We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“short weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Stayokay Terschelling
Baden-Baden, Germany
Level Contributor
232 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“short weekend”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Great place, central, well located,only 10 min.walking distance from the ferry station.Clean, inexpensive, good breakfast. Nice cosy bar. Lovely lounge. Friendly staff. Good value for money. Small terrace and the area is perfect for some photographs .

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cecilia1234cd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    36
    7
    1
    2
See reviews for
28
16
9
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Friendly local lady serving at the bar. We tried the local beers and cranberry wine. Simple breakfast enjoyed the tasty fresh bread from the local bakery. Must be fun in summer on the terrace area. Recommend going with a group of friends rather than a romantic couple! All the rooms are bunk beds, booked in for a twin bed private room but on arrival it was twin bunks on different walls. (Rooms have a prison cell feel.) Reception was closed they had left our check in/key at the bar so couldn't speak to anyone about it. Great location, 15min walk to the ferry.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spain
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Don´t expect too much from the room, but given the price of the hotel, it has some other good attributes: friendly staff, close location to West Terschelling, and a good terrace with bar to rest after a cycling tour with wonderful views of the bay and surroundings. It also has some facilities for children: a room with some games, and a playground next the front door. Also a bike parking.
Breakfast is also correct.
A good place to visit this wonderful island, without spending so much money.
Worth it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mln2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The StayOkay Terschelling is a large modern building with amazing panoramas across the water from the dining room and bar, and a large outdoor terrace which must be lovely in the summer. We were impressed with the size of the family room (2 bunks) with a lovely welcome card and flowers. The food was pretty good and the kids enjoyed the pool table and the air hockey in the games room. The bar is large and airy.

I decided to give a Very Good rating - rather than Excellent - because the wi-fi signal was too weak in our room to work. Also the location is about 1 km from the ferry terminal so unless you've come across with your car (which most people don't) then you need to organise yourself to get there. We walked, but then discovered that the hostel has a partnership with the bike hire company with the yellow banners directly opposite the ferry terminal, who will transfer your bags free of charge. We used this option on the return to the ferry and it worked well (drop baggage in cart at hostel by 9 am and hey presto it turns up at the bike hire shop by the ferry). We also found the service rather less friendly than at Stayokay Ameland (the guy running the bar and after-hours reception was not very cheerful or welcoming). Lastly there was a very rowdy group of drunk men staying at the hostel who kept us awake at 2 am. They had a long-term booking (perhaps linked to the Maritime Training Institute next door?) and we felt that the management should not have tolerated such disruptive behaviour.

But it was amazing value given the quality of rooms and food, and we wondered why more people from the UK have not 'discovered' these lovely islands.

Room Tip: Try and get a sea-facing room (south side of building). But beware of weak wi-fi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Africahand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limburg
Level Contributor
69 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

This is a nice hostel at a beautiful location. When you look out of the window you can see the Waddenzee. The personnel is very relaxed. The room was clean, the beds were good and the breakfast was average, but included! So you don't need to bring your own stuff if you don't want to :D The hostel has a nice athmosphere. If you compare it to the hotels on the island of Terschelling you have quite a good deal here. Of course it's less luxury, but you get real value for money!
We (travelled with my teenage son) stayed there March 2010.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmoony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

Rooms are very clean, heating in room is efficient, 4single beds in room, wifi is free but not that geat very slow, scenery on the island is fantastic, use bicycle to travel on the island. I realy enjoyed it.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pottie69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barcelona
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2009

This is the best young hostel I have ever been. It's located in a quite area with a beautiful view over the sea. I recomend to rent a bike when you get the island. The rent a bike shop will carry your baggage directly to the hostel while you can relaxed ride to it.

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jgilrincon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West-Terschelling
0.3 mi away
WestCord Hotel Schylge
WestCord Hotel Schylge
#1 of 6 in West-Terschelling
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bornholm
Hotel Bornholm
#3 of 6 in West-Terschelling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
6.1 mi away
Appartementenhotel Tjermelan
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
WestCord ApartHotel Boschrijck
WestCord ApartHotel Boschrijck
#3 of 10 in Terschelling
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel de Walvisvaarder
8.6 mi away
Westcord Strandhotel Seeduyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stayokay Terschelling? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stayokay Terschelling

Property: Stayokay Terschelling
Address: 't Land 2, 8881 GA West-Terschelling, Terschelling, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Terschelling > West-Terschelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in West-Terschelling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Stayokay Terschelling 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stayokay Terschelling has a beautiful location on the top of a dune. Sitting in the hostel’s restaurant or bar, you are treated to a splendid view of the famous shallows of the Wadden! The ferry to the mainland docks within walking distance of the hostel, at the village of West-Terschelling. This seaport village is famous for its pretty commandeurswoningen (‘captain’s homes’), Lutine cannons and the Brandaris lighthouse. Children can have hours of fun on the equipment in the outdoor playground. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Stayokay Terschelling reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stayokay Terschelling The Netherlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing