is to sleep in, but you want to sit on your bed and the wooden side hurts, even with getting out ( and I'm quiet tall). It was raining on friday so a bit chilly, we decided to put the heating on. That company who placed the heating, made it the way that you can't hardly turn it around (no space for your fingers). When we put it on.....water run trough it but so loud it seems a washing machine is washing...so I guess maintenance never checks or evacuates air from this heating! The rooms seperate from the hotel they say it's with a balcony or terrace. We were in one of those but no balcony or terrace, we didn't ask for it it's in the brochure (?). Because it was raining, which can occur at all times it's good to have umbrella's in the room so you can go back and forward to the resurant without getting soaking wet? Bummer that they didn't have a big screen or a screen at all to watch the European championship soccer (wales-belgium)/( germany-italy). We shut the heating down at 20.30 hours because it still sounded like the wasmachine was washing (!!!) put on the tv for soccer, not even a clear view (are we really in the # 2 hotel of schiermonnikoog?). Could't sleep, when i turned over hit my arm against the wooden side (those beds really need to go), so i put the topmatras on the Floor and slept there! Water i the sink and bathtub doesn't run away easily! Breakfast simple but good. We are aware that this is nit 5 star hotel, but we didn't like it at all. Staff was friendly when we arrived, at breakfast they were somehow invisable. We decided to leave a day early and because we booked via booking.com we had to pay the whole stay, and because of that they took the amount of breakfast of € 20,- total (so that means €5,- per person per day). When the staff asked if everything was ok my husband asnwered with yes, he didn't want to have more negativity! We stayed in room # 42

Room Tip: Ask for a room without the oldfashioned wooden beds!
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Minic13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2016 via mobile

Oldfashioned hospitality in an oldfashioned hotel. Breakfast well taken care of, dinners very traditional as well. Rooms are, by now, seriously outdated. Rusty and rustic! It is comfortable, an easy walk to the beach. Very experienced staff.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank EppoSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2015

With a warm week approaching we wanted to have a getaway to the sea. We booked this hotel last minute for a 3n/4d stay. The hotel is just a few minutes walk from the main street of the island and about 15 minutes walk to the beach.

We had a spacious room in the main building on the top floor. The bed was comfortable, modern tv and a tea kettle. Breakfast was included - your typical Dutch breakfast. We didn't use the restaurant or bar since we found some nice places to try on the island.

With the hot weather, the room was very warm. Even though a fan was provided and we could open the doors to the balcony for a breeze, the bedding was more suited for autumn or winter and sleeping was uncomfortable. A safe is not provided and we really missed having a mini-fridge in the room to have some cold drinks or keeping some cold snacks.

The biggest irritation with the hotel was the ventaliation system on the roof of the main building. We kept hearing a constant hum and thought it was the exhaust hood from the restaurant and that it would stop when the kitchen closed. The noise did not stop and in the middle of the night it gets more pronounced since the ambient noise level is much quieter. I wandered about the hotel to see if it was just around our room this vent was situated and maybe we could be switched to a different room. However, these vents are situated all over the roof of the main building and are running 24/7.

Although a convenient location on the island between the main street and beach, because of the difficult sleep quality, I don't know if we would stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: if you have good hearing avoid top floor of main building. Exhaust vents running 24/7 can be annoying.
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 010_206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

IF I were Dutch, I could imagine this would be a place from childhood, where my family came every summer, complete with grandma and grandpa with long lazy days to this lovely island, either lounging at this cozy hotel, or at the wide beautiful beach a few minutes away. I did not have that experience being that I just arrived as an expat in Europe not so long ago, although we very much enjoyed our long weekend to Schiermoonikoog. This island is a nice escape from Amsterdam or other places that can make life busy. It is a narrow spit of land off the coast of Friesland dotted with a few farms, rolling old sand dunes covered with wind bent trees and occasional cyclists traversing to and from the one charming village of the island. The hotel lies just outside the village core, a really inviting structure that owns a very nice terrace fronted by a pseudo iron adorned canopy filled with comfortable pillow cladded chairs. The hotel is reached easily by convenient bus that connects travelers from the ferry and drops you right out front. We were greeted by a friendly young woman who we later learned was the daughter of the hotel proprietor. She guided us to our upstairs room in the main building. The room was a bit warm but quickly cooled once we opened the french doors of our balcony allowing us comfortable sea breezes. The family is also the hotel staff, sans a few other helpful employees which added to the at ease feeling to the hotel. We loved the restaurant and bar which still had it's traditional fittings and Dutch characteristics in tact, many of the walls covered by interesting artifacts and photos related to the island. Our room was adequate and the staff was very friendly to our Golden Retriever. Breakfast was fine, the coffee was freshly ground and even included unlimited access to an automated espresso machine. We enjoyed spending our time on the terrace, either watching other guests mostly from other parts of The Netherlands or reading a good book with legs draped over the wicker furniture all of this coinciding with small peaks at the towering light house that seemed to hold up the sky behind our hotel. We were sad to leave, but we will return someday.

Room Tip: pick a room in the main building
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews