We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable hotel with good facilities, conveniently located to local attractions.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de Sterrenberg
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Otterlo
Certificate of Excellence
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Comfortable hotel with good facilities, conveniently located to local attractions.”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

My partner & myself chose this hotel after reading the positive reviews on here, and due to it being located very close to the Kröller-Müller museum.
Our room was clean and well lit with comfortable furniture.
Whilst there, we also ate in the hotel restaurant; the starter and desserts were delicious with some very innovative touches. However, we were both disappointed with the main course, a tagliatelle dish supposedly flavoured with a local cheese, although neither of us could detect the cheese! Due to this, it left us feeling that the meal had been a little expensive.
Facilities within the hotel are very good; I swam in the pool whilst there (towels provided) and we sat in the library on a couple of occasions and made use of the complimentary hot drinks available. WThere are also some nice touches, such as art books available for perusal around the indoor seating area. Bicycles are also available for hire.
The breakfast buffet consisted of a good variety of quality products, with fresh juice being served at your table on arrival.
One thing I feel I must mention is the staff. At all times, we experienced excellent customer service which was friendly yet professional. Prior to leaving, we asked a female receptionist for some travel advice regarding locations to visit within The Netherlands; both she and her husband went out of their way to assist us, writing a list of potential locations to visit and seemed genuinely keen to help.
I would definitely recommend the hotel but would particularly highlight the excellent customer service & great location.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelling_sh0es
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    72
    14
    0
    1
See reviews for
44
134
5
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
120 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

The hotel is located in a small town Otterlo just at the entrance to the National Park Hoge Veluwe. We spent there 2 nights with out small baby and we liked it a lot. The standard room had enough space to put a baby bed (baby friendly hotel) and the service was very good and kind.

The restaurant is definitely a place to check; food was good but rather on the expensive side. The improvement suggestion would be to solve a significant number of flies in the lobby and the restaurant.

There is also sauna and swimming pool. Finish sauna was very hot as it should be - proper.

It is a good base to visit a park and several very interesting museums (there are plenty of maps and tips available in the hotel), e.g. Kröller-Müller Museum, Open air museum or Airborne Museum.

Fully recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikesk8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
215 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Last weekend we spend at the Hotel. It was our second time and again it was a very pleasant stay. The Atelier room,which we booked is the most expensive one of the 4 the offer, but think this 25-50 euro extra a worthwhile.
The room has better beds and is bigger than the rest.
The hotel is build in the style of nature and brings a quick and peaceful time.
Staff is wonderfull and very knowledgeable.
The food at Restaurant Timber is from a high standard and the menu included in our package was very tasteful.
We highly recommend this hotel not only for its location but also rooms and restaurant

Room Tip: Atelier rooms are bigger and have better beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hedy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stayed here for the second time because we loved it so much the first time. The location is brilliant, right by the entrance to the park, the food is excellent, innovative and beautifully presented and the staff very friendly. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IngeDowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 4 July 2013

A much anticipated visit to the De hoge Veluwe national park and Kroller-Muller art gallery and sculpture park was perfected by our stay at this superb hotel. Beautifully designed with a nod to the natural wonders it is surrounded by. Lots of great areas for relaxing and dining; decorated by local artists, offset with stone and wood. The restaurant was sensational and innovative; local and seasonal and the array of warm freshly cooked breads and pastries which changed daily was an added treat. A library/games room and a children's activity room add to the charm and comfort of guests. The swimming pool and a bath in the rooms were greatly appreciated. The staff were friendly, kind and very helpful. Will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I wish all hotels were like this! We loved our stay! Spend 2 nights iwth my husband and baby. The staff were very nice and provided excellent service, also for our baby. The pool is too cold to bathe your baby, so dont think you can use it as a gym for a water loving 8 month old as we did. The bath in our room did well for the purpose though.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank firefairy1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 May 2013

Together with friends the four of us spent 2 nights in the hotel and restaurant. It is a fantastic spot for those who like the outdoors and in only a few minutes you are in the woods (walking or biking). or in national park "De hoge Veluwe". The hotel is cozy and even if all rooms are booked not too busy. Staff is friendly and helpful.

We had booked the more luxury and spacious rooms where we could even share the balcony with our friends. The room was indeed bigger, The shower and even the toilet door are made of glass (please give me a bit more privacy :-) and it has an enormous bubble bath.

The restaurant is what you might expect from a restaurant in a hotel but the food quality was excellent. Together with some very nice wines we had two lovely days in the restaurant. Also breakfast (European style) was very good and prepared with dedication.

We certainly will come back to enjoy the hotel and to explore the outdoors a bit more.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barlin63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Otterlo
0.2 mi away
Grand Cafe Hotel Kruller
5.7 mi away
De Lunterse Boer Hotel Restaurant
7.7 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Apeldoorn - de Cantharel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Fletcher Hotel Restaurant Victoria-Hoenderloo
15.2 mi away
Kasteel Engelenburg
Kasteel Engelenburg
#1 of 2 in Brummen
263 reviews
4.2 mi away
Hotel Buitenlust
Hotel Buitenlust
#2 of 2 in Hoenderloo
38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Sterrenberg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Sterrenberg

Property: Hotel de Sterrenberg
Address: Houtkampweg 1, 6731 AV Otterlo, Ede, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Gelderland Province > Ede > Otterlo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Otterlo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel de Sterrenberg 4*
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel de Sterrenberg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing