We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The small rooms...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Fletcher Hotel Restaurant Het Veluwse Bos
Ranked #3 of 3 Beekbergen B&B and Inns
Riga, Latvia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The small rooms...”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

If you book the standard room in this hotel there is a big risk that you get a very small room underneath the roof with a shower in which you cannot standup with walls so thin that you can hear your neighbours speak and a small bed.
Don't book this hotel via BONGO because for BONGO this is considered as normal (they confirmed after my complaint).

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    40
    50
    27
    13
See reviews for
9
88
5
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Port Townsend, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2014

from the moment I entered the hotel I felt amazed with everything. They went above and beyond to make sure our stay was the best! I highly recommend the Homewood suites! If you stay in Seattle, stay here!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jamillahd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Den Haag
Level Contributor
114 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed in this hotel for two nights in November 2013, not expecting too much having read some of the other reviews. Our goal was to visit the Kroller-Muller Museum in the Hoge Veluwe National Park which houses a large collection of paintings by Van Gogh amongst others. We don't drive, and wanted to access the park by public transport. The journey took us about an hour each way and necessitated taking a bus into Apeldoorn, and then changing again at the rotonde (roundabout) near to Hoenderloo. I have to say it is far easier just to stay in Hoenderloo itself, since the entrance to the park is then only a four minute walk away! However, we had vouchers from the Dutch drugstore Kruidvat which gave us two nights at the hotel for a total of 45 Euros so that couldn't really be beaten!

We did not arrive until 9pm when it was very dark, but the hotel looked welcoming with lanterns on the tables in the garden. Check in is open until 11pm which is not the case in all Dutch hotels!
Room 208 was up two flights of stairs, as the hotel did not seem to have a lift of any sort. The room was of average European size, i.e would look quite small if you are used to American sized rooms. As is common in the Netherlands and Germany the double bed consisted of two singles side by side but joined together, and two single duvets. Having lived here for a couple of years, I personally like that arrangement as you don't fight over the duvet!

The bathroom was small, with just a shower. What we did not like was that there was a frosted glass door between the bedroom and the bathroom which basically did not leave a lot to the imagination even if you left the light off whilst going to the loo! The room was not supplied with a hair drier, and there was only a baisc all in one shampoo/shower gel bottle.

The beds proved comfy and the free wifi worked fine once you'd found out how to get into it!

We didn't try the breakfast or diner as this wasn't included in our vouchers and there were pplenty of other cheaper places to eat nearby even in November. However we did try the bar and found the service to be friendly. There was a nice selection of magazines to browse through if you can speak Dutch.

Access to the National Park would be simple if you have your own car or bike, and the hotel does rent out normal and electric bikes too.

Room Tip: The rooms with bath may offer a larger bathroom if that is of importance but check with the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nettyporthole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013 via mobile

Het Veluwse Bos is a rather nice hotel. Our room (107) was fine, with a nice bathroom. You can park your car for free at the private parking space next to the hotel. The hotel staff is not unfriendly, but a bit impersonal. A few points that can be improved: the matresses are not firm (but we had a good night sleep nonetheless), the shower turns hotter or colder sometimes and in the shower is a rather sharp edge on a part of the floor. Sleeping in may be a challenge; the hotel is a bit noisy, you can clearly hear tv's from other rooms or hear people depart. All in all: good for a night (or a few), but don't expect too much.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jan8Jer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
162 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

OK atmosphere lobby and friendly but rather unexperienced staff who had a hard time managing the place which was not busy at all. Drinks were OK, snacks were OK, the bill in the end was OK. We wanted to have dinner, but the menu was too limited with nothing of our liking so we didn't stay. One note: the place is suffering from a lot of flies and wasps in the summer, inside and outside.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pacifico W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carshalton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2013

The room, in the annexe, was very small, barely enough space to walk round the bed, and insufficient storage for clothes.
It was stuffy, even in the cool weather in May, and with the heating off.
The bathroom was under the eaves, and there was no proper shower. Kneeling in the bath is not a serious option. The WC was directly opposite, and in touching distance, of the not-very-opaque glass door. I was not sharing the room fortunately, but not everyone wants to use this appliance in full view of anyone else. The cold water tap ran in a pathetic dribble, not even enough to clean teeth.
The bar and restaurant were quite reasonable, and the breakfast menu was varied, with excellent coffee from the machine.

Room Tip: Avoid the annexe like the plague.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Beekbergen hotels

Laag Zuthem, Overijssel, Netherlands
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We went to this restaurant to have a family christmas diner. It had 5 courses, but 3 of them were not good. Luckily the main cours was very nice. That was a dish with wild deer. The rest of the course was average and the risotto was very bad!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Beekbergen
1.9 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Beekbergen-Apeldoorn
2.4 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Apeldoorn - de Cantharel
0.1 mi away
Hotel-Restaurant de Smittenberg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Princess Hotel de Wipselberg
3.9 mi away
Fletcher Hotel Restaurant Victoria-Hoenderloo
4.2 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Apeldoorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fletcher Hotel Restaurant Het Veluwse Bos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fletcher Hotel Restaurant Het Veluwse Bos

Property: Fletcher Hotel Restaurant Het Veluwse Bos
Address: Arnhemseweg 520, 7361 CN Beekbergen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Beekbergen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Beekbergen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Fletcher Hotel Restaurant Het Veluwse Bos 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fletcher Hotel is located on the edge of Beekbergen in the peaceful, forest-rich Veluwe. This area is ideal for cycling, walking and horse riding. The hotel is completely renovated, and each of the rooms are featured with laminate floors, a flat-screen TV and a modern bathroom. The hotel serves a buffet breakfast every morning. The restaurant serves 3-course menus and a la carte dishes of French cuisine in an informal setting. Guests can also enjoy a drink on the terrace or play a game of billiards in the cozy bar. Apeldoorn, featuring Apenheul Primate Park and Paleis Het Loo, is a 15-minute drive from Fletcher Hotel het Veluwse Bos. National Park Hoge Veluwe and the Kroller-Muller Museum are a 25 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Fletcher Hotel Restaurant Het Veluwse Bos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing