We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My idea of the perfect B&B”
Review of Pentillie Castle

Best prices for your stay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pentillie Castle
Certificate of Excellence
Sutton
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“My idea of the perfect B&B”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

What’s left to say? The experience begins the moment you drive down the long, elevated driveway towards the house, promising something special. Pentillie is an elegant and sophisticated country house (it’s not a castle) – which achieves the delicate balance between formality and informality. If you feel you need the pomp and amenities of a so-called luxury hotel, I suggest you stay elsewhere. This is not a place for unruly kids to let off steam, nor does it have a gymnasium or a disco to burn off mountains of mass-catered food. But, should you like to relax in very comfortable, quiet and bucolic surroundings, with views down to the Tamar, attended by a friendly, sincere staff, this should be at the very top of your list.
The well-appointed bedrooms are delightful, as are the public rooms. Our bathroom was simply huge, with a large walk-in shower and freestanding roll-top bath. We were lucky enough to dine at Pentillie – something only available if there’s sufficient demand on the night – and something I would thoroughly recommend. The rooms are not cheap, but they do represent great value. The drink prices are quite reasonable though.
I really am at a loss to find even the slightest fault or shortcoming with the place.
This was the second best B&B I’ve ever stayed at – from amongst a few hundred. Sadly my all-time favourite, also in Devon – overlooking the Dart - has since closed (thus promoting Pentillie to No.1).
The Corytons, the charming owners of the Pentillie estate, keep a watchful but hands-off presence. They seem to adore the place – as I’m sure you will.
Oh, and as others have said, make sure you walk the grounds - they're magical.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    313
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
196
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pulborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

We picked Pentillie Castle as everyone was raving about it on TA but being very cynical and critical I didn't expect it to live up to my expectations. The good news is that it did and more! What a beautiful and special place. Tastefully furnished with pale carpets, squishy sofas, family portraits and fresh flowers. The family and the staff are all really welcoming and nothing is too much trouble. We too felt totally at home within hours of arriving. It was raining so the log fire was alight in the sitting room where tea was served with home made cakes (my only disappointment...I told you I was fussy...it should have been leaf tea, maybe Tregothnan to keep it Cornish? ..not teabags in our teapot, to match the quality of the rest of the experience) ..the bedrooms are superb with exquisite views and comfortable beds. All immaculately clean. We stayed in Spencer overlooking the deep wooded valley and heard owls at night. There was a lovely country house party feel to the evening with other guests all mingling and chatting round the honesty bar. We didn't stay for Dinner but wished we had as it looked wonderful. Yet it was all very down to earth and unpretentious. I simply can't stop talking about this place now. We will definitely be back. Long may it stay the same!

Room Tip: They are all gorgeous. Just depends on how much you are willing to spend! Some have a river view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

What a fabulous place to stay, the house despite it being big has a real feel of a family home. Sarah was fantastic in ensuring we were welcomed and looked after during our stay. The history of this castle is interesting and the grounds are beautiful and tranquil with amazing views.
Unfortunately our stay was very short but we will definitely be back and will strongly recommend it to our friends & family. Forgot to mention breakfast was delicious.

Room Tip: Tillie room has a fabulous large bathroom including roll top bath with amazing views of the river Ta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Stayed for 3 nights in September in Tillie room - massive bathroom with roll-top bath and walk in shower. Wonderful view of the Tamar and beyond.

Wonderful breakfast - and very helpful staff. Do go for a walk down around the estate - especially down to the boat house for views of the river.

Will be back for certain.

Room Tip: Go for a river view room - Tillie or Coryton both have the huge bathrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

We stayed at Pentillie in the Coryton room for two nights, 2nd and 3rd Sept, to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary and couldn't have wished for a better place to stay for a rare couple of nights away by ourselves.
Everything was perfect, including the weather! - the views on a sunny afternoon down to the River Tamar are just stunning. It is such a peaceful setting and anyone like us with a busy, hectic, noisy life filled with teenagers and school runs will appreciate the total silence and the stunning gardens and views. Literally the only noises we could hear were bird song, buzzing bees and the clock chiming on the hour.
The house itself is also perfect - it is truly stately and luxurious (even 'posh'!) but at the same time not at all stuffy or intimidating! We felt totally relaxed and 'at home' from the first moments.
The breakfast was delicious on both days, the fresh fruit salad had at least 7 different types of fruit, the croissants were perfection, the cooked breakfast was filling and tasty, the eggs were cooked perfectly, the bacon incredible and the french toast which I had on day 2 was simply melt-in-the-mouth yummy! ....I could go on and on!
The staff were all lovely and would do anything to help. We had ordered a picnic hamper for day 2 but then changed our minds and asked them to save it for us to have in the evening. They said they would leave it in the kitchen fridge for us after showing us where we could find plates etc to help ourselves to later on. Sally then came in later especially to check we had found it and had all we need.
Thank you so much to Sammie and the family for sharing your family home, and for a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: They are all beautiful, from what we could see, and even the back ones have stunning views of the ga...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat, Oman
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

After finding Pentillie on trip advisor we decided to stop a night on our way to Cornwall. We wished we had stayed longer! It's a beautiful place. It has a sort of traditional stately home style but with modern touches (like an amazing bathroom). The family story also makes it a really interesting place to stay, which is rather unique. The views down to the river are absolutely stunning, and as we were lucky with the weather we enjoyed a couple of walks in the grounds with the very friendly resident labs!

The best thing was the service - warm and welcoming and exactly as it should be. We stayed in the Coryton room which has views down to the river and one of the nicest bathrooms I have ever had in a hotel/b&b. And I've stayed in a lot!

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone who wants a bit of luxury in a beautiful setting with great service.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

The most amazing place to stay, you will not be disappointed. Every aspect of our stay was beyond expectations, stunning room, wonderful walks, delicious breakfast, and great touches like the welly boot room, books to read, honesty bar, the key and towels for the pool... thank you so much for a brilliant stay.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mellion
1.8 mi away
St Mellion International Resort
13.9 mi away
Talland Bay Hotel
Talland Bay Hotel
#1 of 1 in Porthallow
855 reviews
7.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.1 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
2.9 mi away
China Fleet Country Club
2.8 mi away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#4 of 4 in Saltash
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Pentillie Castle

Property: Pentillie Castle
Address: Saint Mellion, Saltash PL12 6QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash > Saint Mellion
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Mellion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pentillie Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 17th century, Pentillie Castle is situated in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty on the Cornish banks of the River Tamar. Set on an estate that spans almost 2000 acres, the Castle offers luxurious B&B accommodation as well as exclusive hire for groups. All 9 bedrooms are en-suite (some with Victorian style roll-top baths!) offering views over the River Tamar and surrounding woodland. Relax in the Drawing Room where you can help yourself to a drink (or two!) from the honesty bar, sit out on the terrace or enjoy yourself in the Games Room. There is also a solar-heated outdoor swimming pool (open Apr-Sept). There are plenty of activities to enjoy in the local area, from fishing, cycling, hiking and golf to zip lining through the trees. Plymouth is only a 20 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Pentillie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentillie Castle Hotel Saltash

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing