We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hotel Bornholm(West-Terschelling)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Resort Bungalows Dellewal(West-Terschelling)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
WestCord Hotel Schylge(West-Terschelling)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Nap(West-Terschelling)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Oepkes(West-Terschelling)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vlierijck(Vlieland)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (598)
Filter reviews
598 results
Traveller rating
200
262
108
22
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
200
262
108
22
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvery nice hotelsea viewthe ground flooraan zeethree nightssitting areafair pricewater pressureswimming poolbike ridehotel restaurant isbeautiful locationspacious roomrent bikesdunesbussauna
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 598 reviews
Reviewed 6 July 2013

We stayed here during the Orerol festival and as a result the prices were greatly inflated. We paid approximately $280 per night for a ground floor standard room. Unfortunately the couple we were traveling with made the arrangements without telling us about the exorbitant prices and so we were shocked with the price especially since what we got was equivalent to a Travel Lodge in Canada. First of all, there is no parking lot unless you arrive by bicycle. Guests with vehicles must park approximately a half a kilometre away in a public parking lot. Our room which was supposed to have an ocean view, looked out on to a weedy sand dune not the sea. The wind whistled constantly through our door and when we asked at the desk, they told us to roll up a towel and tuck it at the bottom of the door. The room was very warm and there was no thermostat to control it. The bathroom had very poor lighting and our shower did not drain properly (ie after taking a shower in the evening, there was still water in the stall the next morning). Our room was adequately clean when we booked in but housekeeping on the second day was almost non-existent. They made the bed but that was it. No fresh towels, no bathroom clean-up etc. All this for $280 a night! There was a sauna and a pool but during this very busy time, the management decided to have the sauna renovated making it difficult to gain access to the pool. The hotel management had made arrangements with another hotel (quite a distance away) to use their sauna but you had to get yourself there. That was just plain ludicrous. The breakfast provided was very nice but certainly not worth the price of the room. In fairness, we would never have booked the this hotel at their inflated price during the Orerol festival, that was our companions' choice however, I would not have paid their normal price of approximately $186 Canadian at any time. I have reviewed several other hotels and this is the first time I have felt the need to give negative feedback.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank donna b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NielsSmit, General Manager at Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2013

Dear Madam, thank you for your review regading your stay at Sandton Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee during Oerol. It is always good to hear how guest experience our hotel, even if it is not at their satisfaction. We can learn from guests' reviews and see if there are possibilities we, as a hotel, can adjust our service.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

the location is great, typical Dutch sea and dunes scenery,an endless beach, excellent rental bikes and a nice beach cafe down on the beach. The hotel is big for Dutch standards, it has a somewhat Cape Cod feeling. Rooms are spacious, beds are typically Dutch, no king size, no queens, but small and narrow beds. However sleeping is a joy when you have a room on the sea side and you can leave the wind and the sound of the waves in.
Bathroom is all right, separate shower, rather big bath and there is a lot of place to put your stuff. The balcony is small with a too high wall that takes your view on the sea away when you sit.
Breakfast offers you Frisian sugar bread and everything you find on a Dutch breakfast table, including ham/eggs/cheese/, as well as the famous island made cranberry juice.
So far so good, but....then there is the nuisance of the internet connection; it is not there.
it is a general problem on the ' whole' island but this hotel which is the best around should be able to do something about it. Staff shows the typical ' I can' t help it, so find yourself a solution' attitude, client care is a development point, but apparently this is the standard way the people from the North of Holland deal with you (and each other). That's a pity for this otherwise nice hotel. Price/quality is just about all right. Recommendation to the hotel: Fix the internet problem!

Room Tip: book a room with sea view
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank orangeAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NielsSmit, General Manager at Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear sir,
Thank you for your review. During the last week we have had many complaints about the internet we normally have not received. We have asked the provider of the WiFi at Sandton Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee to investigate what is the problem and to find a solution for the problem. It appaers to be the problem during times that a lot of guest want to use the WiFi (during the morning at breakfasttime and in the evening).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Stayed in a family apartment for 4 with sea view for a long weekend.
The hotel is undoubtedly situated in a unique position.The apartment is large,2 bedrooms on the 2nd floor, a large living room on the 3rd floor with 2 small balconies each with 3 chairs(?). You have to hold the door open with a chair.
The living room has been furnished without any fantasy, but the view is great.
"4 stars and they deserve every", is what a customer on TA wrote. Well...stains in a chair, side table and a ceiling lamp chipped.Carpet not clean, dogs are allowed !The bathroom a bit tight for 4, but there is an extra shower upstairs. The shower curtain in the bath not clean!!! Enough towels,etc. Bedrooms very standard, beds okay, pillows could be renewed, bedroom curtain not clean, a very small wardrobe of which 1 door cannot be opened ,since the bedside table is next to it. And worst of all NOISY. Very thin walls. We had a family with noisy children and a barking dog next door and were quite upset. Reception offered us an apartment above the entrance, no sea view, but we saw lots of children there as well.
No AC not needed this summer, but bedroom no 2 only has a vent, no window you can open.
Swimming pool very small and when we tried to go for a swim, it was swarmed with children with inflatables in the water, so no chance of swimming. Sauna okay, but only a few chairs to relax on in the pool area and taken by the parents,the hotel obviously caters for(grand) parents with young children in the weekends.
One lift, also for staff with trolleys in the morning!
The food in the restaurant ok.
Breakfast good, a wide choice.
Some staff friendly, most very uninterested. Reception closes at 10 pm, and so does the bar.

We spent our honeymoon at this hotel, 40 years ago, when it was still a friendly, simple place.
We returned to that place to celebrate our anniversary and had hoped for" a unique experience", the Sandton's slogan,but it was a disappointment.
We will not return. And by the way, the reception knew it was our 40th anniversary and that we had come especially to this hotel because of that. A card, or something in the apartment would have been something a true 4star hotel would have understood.

Room Tip: If not necessary avoid the weekend!
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank haro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NielsSmit, General Manager at Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2013

Dear Mr Haro,
Thank you for your review and we apologize for the inconvienences during your stay at Sandton Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee. With your responds, we can update our hotelservices and prove to you that we are a hotel for all guests; from the families to singles and couples.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

A wonderful place to visit at the Wadden Island Terschelling in The Netherlands, A four star hotel which deserve every star. For people who aren't looking for the busy and classical tourist industry. The hotel and the restaurant have both high standards. If you love the sea and the dunes it's an ideal place to stay. Surrounded by mainly nature. For you mobility a bike is highly recommended and you will have a very good time.
It's a very price worthy place.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fredkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NielsSmit, General Manager at Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Dear Mr Kok,
Thank you for your wonderfull review regarding your stay at Sandton Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee last weekend. We hope to welcome you back in the near future at our hotel on Terschelling.
Best regards, Niels Smit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

we stayed 2 nights in the hotel paal 8 and we were very content. It's only a short walk to the beach. The staff is very friendly and breakfast is in buffet and the choise is great! There is also welness in the hotel. The rooms are very spacious and the beds comfortables. We would recommand this hotel!

Room Tip: there are rooms available with sea vieuw
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ria h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NielsSmit, General Manager at Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2013

Dear Ria, thank you for your great review on Tripadvisor regarding your stay at Sandton Paal 8 Hotel aan Zee. It is always nice to read the experiences of guests. We hope to welcome you soon back at our hotel. Best regards, on behalf of all staffmembers, Niels Smit

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews