We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impressive service, great value, loved the stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kasteel Engelenburg

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Kasteel Engelenburg
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brummen
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
439 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 237 helpful votes
“Impressive service, great value, loved the stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012 via mobile

Firstly, i have to say that we got a groupon deal for the stay. Two nights for two incl breakfast and six course dinner on the first night and all of this for 260 eur. A real steal!

We stayed in room 404 which is on the ground floor facing the yard. The room has high ceilings so at first sight it has a bit cold feeling. But it was large with very nice big bathroom with both shower and a bath tub. Very comfy soft beds. Free wifi in all the rooms and tea/coffee facilities with very nice bisquits and fresh fruit every day. My recommendation would be to aim for a room facing the garden where it is quieter and you also have seating outside.

The dinner we had was seriously impressive. Beautifully presented with great flavors - real high cousine. But what must be mentioned is the service that was just amazing. Friendly, attentive and personal but not too much that it would bother you. One of the waiters even remembered what we drink for breakfast incl the type of tea! I believe the 5 course dinner cost 75 eur which is good value for what you are getting. The drinks are not cheap and the wine has a healthy mark up, but they have to earn the money somewhere i guess.

The breakfast is small but has all the things one would need incl selection of fresh juices and fresh fruits.

The nine holes golf course costs 32 eur and is pleasant to play.

Overall great experience and we would love to come back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dafne07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

255 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    189
    56
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
146
4
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NL
Level Contributor
38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2012

If you live in one of the big cities in NL, life is allways busy. sometimes you need a break, but you don't have much time to travel. But did you know that in just 1,5 h drive you are in a total different surrounding, with a total different way of living? Dont'hurry, don't worry. Go back in time, but keep the luxury of today like flatscreen tv and wi-fi. We stayed for just 1 night in the serre suite, which has a huge living room in a beautifull conservatory. In the small garden is a jacuzzi. When I called to make the reservation, they kindly informed me we could have the "last minute offer", so a fabulous 4-course dinner was free. We walked the beautifull garden, relaxed, and returned home next day like we had been on a weeklong holiday.

Room Tip: just spoil yourself and book the serre suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gerdaNl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
waasmunster
Level Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

At nearly 200km. away from home, on 55 ha of very dence woods and grass, we met the owner of this fantastic restored castle in a mix of English and African style. Not only the facility looked very well maintained, the gardens were hiding a lot of different herbacious. But this was only the start of a fantastic weekend. The lounge, with his 350 different malt whiskies, are the perfect start of a culinary discovery. Good looking and tasting plates with a varied mix of African wines make you feel far away, as if the wild animals will come out of the forenst any moment (the more wine you taste, the closer comes this feeling). A closing the evening malt makes the night shorter in the Kaapse house rooms... As experienced golfres we were nicely surprised by the very well maintained courses with his good rolling greens. Wine tasting in the cellar or getting there with an oldtimer (+300 cars on saturday) will be for next time!!!

Room Tip: Kaapse huis is THE nearest to the castle
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank piepenolleken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
156 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights while touring Holland. We wanted a special hotel and not the usual corporate rooms. The staff were wonderful, both with the check-in and the general service. The rooms are spacious and feel luxurious. We loved the tiles in the bathroom! :) We hired bikes from the hotel and rode for hours around the Brummen area.
We also had dinner at the restaurant one night and it was good without being outstanding. We chose to sit outside in a more casual environment amid the creek and the many birds. Lovely ambience.
Breakfast was the usual buffet breakfast.It is very hard not to put on a decent breakfast.

Room Tip: The hotel is attached to a golf course with an clubhouse/resort so it does attract a lot of people d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RobertKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
206 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

We were delighted with what we found when we checked into Kasteel Engelenburg. The staff escorted us directly to our room. We had made dinner reservations in advance but we arrived a bit late. This is was not a problem. The staff is very professional, courteous and helpful. We felt like honored guests in someone's home. The food was five star. The South African wines were wonderful and the property is just beautiful. Sitting on the veranda for drinks before dinner you feel like you are in Monet's garden without the tourists - heaven. The hotel has plenty of bikes for you to use. It is a lovely ride to Zutphen and there are other locations they can recommend and provide directions to. We will definitely be going here again. It is a classic European hotel with all the upgrades you would want - free Wifi - modern baths and the nicest people you will ever meet.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Serre Suite which included a outdoor hot tub, private garden and atrium. Very priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NancyAO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RISHON LEZION ISRAEL
Level Contributor
313 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We were recieved with helpful staff catering to all our wishes and more, as we were a family with a kid and a baby.They explained every thing on the phone and got us another room with no extra charge. Breakfast was lovely and delicious. Sitting in front of a quiet small river with ducks was lovely, getting cold water while the weather was warm. lovely place.

Room Tip: As a family we received adjoing rooms which was great, Tha place has a golf club. beautiful green la...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank couple59060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
56 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

The surroundings as well as the location is beautifull.
We have spend here 2 lunches and 1 dinner in the last 12 months.
And I regret to have to say that the quality is not constant.One dinner and 1 lunch was excellent however the lunch we enjoyed the last time could be better. The waitress must have been a trainee although this was mentioned/indicated. When asked for any wine recommendations she knew nothing which is not a problem when you are a trainee but please ask for the sommelier. Service was slow. As it was quite hot they had opened the doors/windows so plenty of flies inside.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hetsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brummen
21.0 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Holthurnsche Hof
11.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Apeldoorn - de Cantharel
15.2 mi away
Hotel de Sterrenberg
Hotel de Sterrenberg
#1 of 3 in Otterlo
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Hotel de Echoput
Hotel de Echoput
#2 of 7 in Apeldoorn
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
4.8 mi away
Fletcher Landgoed Hotel Avegoor
23.3 mi away
Hotel Landgoed Het Roode Koper - Relais & Chateaux
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasteel Engelenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasteel Engelenburg

Property: Kasteel Engelenburg
Address: Eerbeekseweg 6, 6971 LB Brummen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Brummen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brummen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasteel Engelenburg 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Odigeo, Hotels.com, HRS and Agoda so you can book your Kasteel Engelenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing