We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pentillie Castle
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Crooked Inn(Saltash)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Horn Of Plenty(Gulworthy)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (343)
Filter reviews
343 results
Traveller rating
334
8
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
334
8
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstamar riververy special placeb bextensive groundsmagical placesitting roomfelt totallyhonesty barfour poster bedlovely bathroomlog firecream teapeace and quietdown to earthevening mealcountry houserelaxing break
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
202 - 207 of 343 reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2014

One of my sons recently commented on the fact that my ratings tend to be on the very good or excellent side rather than on the poor or terrible side. My reply was of course that it's not surprising as we always choose our B&B:s and hotels based on tripadvisor. Pentillie Castle is no exception it is indeed a wonderful place. Everything has already been said about this amazing B&B. The rooms are exquisite with all possible enmities, including real ground coffee and a very interesting DVD describing the fascinating story of the castle, its renovation etc. We were upgraded, and when arriving were served tea and scones. The surroundings are amazing. You feel like you are in another century or in the TV-series Down Town Abby, when walking down to the river or to the mausoleum. This is the perfect place to host a big party like a wedding or a birthday party. My wife and I wish the owners of Pentillie Castle good luck in the future and needless to say we would love to come back again.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GothenburgProfessor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We can only say that our stay was most enjoyable. The rooms were as expected, as we have been staying at Pentillie Castle in 2013. The location is sensational. The personal, service and
all the people involved looking after the guests are very friendly, helpful and warm and welcoming. Our stay was almost like coming home, or staying with friends. There is nothing at
all that is wanting or lacing. A place we are looking forward to return back to.

Wilfried and Brigitte Kopp - Susanne and Fabienne Strauss - Germany

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wilfried K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pentillie, Owner at Pentillie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 17 July 2014

Dear Wilfried, Brigitte, Susanne and Fabienne,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Pentillie. We're glad that you had such an enjoyable (and welcoming) holiday here!

We hope that you will all come back and stay at Pentillie Castle again.

Best wishes,
Sammie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The visit is like staying in a friends' country house. Staff are helpful and friendly and there is such a relaxed atmosphere. The bedroom contains all you might need and we enjoyed the home made shortbread. I enjoyed reading the history of the house and family I found there. The bathroom was a revelation! The view from both was beautiful looking across the garden to the winding river and the Devon countryside on the other side. The breakfast menu gave ample choice and the home made marmalade was delicious. The bacon was like bacon used to be. My only regret was that I could not stay longer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beryl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Only stayed one night but it was an exceptional sojourn. Everything was very well done - lovely, attentive staff, good food, beautiful bedroom, house and one of the prettiest corners of Cornwall. We felt really at home and thoroughly spoilt and rested. The weather was amazing and we even went in the heated outdoor pool. A real treat. Will definitely return and hopefully for longer. It would be a wonderful place for a family celebration or wedding too. Very interesting history of the castle and its owners.

Room Tip: Cockerels at 4.30 am meant I had to mark down sleep quality but that's the countryside for you. Earplugs are provided and I will use them next time.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PennyPL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I booked reservations at the Pentillie Castle with the thought that it would be a great way to visit the Plymouth area. What a perfect choice! Plymouth is not a place you want to drive and park, so following the Castle's suggestion, we use one of Plymouth's "park and go" lots. What a great way to visit the city. But that's only half the story. The best part of our four day stay was the warm welcome we received at Pentillie. Ted and Sarah were terrific hosts. Their story of how the family saved Pantillie is worth the trip. What a beautiful restoration of a classic manor home. The "dinners" in the kitchen were great fun as were the walks with the labs. And Sally and Dean, I cannot thank you enough for hanging out with my wife and I when we had to call the emergency medical people. And thank you Andrea. We love Cornwall, and we will be back to see you all again..

Room Tip: All the rooms are very nice.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pentillie, Owner at Pentillie Castle, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2014

Hello Dick, thank you for taking the time to review your break at Pentillie. We're delighted that you're feeling better and enjoyed your stay with us.

We feel that our homely AGA kitchen creates a lovely, relaxed ambiance for our DIY suppers, and gives guests like yourself the opportunity to enjoy a home cooked meal (and more time at Pentillie!) without the hassle of driving to dine out.

Sally, Dean and Andrea all send their regards... the dogs have missed you walking them too!

If you do manage to book another stay here, do come along to one of our guided garden tours where either one of us, or Sammie, leads the tour and delves into the history, secrets and scandals of Pentillie Castle!

Take care, and we look forward to hearing from you again.


Kind regards,

Ted and Sarah

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews