We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Herberg de Gouden Leeuw
Ranked #1 of 1 Bronkhorst B&B and Inns
Reviewed 10 February 2013

Nice place to stay for the one night. The surroundings are really beautiful and peaceful.
The room was stunning (suite) and clean. No tea/coffee amenities in the room though.
The bathroom was nice but needed some maintenance as the shower water leaked on to the floor and the jacuzzi slightly broken (they had used duct tape to fix the handles). Bathroom (toilet/shower) was clean but unfortunately the Jacuzzi WAS NOT clean at all! Big disappointment.
In the morning my husband had arranged for us to get a lovely breakfast in bed which was great!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laila d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (158)
There are newer reviews for Herberg de Gouden Leeuw
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 16 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 25 October 2012

We spent one night in this delightful hotel and we were very satisfied with the service, the staff and the rooms. The old style of the house is very well integrated to the modern comfort of today. This hotel and also the litlle town of Bronkhorst have their own charm and sometimes we thought to be on a little time travel to the middle age. A romantic place which you cannot find very often.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Atticus04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

If only the manager wasn't so arrogant this could have been an amazing experience. First the good part - the room and decor were beautiful. Our dinner and breakfast were delicious. Some of the staff were genuinely friendly and helpful.
Now the bad part. We were travelling with my brother and his Dutch wife, so they had made the booking online and printed out email confirmations of the room types, etc. When we checked in we were told by a very rude staff member that there was only 1 room for us. The printed email which we had brought with us clearly stated we had 2 rooms. He directed us to the manager. The manager also said that he only had 1 room for us, and even when he was shown the printed email and confirmation for 2 rooms, he still argued and said there was nothing he could do.
We stood firm and refused to back down. The manager had a temper tantrum and stormed out of the office. After a couple of minutes he returned and said we could have 2 rooms.
When we were given the keys to both rooms, for 1 of the rooms we were given the spare key, and told they had "lost" the original key. When we got to our room there was a note attached to the door. It turns out that other people had already checked in to our room, but staff had removed their bags and taken them to reception, with the note on the door telling them not to enter the room but to come to reception, hand in their key, and they would be taken to another room. There was a wedding booked for that evening, so we believe that they had overbooked the venue.
When we went to the restaurant that night for dinner we were given the original key to our room that they had "found", and we handed over the spare key we were originally given.
I would suggest that anyone interested in staying here bring a printed copy of their booking and be prepared to stand your ground with management if they try to tell you that you have made a mistake.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randall K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2012

Very indifferent staff. Sloppy reception - we were told our room would not be ready until 3 pm. When we got back at 3 pm. the room was still not ready. Our room was in an annexe, no tea/coffee making facilities, no internal telephone and no information re: hotel or surroundings available whatsoever. I am a Dutch national and the last thing I want to do is run my own country down, but hotel does not encourage anyone to return to it for a second visit. Staff definitely need proper training.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Binnenweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2011

Amazingly in this town there are 4 jewelry shops and a fashion shop, several overpriced restaurants and no Food or necessities shop...
The Hotel is right in the Center of this 4 street town. It's very charming and takes you into another world.
Our room was vintage decorated and average as many said before. Nothing special for this price although the official price is 109 Eur/Comfort bedroom
The good:
- Friendly staff
- Clean room
- Interesting surroundings
- Free parking
- Interesting restaurant with a mixture of vintage and glamour separated by the bar
- Perfect for taking pictures and a weekend break

The bad:
- Restaurant prices are way too high and the food is average at most
- Not a place to stay more than 1-2 days

Room Tip: Take all that is necessary before getting into this town Prices for both parts of the restaurant ar...
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B0_BGa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Very recommendable hotel for just a nice short break. Excellent location. We stayed in the annex, which is published to be rated 4 stars. I think it is 3 star, too much furniture and some of the lights are broken. We had an extremely spatious bathroom, alsmost as big as the sleeping room, but the bathroom was poorly equiped.
Sitting in the bar or restaurant was a pleasure. The staff is very friendly, swift in service and sitting near the fireplace is very cosy during a cold day. We liked the dinner. All in all we spent less than E400 for a two day stay, including a 4 course game&wine loaded dinner.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveledtoomuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ludo V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bronkhorst
3.6 mi away
Inntel Hotels Resort Zutphen
4.4 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen
1.3 mi away
Hotel Het Oude Postkantoor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Kasteel Engelenburg
Kasteel Engelenburg
#1 of 2 in Brummen
288 reviews
4.4 mi away
Polysport
Polysport
#1 of 1 in Dieren
34 reviews
8.7 mi away
Sandton Hotel De Roskam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Herberg de Gouden Leeuw? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herberg de Gouden Leeuw

Address: Bovenstraat 2, 7226 LM Bronkhorst, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Bronkhorst
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bronkhorst
Price Range: £54 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Herberg de Gouden Leeuw 3.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Herberg de Gouden Leeuw reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing