We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautifull location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kasteel Engelenburg
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brummen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 July 2012

The surroundings as well as the location is beautifull.
We have spend here 2 lunches and 1 dinner in the last 12 months.
And I regret to have to say that the quality is not constant.One dinner and 1 lunch was excellent however the lunch we enjoyed the last time could be better. The waitress must have been a trainee although this was mentioned/indicated. When asked for any wine recommendations she knew nothing which is not a problem when you are a trainee but please ask for the sommelier. Service was slow. As it was quite hot they had opened the doors/windows so plenty of flies inside.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hetsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

87 - 93 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2012

Class hotel with very friendly staff. Surroundings like a park. Lot's of things to do: ask for a special car trip with the owners' wife.
Food is good, drinks even better. Wine cellar and whiskey of many kinds.
Value for money!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gurt65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Lovely in a very old-fashioned way. Rooms are comfortable and well-furnished - but not glamorous. Restaurant is a delightful atrium overlooking the gardens and food top-quality. This is a great place for older people who want to remember the way hotels and restaurants used to be - but also like modern amenities like big rain showers, mini-bars and fresh clean food.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amsterdametje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2012

OK not the cheapest but I promise you will enjoy the ambiance of the rooms, the bar, lounge and dining area. Very well kept, maintained and decorated. But also all staff are friendly and helpful. Run like a family hotel. Everything is first class here. Breakfast better than home. Fantastic bicycle opportunities to small villages and national forest The Veluwe. I really enjoyed my stay and I certainly will come back!

Room Tip: any room is wonderful. I saw 2 and each room is in different colonial style.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bigos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2012

This place has an incredible colonial ambiance, something that has been constructed (and inherited) with attention to detail. Not only is the service the best I've had in the Netherlands, people truly make sure that you are enjoying your stay and are genuinely interested in telling the history of the place and it's ties to South Africa. The rooms are well decorated and tastefully luxurious. Same goes for the excellent whisky lounge and the amazing restaurant. We first had booked a table for the first night, but it was so good we ate there the second night as well. See my review for restaurant Engelenburg separately. Location is perfect for exploring the Hoge Veluwe national park and the city of Arnhem.

Room Tip: We stayed at the colonial building which has the rooms numbered in 200s. Very nice place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LassiK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Stayed at kasteel Engelenburg for a couple of days. Total BLISS. Beautiful setting, stunning old castle in magnificent grounds, lovely golf course. The suite that we stayed in was very spacious and comfortable, even had the pleasure of a jacuzzi!! Most relaxing. Dinner, which comprised of a 5 course Set menu, was simply divine, each plate was a master piece and heaven to the taste buds. Compliments to the chef and his team once again. To top it all off, the staff are all so very pleasant, kind and compassionate. Felt very special at all times. Excellent service throughout. Thank you to Johan Agricola and his wonderful team for a most memorable stay. See you soon and be rest assured we will tell all to come and visit your exquisite property.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Grommitlola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Castle in the woods, giving you that instant relaxed princessy feeling.
Good restaurant with beautiful view, excellent staff, high ceilings and candeliers.
Great beds too.
Total indulgence: the 'serre suite' - you have your own outside jacuzzi facing the woods.

Room Tip: serre suite, room 315 - jacuzzi outside on your own private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hedoniaHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brummen
15.2 mi away
Hotel de Sterrenberg
Hotel de Sterrenberg
#1 of 3 in Otterlo
282 reviews
11.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Apeldoorn - de Cantharel
14.7 mi away
Hotel de Echoput
Hotel de Echoput
#2 of 7 in Apeldoorn
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Het Oude Postkantoor
4.2 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen
21 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Holthurnsche Hof
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasteel Engelenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasteel Engelenburg

Address: Eerbeekseweg 6, 6971 LB Brummen, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Brummen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brummen
Price Range: £116 - £296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasteel Engelenburg 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kasteel Engelenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing