We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would stay again the staff were terrific”
Review of Royal York Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal York Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Winschoten
Reviewed 14 July 2014

We originally booked for 2 nights for the Dutch MOTO GP and stayed for 3 nights. we were travelling the Rhine with the intention of going to the GP it was perfectly situated for our purposes with off road parking,
When we first walked in after a long hot ride late in the afternoon to find our rooms were not ready we thought we had made a big mistake, we could not have been more wrong, the staff were grate very friendly and shared a few jokes with us about getting changed in the corridor, they offered us to put all our gear in our rooms while they made them up and the use of a ready made room to get changed and have a shower. they couldn't have been more accommodating.W e have been to much bigger hotel chains and told we would just have to wait.
We eventually retired to the bar which doubles up as the restaurant dinning room, we decided to eat in the hotel that night and were well surprised at the quality of the meals, there was 6 of us and we nearly all chose something different, all our meals were freshly made and very well cooked, the hotel gives you a Travelodge type feel but the restaurant is well above that , there were a lot of locals eating in the restaurant which always tells you they have got something good to offer.
The staff nearly all speak good English, we could tell the young girl who served us on the Friday night in the restaurant was dreading it, we could see she didn't think her English was up to it and our ditch definitely wasn't, she explained what everything in the menu was as it was all in Dutch and she did very very well, we didn't get her name and she was only there for the 1 night.
One of the waiting staff Daniela was also very attentive very friendly and very helpful for where to go in the town, what to see where to eat etc. her English is flawless and has a brilliant sense of hummer.
Our rooms were spacious and clean, every room has a fridge TV with English speaking channels, the showers are a wet room type,very good,hot with plenty of pressure just be careful with the tiled floor when you come out.
We skipped the first mornings breakfast as it was for 0800 and we were going to the GP the staff explained we could have a packed breakfast which would be outside our room door to take with us, it was well worth it we all had 3 different types of bread rolls with different fillings, a carton of Orange juice, a breakfast bar, and an apple.
The following morning we had breakfast which is full continental all fresh and every thing is topped up if required.
If we were to go to Assen again we wouldn't hesitate to stop here, it is a 20 min ride / drive, easy to find, grate staff clean and reasonably priced for the quality of the hotel. don't worry if you can't speak much Dutch we know the staff speak English, German and French at least.
.

Room Tip: Our room was on the second floor at the back not much of a view but very quiet, the front is on the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Spikethebeachbum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (48)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 48 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2013

Great find just over the German border coming from Brehmen, in our case, from Hamburg in the direction of Hook of Holland, back to the UK. The whole of this region is not used to British visitors and everything is written in Dutch, including the menu. It turned out, the restaurant attached to the hotel was a Chicken restaurant, but we were told we could have other meat. So, having driven for 12 hours from the top of Denmark all the way to this hotel, which was not pre-booked, we were tired, hungry and thirsty. Our room was spacious and the bed was comfortable, but a bit old fashioned. But, the meal we were served, was a complete surprise and one of the best meals we have ever had. The total bill for B & B plus dinner and a bottle of wine came to €121. Very, very good value for money. Final message to the few Brits moving in this direction, STOP! This is worth a minor detour

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Elis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2008

Stayed in this hotel for three nights visiting for Assen motogp.
Finding the place is easy as it is opposite the railway station.
The hotel is a 5minute walk into the town centre.
The hotel has a night club of soughts located in its cellar but there is no noise in the hotel itself and the entrance is not through the hotel. Okay for a late drink but unless you like some sort of loud black music (house rap or something else) I wouldn't recommend staying there for that. As I mentioned unless the place was pointed out you would miss it so it is not an issue.
I found all the staff spoke very good english
There is a guy Rudolf who is there at 3am at 7am at 1pm at 7pm.
His jokes are awful
A quiet hotel with comfortable rooms.
Breakfast is was fine with a good variety of meats cheese, preserves and serials.

  • Stayed: June 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ajgx4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Sandra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Mooi uitzicht op het treinstation en de parkeerplaats, geen gastvrij
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CBrendanW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank LambertusHaaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank krokos2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Royal York Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal York Hotel

Address: Stationsweg 21, 9671 AL Winschoten, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Groningen Province > Winschoten
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Winschoten
Price Range: £63 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal York Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Royal York Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing