We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique B&B experience!”
Review of Pentillie Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Pentillie Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Unique B&B experience!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

What a fabulous place to stay, the house despite it being big has a real feel of a family home. Sarah was fantastic in ensuring we were welcomed and looked after during our stay. The history of this castle is interesting and the grounds are beautiful and tranquil with amazing views.
Unfortunately our stay was very short but we will definitely be back and will strongly recommend it to our friends & family. Forgot to mention breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: Tillie room has a fabulous large bathroom including roll top bath with amazing views of the river Ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Suzanne7733
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    308
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
51
192
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in September in Tillie room - massive bathroom with roll-top bath and walk in shower. Wonderful view of the Tamar and beyond.

Wonderful breakfast - and very helpful staff. Do go for a walk down around the estate - especially down to the boat house for views of the river.

Will be back for certain.

Room Tip: Go for a river view room - Tillie or Coryton both have the huge bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank badgerfrombristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at Pentillie in the Coryton room for two nights, 2nd and 3rd Sept, to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary and couldn't have wished for a better place to stay for a rare couple of nights away by ourselves.
Everything was perfect, including the weather! - the views on a sunny afternoon down to the River Tamar are just stunning. It is such a peaceful setting and anyone like us with a busy, hectic, noisy life filled with teenagers and school runs will appreciate the total silence and the stunning gardens and views. Literally the only noises we could hear were bird song, buzzing bees and the clock chiming on the hour.
The house itself is also perfect - it is truly stately and luxurious (even 'posh'!) but at the same time not at all stuffy or intimidating! We felt totally relaxed and 'at home' from the first moments.
The breakfast was delicious on both days, the fresh fruit salad had at least 7 different types of fruit, the croissants were perfection, the cooked breakfast was filling and tasty, the eggs were cooked perfectly, the bacon incredible and the french toast which I had on day 2 was simply melt-in-the-mouth yummy! ....I could go on and on!
The staff were all lovely and would do anything to help. We had ordered a picnic hamper for day 2 but then changed our minds and asked them to save it for us to have in the evening. They said they would leave it in the kitchen fridge for us after showing us where we could find plates etc to help ourselves to later on. Sally then came in later especially to check we had found it and had all we need.
Thank you so much to Sammie and the family for sharing your family home, and for a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful, from what we could see, and even the back ones have stunning views of the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DizzyLal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

After finding Pentillie on trip advisor we decided to stop a night on our way to Cornwall. We wished we had stayed longer! It's a beautiful place. It has a sort of traditional stately home style but with modern touches (like an amazing bathroom). The family story also makes it a really interesting place to stay, which is rather unique. The views down to the river are absolutely stunning, and as we were lucky with the weather we enjoyed a couple of walks in the grounds with the very friendly resident labs!

The best thing was the service - warm and welcoming and exactly as it should be. We stayed in the Coryton room which has views down to the river and one of the nicest bathrooms I have ever had in a hotel/b&b. And I've stayed in a lot!

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants a bit of luxury in a beautiful setting with great service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kir_kag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

The most amazing place to stay, you will not be disappointed. Every aspect of our stay was beyond expectations, stunning room, wonderful walks, delicious breakfast, and great touches like the welly boot room, books to read, honesty bar, the key and towels for the pool... thank you so much for a brilliant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edenbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Everything about Pentillie Castle is interesting and it is a wonderful place to stay. Location is beautiful right on the River Tamar, the place is steeped in history, the owners look after you superbly - it's just like staying in a country house, the food is delicious, the staff are charming and nothing is too much trouble. The bedrooms are extremely comfortable and well-appointed. Can't think of anything I could possibly criticise. A real gem.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suzie490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

I have just been to Pentillie Castle for a second time and have to say that both experiences were fantastic. The family and staff are very welcoming. Everything is well organised and you are made to feel special. I took afternoon tea on the patio with the rest of my party and could not believe the variety of home-made cakes we were given. The bedrooms and en-suite bathrooms are beautiful. You are provided with fresh coffee, tea, home-made shortbread and Pentillie's own water in your rooms. There is a choice of breakfasts, each being freshly prepared with local produce to order. The evening meal was perfect and plentiful. So far, we have stayed in the Parker, Howard and Coryton rooms and intend to return to try some of the others!

Room Tip: The Coryton Room is a little noisy if you are a light sleeper because of the clock tower chiming on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SBrooks2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mellion
1.8 mi away
St Mellion International Resort
9.1 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
13.9 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#3 of 4 in Saltash
245 reviews
2.9 mi away
China Fleet Country Club
7.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
295 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pentillie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentillie Castle

Property: Pentillie Castle
Address: Saint Mellion, Saltash PL12 6QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash > Saint Mellion
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Mellion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pentillie Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 17th century, Pentillie Castle is situated in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty on the Cornish banks of the River Tamar. Set on an estate that spans almost 2000 acres, the Castle offers luxurious B&B accommodation as well as exclusive hire for groups. All 9 bedrooms are en-suite (some with Victorian style roll-top baths!) offering views over the River Tamar and surrounding woodland. Relax in the Drawing Room where you can help yourself to a drink (or two!) from the honesty bar, sit out on the terrace or enjoy yourself in the Games Room. There is also a solar-heated outdoor swimming pool (open Apr-Sept). There are plenty of activities to enjoy in the local area, from fishing, cycling, hiking and golf to zip lining through the trees. Plymouth is only a 20 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pentillie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentillie Castle Hotel Saltash

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing