We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bird watching on the veranda”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wolvega
Certificate of Excellence
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bird watching on the veranda”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

Here for the fifth time since 2006 This time two couples here for leisure trip again tomorrow is the MotoGP at Assen. I'm loathe to review this place as it is a little gem handy for a nice run into TT Assen tomorrow through the National Park and may compromise future availability.
This hotel is spacious, and comfortable with good food. Rooms are large and clean. If you have an even number room you have a great view over the lake. or all have a private verandah. Great crested grebe on the lake today. Breakfast and dinner very good.The bar is very comfortable and drinks are fairly priced. Service typical Dutch efficiency, and exemplary. There is free WiFi. From a purely selfish view I hope this review does not compromise availably in future years.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    55
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
18
53
2
37
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2013

We spent three nights in this hotel on a choir trip. The room was very spacious and clean. The bathroom was particularly good with full shower and a big bath.

The breakfasts were excellent and we had one buffet dinner which was also very good. The wines were reasonably priced

I couldn't fault this hotel as a place to stay for a few days

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are best as they overlook a lake that has lots of birdlife
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPALTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed here very recently (Sept 2013) with a large group attending a business event in Emmeloord, and had stayed here 4 years previously so knew it was good. This hotel is spacious, and comfortable with good food (but not too expensive). Rooms are large and most or all have a private verandah. Watch out for mosquitos if your room overlooks the water. Generally this was a good base for a business group, and breakfast and dinner was very good on all days. The bar is very comfortable and drinks not outrageous. Sometimes the service was a little brusque at dinner when our group was ordering, but nothing major; probably due to misunderstandings with the ordering. There is free WiFi all through the hotel, which is great, and there is plenty of parking.

Room Tip: Some rooms do not have tea and coffee making facilities, so ask if you want this. Avoid leaving your...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Coast NSW
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

This was a great 1 night stop my sister and i found when we followed a hotel sign on the A32 coming from Giethoorn.
When enquiring about the prices we were told they had a last minute/standby special. We paid 80Euro for a luxury room and breakfast was included.
The room was large, clean, comfortable. We were on the ground floor facing the lake. The bathroom was huge and included a separate shower and a big bath, great for a long soak.
We ate at the onsite restaurant, the service was exceptional and the food was fabulous and we thought the prices were reasonable.
We were disappointed with the breakfast buffet. There was not a great choice of cereals, the pancakes were never refilled the whole time we were there and the bacon and eggs seemed to have been sitting there too long.
The reception staff for both check in and out were very pleasant and friendly.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2013

I travelled to Wolvega last week for a business trip and i had to spend 4 days in this hotel. If you take into account that is a little remoted, all the other sound perfect. The rooms are really spacious and you can play football! If you are lucky enough end you have an even number of room (122, 124 etc.) then you also have a wonderful view on the river. Breakfast was sufficient enough. There was variety of products; however it was not something special. Main weakness was the lack of sweeties. Lunch and dinner buffet were excellent. I would definitely recommend it as well if you are a fan of ice skating as there is a stadium just 10 minutes away!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NL
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

The staff was amazing and so was our room. We booked it in october 2012 for 1 night for a family visit and had the perfect stay. The ambiance is to die for and you are really taken care of by the staff. We had a buffet diner, which I really recommend, and it was to a very high standard same as the breakfast the next morning, this was even better and the choice is really overwhelming. The room was the size of a ballroom, that big!! The bed was at least king size and it had everything you which to find in your hotel room. The only negative thing I have is that van der Valk has 140 x 90 cm duvets which I find really odd. I really hope they will take in consideration that people nowadays are longer, (and sometimes even) bigger and to a great certainty have llits-jumeaux's at home!! But except this minor detail the hotel is amazing and I could recommend this hotel to anyone who is considering to stay here. Just book it it is a real value for money. Enjoy your stay.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JMHWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noordwijk, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

The room was very good, very big and spacious. It was quit. The breakfast was very good, with a lot of choice. I will come back!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sylvia048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wolvega
17.0 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Sneek
24.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Zwolle
9.2 mi away
Hotel de Harmonie
Hotel de Harmonie
#1 of 3 in Giethoorn
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.6 mi away
Art & Wellness Hotel Huis ten Wolde
0.9 mi away
Hotel Holland Inn Wolvega
18.9 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Spier-Dwingeloo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen
Address: Atalanta 10, 8472 CA, Wolvega, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Friesland Province > Wolvega
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Wolvega
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen 4*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Wolvega-Heerenveen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing