We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High end Family stay, but worth it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kasteel Engelenburg
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brummen
Certificate of Excellence
Boca Raton, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“High end Family stay, but worth it”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Stayed here with wife and 3 kids in room and a suite. Pricey, but well worth it if family appreciates how to enjoy the stay for 2 days. Suite was very spacious and very well decorated.
Kids room fit 3 very well, also nice décor. location of "castle" (its more a very nice country side estate) is top, very quiet with an impressive entrance. Food is top class but expensive for family dinner, which they are not really catering to. Service top notch, with eye for detail.
I would love to return one day with my wife only, and get pampered by the staff.
I will be back for business as well, as great place to invite and impress International clients.

Room Tip: pay a bit extra for a Suite if you plan to spend more time in the room....... treat yourself well..
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jagricola, Eigenaar at Kasteel Engelenburg, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Dear Paul,

Many thanks for your prositive feedback. It is a great compliment for our staff that your family has enjoyed their stay at Kasteel Engelenburg so much.

We love to welcome you back with your wife for a romantic weekend or for business to make work even more pleasant.

Hope to see you soon.

Regards,

Johan Agricola

Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    63
    10
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
157
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 June 2014

For us the location was the reason for booking this wonderful hotel. Family and friends not too far away and could spread the visits over 5 days (all rather emotional, we are all getting old).It was very reassuring to come back every afternoon, after another visit to the 90+ person, to find hotel staff who are very professional, but more than that, caring. No, we did not weep on shoulders, but the commitment of all the staff to us as guests was warm and absolutely not with the artificial smile one encounters so often. Meals - top notch and with a chef in the kitchen who could come up with excellent dishes when we chose to ask for something not on the menu. I can only strongly advise anybody who wants to learn about the hospitality business to go and see at Engelenburg how it should be done.

Room Tip: The orangerie offers wonderfull views over the golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HuijsHaerlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jagricola, Eigenaar at Kasteel Engelenburg, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Google Translation
Baie dankie voor jullie prachtige review.
Wij zijn blij dat u het verblijf op kasteel Engelenburg het geniet!
Zeker van collega's uit de hospitality industry een extra compliment.
Mooi bly
Johan Agricola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beverwijk, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We have often had lunch here, this time we visited Engelenburg with the Golf buddies for a golf weekend.
Great rooms in the Boschendal wing, very neat, large and a great view over the castles moat.
Lovely ambiance in the restaurant, good service and fab food.
Will definately do again.

Room Tip: Get room 24
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jagricola, Eigenaar at Kasteel Engelenburg, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Chris,

Thanks for your great review.
We are so happy you and your golf buddies enjoyed their.
Look forward to welcome you again

Johan Agricola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 May 2014

Just spent an enjoyable 3 nights here and although my visit was business rather than pleasure, the hotel provided a wonderful place to meet, learn and socialise.

The food really was excellent. Beautifully presented, quality ingredients and plenty of variety. Bedroom was restful, nicely decorated and comfortable with pretty views out over the lake to the gold course. A truly lovely setting. .

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jagricola, Eigenaar at Kasteel Engelenburg, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Lucie,
Thank you for your great feedback.
We are so glad we have geven you the environment to work in a enjoyable way.
Johan Agricola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tilburg, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We were lucky enough to have a dinner and one overnight stay in this wonderful castle. From the moment we arrived up and until the moment we left, we were spoiled with luxury. The south-african culture can be found in in every little detail of the accomodation in style. from the little lion which indicates you don't want to be disturbed till the lovely wines they serve next to the evenso delicious dinner. We had a wonderfull stay in this wonderfull accomodation, and could recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 202Roelb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jagricola, Eigenaar at Kasteel Engelenburg, responded to this review, 19 May 2014
Dear Roel,

Thanks for your possitive feedback. Attention to detail make a good stay a great stay.
I am so glad you recognised the details and enjoyed them.
Loof forward to welcome you again.

Johan Agricola
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

This was one of the most pleasant discoveries I have had in a while. It came along as last minute idea to spend a weekend away to surprise my husband. Luckily enough, they were offering a Valentine's escape, which included a high tea and a 5 course dinner.

Secluded in the middle of a green area between Arnhem and Zutphen, this beautiful property stands up with manicured gardens surrounded by a golf course. The hotel comprises the main house and two side buildings containing the rest of the rooms. The main house, an old manor, preserves his original features and it is decorated in a classical style of old dark woods and Chesterfield sofas.

Upon check in, we were kindly upgraded to one of their deluxe rooms located in the "coach house". The room was very spacious, with antique furniture and ethnic decoration reflected by South African details.

The high tea served in the main house was an incredible combination of savory and sweet nibbles: Pumpkin soup, small chicken curry skewers, lemon pie, scones and other delicacies were part of the menu, along with a great tea selection.

One of the most impressive features of the Hotel is their extended collection of single malt whiskeys - more than 300 - as well as an exclusive selection of South African wines. Indeed, no to be missed and enjoyed!

Dinner was in their restaurant, an amazingly beautiful "serre" or conservatory, overlooking the lake and the golf course. The fixed menu was fantastic: we did find every dish innovative and delicious, confirming the excellent quality that Relais & Chateaux are used to offer.

The Sommelier had a vast knowledge of wines, specially from South Africa, and recommended a perfect pairing for our menu, since we were not keen on having a wine arrangement.

As you could imagine, the Kasteel has a lovely wine cellar, which can be also used for dinner. We did enjoy our pre desert there, surrounded by lit candles and soft lighting, giving the space a magical allure.

After a sound sleep, we were enjoying a great breakfast before heading home.

We will definitely will be back to this beautiful property. Service was impeccable, food delicious and the ambiance offered in the different areas were very welcoming and cozy.

In addition to savoring a great dinner, please do not miss walking around the golf course (map routes are provided); taste one of their malt whiskeys in the library or enjoy a drink/bite in the wine cellar.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vaquitalekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This was our second stay at Kasteel Engelenburg. The first time we could get a very good deal via Groupon and we liked it so much that we wanted to return.
We booked the " Wild arrangement" and were looking forward to enjoy the visit the former ice cellar.
When we arrived the very friendly receptioniste told us that we were too late for the visit of the ice cellar which took place already an hour ago and she pointed on the people who were sitting at the bar with drinks etc.
Just a tip for the future: call them in advance to ask when you have to be there.
We wished the hotel would have send us an email with the details of the arrangement beforehand instead of letting us dissappointed stand there with the words " you could have seen the bats".
Nethertheless we received a room upgrade, which was a nice touch.
The room was very nice and cosy with a hint of Africa and the bed comfy, just as the last time when we stayed at the hotel. We really enjoyed the setting of the room as it was in some little house next to the castle. The room was spotless and we liked the view on the water.
When we got to dinner we also had a very nice table next to the window and enjoyed the nicely prepared food, but slight remarks are also here to make:
I mentioned twice that I do not like wines which taste like wood. The waiter did not really care and also did not offer me another wine without that specific taste. At every course he gave us a new wine but which had almost all wood taste. So my boyfriend had 5 glasses wine and me some 1 glass in the end.
The breakfast the next day was good, but nothing to get crazy about. The scrambled egg was not fresh and almost cold. Instead a menu with freshly prepared eggs and pancakes would be a very nice touch. Also fresh juices would be nice.
The view from the restaurant on the little lake is very nice and we enjoyed the atmosphere there.

Unfortunately our second stay could not live up to the experience of our first stay, which we find a pity since we love the surroundings and the charm of the castle.

A small tip for people with dogs: dogs are allowed.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisCobain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kasteel_Engelenburg, Owner at Kasteel Engelenburg, responded to this review, 12 November 2013
Dear Mrs KrisCobain,

I am so sorry to read that your second stay was as great as not expected. Obviously we should have informed you about the fact that the ice cellar tour started at 17h00. I sincerely apologise for not having send an e-mail. This is normally standard practise but indeed has need been executed for your reservation.

Fortunately this disappointing welcome was a bit compensated with the free upgrade to a Deluxe room. And I am so glad that you enjoyed the setting and the luxury of this room. We do realise that it is always more difficult to create the WOW factor when visiting our castle for the second time. Therefor we try to give our returning guests a free upgrade and a nice window table in the restaurant. It is great to read that you enjoyed these treats.

Our waiting staff member should have anticipated towards your request for a wine without wood. I sincerely apologise for not caring enough for your wellbeing.

We do prepare the scrambled eggs freshly in the morning but not individually per guest or per table. To have a smoothly run breakfast operation we have choosen for a buffet breakfast and do present the scrambled eggs in a shaving dish. The juices are squeezed freshly during the night but indeed this is not the same taste as just a few minutes before
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brummen
15.2 mi away
Hotel de Sterrenberg
Hotel de Sterrenberg
#1 of 3 in Otterlo
249 reviews
11.2 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Apeldoorn - de Cantharel
0.9 mi away
Hotel Het Oude Postkantoor
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Inntel Hotels Resort Zutphen
14.7 mi away
Hotel de Echoput
Hotel de Echoput
#2 of 7 in Apeldoorn
476 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - 's Gravenhof Zutphen
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kasteel Engelenburg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasteel Engelenburg

Property: Kasteel Engelenburg
Address: Eerbeekseweg 6, 6971 LB Brummen, The Netherlands
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Brummen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Brummen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kasteel Engelenburg 4*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HRS, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kasteel Engelenburg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing