We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
WestCord Hotel Schylge
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Superb hotel!”
Reviewed 24 June 2012

This is a lovely hotel, with spacious rooms and well designed facilities - I could not fault the room, with tea/coffee making, modern TV, balcony, luxurious bedding and bathroom with full bath.

Breakfast was included and this was in the terrace area overlooking the bay and the harbour - and the service was exceptionally friendly.

As well, there was an indoor heated swimming pool and use of that was included in the room cost.

I must say that this is one of the nicest hotels - and one that would work for a couple, especially for a celebration. Just being there, made me feel special.

Room Tip: Of course, rooms with a view across the bay are popular, but I had a room overlooking some woods and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TWBuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    184
    157
    32
    10
    2
See reviews for
71
221
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed here for two nights on business. Very at a very quiet time of year for the island. The we ate at the hotel on 1 night which was very nice. Breakfast was very good with fresh bread hams cheese etc. I have nothing bad to say but have to rate my stay based on value for money.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dots_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limburg
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 February 2012

We stayed a long weekend in the Westcord Hotel Schylge on the island of Terschelling.
This hotel is really outstanding. Super service. Excellent food. Super location on the Waddenzee. The rooms are spacious and beautifully decorated. The bed was wonderful (wanted to take it home with me!). It's situated close to the village of West-Terschelling (10 mins. walk). The hotel is well worth the 4* rating!!!
A few days after we got home, we received a card in the mail "greetings from Terschelling" and they thanked us for our stay. We never experienced such good service. We strongly recommend this hotel :D

Room Tip: All the rooms are spacious and clean. If you wish an even more luxury room, choose one of the penth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cmoony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Soesterberg, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2011

We booked a Wellness package, in the middle of October, on this North Atlantic island. We expected the weather would keep us in, thus we especially wanted a hotel with enough interest indoors to keep us comfy for a weekend getaway. This is the perfect spot. The package included breakfast both days, dinner on our second night, full free use of the sauna and steambath area, a free session in the sunbed and a 40 minute massage by a trained masseuse. We had the use of a bathrobe and slippers as well. In the hotel is free internet, a bar, comfy sitting areas, a computer area, a rooftop sun deck, and a terrace with sea view. And this place delivers on all counts. They gave us a nice wellness gift too.

We think there has been a well thought out refit in the recent past. No clue when, but it is tasteful and attractive. High end without pretension, comfy and sophisticated at the same time, we were really surprised that even low season, everything was clean, ordered, the food delicious, the bread baked on site and to die for, the staff well trained, courteous and well groomed. They earn their stars.

Just a couple of things:
The bed pillows are needing a rethink. and there are no extra pillows nor blankets that we could find...
The bath slippers were really uncomfortable: I would gladly pay a bit for nicer ones- that didn't cut between the toes and were not dangerously slippery when wet.
The footbath in the sauna was cold.
Our harshest complaint is how they scheduled our massages- back to back Sunday morning at 9 am. With breakfast ending at 1030 and check out by 1100, having 80 minutes blocked out for massages made the morning a bit more rushed, busy and certainly earlier than we would have planned. We don't have the solution but it was annoying.

So, as you see there was not much to complain about. We are looking forward to using other Westcord hotels if this is the common standard.

Room Tip: rooms facing the harbor have a lovely view from the balcony but the landside rooms are cheaper and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JadeHouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RW
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

The hotel Schylge hasn't got the looks from the outside, but inside the reception, restaurants and the family room are spacious and very nicely decorated.
We had a wonderful long Easter weekend, with beautiful weather. The breakfast buffet is okay, dinner was nice.
The hotel staff is very accomodating, looking for immediate solutions.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank defreule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hattem
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2010

This is a luxury hotel, but the rooms are quite small for the prices they charge. Moreover for 3 persons, they only could afford one piece of soap. Plastic cups in badroom. That is not what you would expect at this level. You feel that they are trying to squeeze money from you: internet 5 euro, sauna 8 euro. This should be for free. The reception was charging us for a much higher price than we booked for on internet. They were too haughty to apologize.
he restaurant was good though, with very friendly service.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MargrietH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wageningen
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2010

The hotel is located within the walking distance from West-Terschelling. A nice and well appointed room. Enjoyable leisure facilities like bowling, indoor swimming pool, sauna and solarium. Cosy restaurant. Friendly and informative staff.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bufje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West-Terschelling
2.6 mi away
Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee
Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee
#2 of 6 in West-Terschelling
579 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bornholm
Hotel Bornholm
#3 of 6 in West-Terschelling
53 reviews
0.3 mi away
WestCord ApartHotel Boschrijck
WestCord ApartHotel Boschrijck
#3 of 10 in Terschelling
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Nap
Hotel Nap
#5 of 6 in West-Terschelling
67 reviews
4.6 mi away
Hotel de Walvisvaarder
8.3 mi away
Westcord Strandhotel Seeduyn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WestCord Hotel Schylge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WestCord Hotel Schylge

Property: WestCord Hotel Schylge
Address: Burgemeester van Heusdenweg 37, 8881 ED West-Terschelling, Terschelling, The Netherlands (Formerly Golden Tulip)
Region: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Terschelling > West-Terschelling
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in West-Terschelling
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — WestCord Hotel Schylge 4*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Schylge (4-stars) is in the lively harbour of the village West-Terschelling and has a wonderful view over the Wadden sea. The hotel views are dramatically influenced by the continuous movement of the sea and tidal changes. Hotel Schylge offers luxury and comfort. Restaurant 'Op West', one of the best on the island is led by star decorated chef Ton van Scheppingen. Within a short walk along the harbour you will find yourself in the charming village of West. Walking and cycle paths to the beach, woods and sea begin from both the front and back of the hotel. In the last few years Hotel Schylge has been largely renovated. The rooms have a luxurious designer feel but at the same time still manage to capture the unmistakable island feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your WestCord Hotel Schylge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip West-Terschelling
West-Terschelling Golden Tulip
WestCord Hotel Schylge Terschelling, The Netherlands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing