We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK for an informal lunch”
Review of Hotel de Maasparel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel de Maasparel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arcen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 14 June 2013

I didn't stay at the hotel, just had lunch whilst visiting Arcen. I had the "Pimp Burger" and sat outside in the sunshine. It was very enjoyable and hit the spot just right. Although it was just a burger, it was still very good, and I'm please I decided to eat there. Menus in Dutch and German only. Staff spoke good English though (as most Dutch people do very well).

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank 99Display_Name99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (110)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 110 reviews

Reviewed 18 March 2013

We just had dinner at the restaurant and we did not sleep in the hotel.
Good service, the dishes are well presented, but their quality could be significantly improved. Too many strong flavors together, often do not allow to fully enjoy the dish.
Price maybe a bit 'higher than the actual quality.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank marco b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2013

The rooms are big and clean but outdated and very noisy; the staff is not very welcoming.
The location is good in the middle of the little town and parking is free. The breakfast is very basic. I think the place is perfect for old people with low standards.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KJ1980KJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stayed here for a nice relaxing weekend while visiting the Thermal baths of Arcen and it was just perfect. The staff is very friendly and helpful and the hotel itself apparently had a lot of guests (judging by the number of people which showed up for breakfast), but we heard nothing from anyone in our room (apart from the wind and rain).

The room we had was in the back of the hotel garden which provided us with a nice view and a one minute walk over to the restaurant. The room itself was clean and the beds were ok (the pillows a bit too hard for my taste though).

The breakfast was good and well stocked; the restaurant where we had dinner once was splendid. Normally I'm quite skeptic about hotel restaurants, but the Maasparel's restaurant was simply put: awesome. Friendly staff and superb food which was very good and the plates were properly made.

N.B.: For value I've given 5/5 because we had a 50% discount coupon; if I had to pay the full charge I would've given 4/5.

Room Tip: We had a room in the back of the hotel grounds, which was quiet and away from the restaurant/road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jasperla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2012

Through an internet auction, we've booked an "Roermond Outlet shopping Arrangement". It turned out that the hotel was 41 km away from the mall. The hotel is an old village Inn, with a restaurant on the ground floor and hotel rooms on the first floor. Our room was extremely noisy, because it was above the restaurant kitchen. The room was just an ordinary 3 star room, nothing special and the view was awfull. The stairs to the first floor are very steep. The bottle of prosecco included in the arrangement was German sekt wine.

If you don't like modern hotels and you like being in the middle of a small village, you might like it, but we will never return to such a misleading company.

Room Tip: If you don't want constant noise from a restaurant and kitchen, choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank memberHolland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

This is a comfortable guest house hotel on the edge of the traditional area of Arcen and close to the river. The rooms are a bit old-fashioned, but spacious and clean. There is ample free parking and a good restaurant.
I didn't like their habit of putting out the breakfast plates on tables the night before, but otherwise the restaurant was fine. Staff were very friendly and helpful.
This is a good base for cycling holidays and is only fifty yards from the River Mass.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VeniVidiViaje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed here for 3 days (2 nights) in August 2012. It turned out to be an ideal location to combine a visit to the Floriade exhibition in Venlo (which was within biking distance) with some bike tours along the Maas river.
They have an excellent restaurant which is worth the stay and breakfast is very fine as well.
Unfortunately, we had an outside room, to be entered via the restaurant terrace, and as the weather was nice (for which one can't complain), the terrace was fully booked untill quite late in the evening ...

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms along the restaurant terrace in summer times.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OstendTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcen
0 mi away
Hotel Arcen
Hotel Arcen
#3 of 3 in Arcen
125 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Rooland
5.4 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Venlo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Het Maashotel
Het Maashotel
#1 of 1 in Broekhuizen
53 reviews
5.3 mi away
Parkhotel Horst
Parkhotel Horst
#1 of 1 in Horst
255 reviews
10 mi away
Bilderberg Chateau Holtmuhle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de Maasparel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de Maasparel

Address: Schans 3-5, 5944 AE Arcen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Arcen
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Arcen
Price Range: £55 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel de Maasparel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel de Maasparel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing