We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cornwall's best kept secret B&B.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Pentillie Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pentillie Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cornwall's best kept secret B&B.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Pentillie Castle must be the most superbly furnished B&B in Cornwall. The honest hospitality from Ted & Sarah Coryton and their daughter "Sammie" is superb. We felt privileged to share and enjoy a wonderful place. Breakfast was a little disappointing and we did experience some plumbing problems but hey we'll be back as soon as we can.

Room Tip: There cannot possibly be a bad room here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pentillie, Owner at Pentillie Castle, responded to this review, 25 June 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. As always we are very grateful for guests' feedback, and we are thrilled that you 'will be back'.
We are sorry that you found breakfast disappointing, but hope that after you voiced your concerns, that these were addressed to your satisfaction. Of course, any suggestions that you would care to make would also be welcomed if you had time to email us directly.
I am afraid that we can only apologise for the plumbing issues. Unfortunately, despite extensive testing, (including a shower myself!!) we cannot seem to replicate the problem, so we will have to keep a watchful eye on it, and hope it doesn't happen again.
It was lovely to spend time chatting with you while you were at Pentillie, and we look forward to welcoming you again.
With kind regards, Sammie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    295
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
185
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2013

Firstly, you must not expect all the services of a hotel - Pentillie is a high-end Bed and Breakfast. However it is a truly unique and beautiful property; from the long, tree-lined driveway to the opulent dining room and drawing room, to the cosy and immaculately finished bedrooms, the whole place is breath-taking, not to forget the magnificent view of the Tamar from the rear of the building.

The Corytons and their staff are all so friendly and yet completely professional - your stay at Pentillie will be special because they will work tirelessly to meet your requirements.

I am not easily pleased, however I have nothing but praise for Pentillie and anyone visiting the Devon/Cornwall area should not hesitate to book at night or several at Pentillie!

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear of the building have the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stewart M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2013

We booked the hotel for 2 nights, Friday and Saturday 7th and 8th June to celebrate my wife's big birthday with friends and family. We were blessed with wondeful weather which was the icing on the cake for a magical weekend. The staff, the setting and the gardens make it a
great place to visit. Pentillie organised a dinner for 19 on the Saturday which was 5 star, terrific food in a terrific setting.

Room Tip: If you can, try and get a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

My husband and I stayed at Pentillie castle on our wedding night. It was excellent in every way. The room was very comfortable and the meals were delightful. I loved the grounds - we went for a walk the next day accompanied by the family's dogs who were our tour guides! The family were very nice and made us feel at home immediately. The whole experience of staying here was very special. I would recommend it very highly.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

The castle and gardens are a wonderful place to visit, the history is also an added bonus. Our room faced the river, with wonderful views, and the room was excellent, and the bathroom was large and well appointed. The staff were great and so welcoming, the food was marvellous. Yes it was a bit more expensive but was well worth it.

Room Tip: Ensure that you make the effort to go to the Mausoleum, and also the bath house. Also ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

A beautiful estate with lots of history. A wonderful place to relax by a great fire, or enjoy long walks in the many different gardens and along the River Tamar. The owners and all who work there are absolutely wonderful.Excellent amenities, charming estate and beautiful countryside.
They willingly share great restaurants or places to visit. A beautiful estate that is warm and open - with owners with incredible hospitality, humor and fun. A great visit. Thank you.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrownsLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2013

We would like to say thank you very much for opening up your beautiful gardens and to doggie people - we would never have been able to experience your beautiful gardens if we could not bring our dogs as we live too far away. We do hope that all the doggies behaved themselves - and there were a lot, nothing like a baptism of fire . We also hope that all the owners behaved themselves as well! The tea was lovely too with a wonderful view.
2 Shelties + another + owners

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank chylowena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pentillie, Owner at Pentillie Castle, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for your comments on the recent open day. It was a beautiful afternoon which always helps, and all the doggies and their owners seemed to be very well behaved, and to enjoy themselves too. Thank you for making the trip all the way from Hayle, and we hope to see you and your four-legged friends back at Pentillie in the future.
Kind regards, Sammie Coryton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mellion
1.8 mi away
St Mellion International Resort
9.1 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
7.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
China Fleet Country Club
23.5 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,170 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#4 of 4 in Saltash
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pentillie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentillie Castle

Property: Pentillie Castle
Address: Saint Mellion, Saltash PL12 6QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash > Saint Mellion
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Mellion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pentillie Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 17th century, Pentillie Castle is situated in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty on the Cornish banks of the River Tamar. Set on an estate that spans almost 2000 acres, the Castle offers luxurious B&B accommodation as well as exclusive hire for groups. All 9 bedrooms are en-suite (some with Victorian style roll-top baths!) offering views over the River Tamar and surrounding woodland. Relax in the Drawing Room where you can help yourself to a drink (or two!) from the honesty bar, sit out on the terrace or enjoy yourself in the Games Room. There is also a solar-heated outdoor swimming pool (open Apr-Sept). There are plenty of activities to enjoy in the local area, from fishing, cycling, hiking and golf to zip lining through the trees. Plymouth is only a 20 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pentillie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentillie Castle Hotel Saltash

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing