We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Treasure inn at wonderful spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Oortjeshekken Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ooij
Reviewed 7 August 2014 via mobile

Set along the South border of the Waal river on a lingering dyke, opposite a large swimming lake, Bisonbaai, where herds of wild horses and highlanders enrich the stunning landscape, with storks and spoonbills ("lepelaars") on the side, there you will find Oortjeshekken, a beautiful old inn, with its great terrace, very nice food, its cosy old bar, its superfriendly staf, its romantic rooms facing its English style garden and its great breakfast. There you have it, a review in one sentence. I would say, go explore, it is only 12 km biking from Nijmegen. Take your best friends, your love or your family and you will have a trip you will always remember.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank ArentvanWassenaer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 18 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

Oortjeshekken is a small lodgement less than 10 rooms, in the suburbian of Nijmegen. Environment is great and service perfect. But than again, please notice no television, no wifi in the room and no mini bar nor airco. Food is average to okay. I love it, like I love monastries.

Room Tip: Choose "opkamer" which offers three rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paulalgra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2012

Oortjeshekken really has the best of both worlds. It is right in the middle of the Ooijpolder (great views, lovely walks, nature, silence), and at a very close distance from the lovely city of Nijmegen. The rooms are not luxurious but comfortable, and have great period charm. Ours, the Koninckskamer, had a wonderful view of the garden (and beyond) and a private terrace. Oortjeshekken was always famous for its scrumptious breakfast, and although it has changed owners twice, breakfast is still inimitable. Staff are jolly and chatty. Prices very reasonable.

Room Tip: We loved the Koninckskamer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Karin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Nice, cosy hotel at the dike of the wide river Waal, not far from Nijmegen. There are bicycles for rent, or you can walk in the wild nature of the Ooij Polder with special horses.. We enjoyed the food of the resturant outside on the charming terrace, Staff friendly but service was slow.
Rooms comfortable, good for reading, there is no tv. Attractive nice and quiet garden behind the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a garden room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mix30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

Sober but friendly, familylike hotel on a fantastic location, next to the river Waal. Nature in reach. Wild herds of cows and horses roam nearby.
Nice rooms, nice food en friendly staff.
Extensive breakfast.
Nijmegen and Arnhem nearby for the neccessary cultural activities.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sterres12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Culemborg, Netherlands
15
Reviewed 29 July 2004

We went there for diner after a splendid day at the Bisonbaai (just across the road) but found the whole place a big disappointment! Service was below all standards, the food was mediocre for the price they charged - we even had to pay for a desert we never had: we asked for some cheese for desert but we were told this was not possible since "the kitchen was too busy" ..... We went completely desillusioned....

5  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed yesterday
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ernst S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ooij
0.5 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Gelderse Poort
3.4 mi away
Hampshire Hotel - Holthurnsche Hof
2.8 mi away
Fletcher Parkhotel Val Monte
Fletcher Parkhotel Val Monte
#2 of 3 in Berg en Dal
323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
No photo provided
Roosje van Ooy
#1 of 1 in Ooij
1 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Oortjeshekken Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oortjeshekken Hotel

Address: Erlecomsedam 4, 6576 JW Ooij, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Ooij
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Ooij
Price Range: £70 - £84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Oortjeshekken Hotel 1*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Oortjeshekken Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing