We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect!”
Review of Pentillie Castle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pentillie Castle
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed in Pentillie for two nights. The service is very friendly and the owners make it a point to be personally involved. The house is tastefully furnished, with paintings of family members dating back centuries. We stayed in the Dewhurst suite, which is really big, with separate living and sleeping rooms, and the bathroom luxurious. The view from the room over the gardens to the river Tamar is spectacular. A walk through the huge grounds to the river and to the old Mausoleum is highly recommended.
The hotel does not offer a formal dinner but you can dine in the nearby restaurants and pubs. If you do not feel like driving you can request an infornal dinner, which you heat up yourself in the oven. If you want to eat in, make sure you tell them on time, preferably right after breakfast! We were too late, which was a pity, as I was quite looking forward to using the AGA and eating in the house. After dinner you can help yourself to a drink from the honesty bar in the morning room and relax.
Breakfast is very tasty and the dining room is bright and friendly.
Children are welcome and there is a heated outdoor pool.
Although Pentillie is a hotel, the owners have succeeded in creating an atmosphere in which we felt totally at home. We will definitely come again. Highly recommended.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Aiola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pentillie, Owner at Pentillie Castle, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Pentillie Castle.

We are delighted that you enjoyed many aspects of your stay, and apologise that you were unable to take advantage of one of our 'D-I-Y suppers'. We normally ask for a supper request prior to 12 noon so that we can ensure we can get it ready in time due to other events, staffing etc. There is often some flexibility on this time, although sadly not on this occasion.

We look forward to welcoming you back, and to making sure that we can organise a 'supper' for you.

With kind regards, Sammie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
188
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 20 August 2014

From the moment we arrived we were greeted with warmth, it was raining and by the time we stepped out of the car,an umbrella was being held over our heads!
The sun later came out, so we ventured off for a walk with a fantastic map to show us our many options. The room was perfect, my partner said the best night sleep he had ever had. I personally adored having the choice of a huge bath or drench shower - I used both! We had a wonderful local evening out, recommended by out hosts. Breakfast was delicious and nothing lacked. Just a pity we had to leave. We will return!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CEMJONESY87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We stayed one night at Pentillie in July 2014 and I can't recommend it enough. The house and grounds are lovely, we had picnic and watched a play in the gardens. After a lovely sleep in a big comfy bed and a cracking breakfast we ambled around the gardens to enjoy the views and tranquil countryside accompanied by a very dog who adopted us as his new friends. I couldn't find fault with anything about Pentillie. The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely go back!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Spencer room, beautifully decorated, luxurious and so comfortable! There are lots o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlmondJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pentillie, Owner at Pentillie Castle, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to review your stay at Pentillie Castle.

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, and were able to take advantage of our outdoor theatre event during your stay.

We are looking forward to our first 'Outdoor Cinema' event this weekend - we will be showing War Horse. Sadly all the rooms are booked or we would invite you back, but fingers crossed it will prove a success and be something we continue with in 2015.

Best wishes, Sammie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Somerset
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Beautifully restored and a wonderful place to take in the countryside. Very friendly people and dogs! The Aga suppers taken outside on the terrace were wonderful. Lots of space to explore and plenty of different rooms to sit in so felt like we had the whole place to ourselves at times.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BluerunqueenSomerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I spent a night here this week and thought that it was a wonderful setting, beautiful building (inside and out) and the staff were all lovely.
I stayed on the ground floor and found the room rather small for the price. There wasn't much room around the bed and there was no real sitting area. There was no wardrobe, just an area under the stairs with a rail and some open shelves.
Full breakfast is served from 8:30 which is not much use to business folks. Good enough, they provided a lovely continental breakfast.
Overall beautiful but not worth £160 for one night's bed and continental.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoeGWD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pentillie, Owner at Pentillie Castle, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear JoeGWD,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at Pentillie Castle. We're sorry to hear that your room was not to your satisfaction. We have taken your comments on board and plan to make improvements such as installing a curtain to create more of a wardrobe.

There is normally a chair that sits in the ground floor bedroom, but this was removed to create more space for disabled guests staying there, and was unfortunately not put back during your stay.

With regards to breakfast, the majority of our guests tend to stay for leisure, and so 8:30-10:30am for breakfast is popular. However we can appreciate that this may not be suitable for business guests, in which case we offer a continental breakfast to enjoy before an early start.

Your room rate should have been reduced by £15 to account for your single occupancy. Elaine will be in touch shortly to issue you a refund.

If you have any questions regarding the above please don't hesitate to contact us in the office on 01579 350044.

We look forward to hearing from you again.


Kind regards,
Sammie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The night my wife and I spent at Pentillie Castle was a birthday present for from our daughter and as the title suggests it was a marvellous experience. The room was excellent with all of the facilities provided to a very high standard indeed; the view from the windows of the Tillie Room over the woods to the River Tamar was spectacular. The welcome, including the greeting from the dogs, was most warm. The Castle is situated in quite extensive grounds and it is possible to take walks through the woods, open ground and down by the river. We opted to eat in during the evening and found the ploughman's first class; there are a number of good public houses nearby where food is available if required. The members of the family and the staff went out their way to make our stay a pleasant one. The Pentillie Breakfast in the morning was excellent. I have a personal affinity to Pentillie Castle having been born there during WW2 so for me the visit was akin to a homecoming; I have no doubts that I shall return again.

Room Tip: An East facing room would have great views over woods to the River Tamar and if the weather is right...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeenshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Pentillie just continues to exceed our expectations every time we visit. Dean and Sally did their usual sterling job in welcoming us and making us feel at home (Sally, your breakfast today was a triumph!) . The grounds are still exquisite - even in the rain! It was lovely to see Sammie, Marc and Charlie - thanks for popping over, guys.
We'll be back - soon!

Room Tip: We stayed in Tillie this time - but every room is fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hadleymike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pentillie, Owner at Pentillie Castle, responded to this review, 5 September 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay Mike and Chris. It was lovely to welcome you back and to take time to relive your wonderful wedding last year. None of us could believe that a year had passed already - crazy times.
We look forward to seeing you again before too long.
Best wishes, Sammie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Saint Mellion
1.8 mi away
St Mellion International Resort
9.1 mi away
Boringdon Hall Hotel and Spa
7.3 mi away
Tavistock House Hotel
Tavistock House Hotel
#1 of 5 in Tavistock
5.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
China Fleet Country Club
23.5 mi away
Bovey Castle Hotel
Bovey Castle Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Bovey
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
2.8 mi away
Crooked Inn
Crooked Inn
#3 of 4 in Saltash
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pentillie Castle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pentillie Castle

Property: Pentillie Castle
Address: Saint Mellion, Saltash PL12 6QD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cornwall > Saltash > Saint Mellion
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Saint Mellion
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Pentillie Castle 5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the 17th century, Pentillie Castle is situated in an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty on the Cornish banks of the River Tamar. Set on an estate that spans almost 2000 acres, the Castle offers luxurious B&B accommodation as well as exclusive hire for groups. All 9 bedrooms are en-suite (some with Victorian style roll-top baths!) offering views over the River Tamar and surrounding woodland. Relax in the Drawing Room where you can help yourself to a drink (or two!) from the honesty bar, sit out on the terrace or enjoy yourself in the Games Room. There is also a solar-heated outdoor swimming pool (open Apr-Sept). There are plenty of activities to enjoy in the local area, from fishing, cycling, hiking and golf to zip lining through the trees. Plymouth is only a 20 minute drive away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pentillie Castle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pentillie Castle Hotel Saltash

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing