We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buddhist bed & breakfast, lights off at 9.30 PM”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Kadampa

Hotel Kadampa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Schin op Geul
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Kadampa
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
119 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Buddhist bed & breakfast, lights off at 9.30 PM”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

This is the weirdest place we have ever been. The location is perfect, river front and a good starting point for challenging biking and easy hiking. The people are friendly and the rooms are clean.
Now for the bad news.
Due to single wooden floors, the building is noisy. The bathroom is tiny, the shower themostate was defect (burning hot!). The beds have oldfashioned plastic sheets to protect the matrass. No airco. Windows have no mosquito defense (riverside setting offers a good breeding place for the buzzers) WiFi did not work.
"Vegetarian breakfast" means just a limited survival offer. I wonder if they ever taste their own coffee.
The garden behind the house is a jungle. The chair with some late afternoon sun was a bamboo left over at the parking lot. No alcohol at this "terrace"
And above all: lights in the sitting area are off at 9.30 PM sharp.
€ 70,00 for a double room is overpriced. No reduction for the third night.
We had a big laugh over it all. The word "zen" got a new demention to us.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bertha B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1
    5
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
4
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

This hotel is part of a large meditation Group where you can lern to meditate at over 600 centres around the world. Every one is helpful and kind and staying here is a complete delight. Beds are comfortable and the food is delicious and vegetarian

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindaWrigglesworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

We used this hotel as the starting point for visiting Maastricht and other smaller cities such Valkenburg. It is situated in the hilly(for Dutch standards) countryside just 20 min drive to Maastricht. As the name tells itself, it is connected with a buddhism and serves also for theirs conventions. At the time of our stay, only two or three rooms were taken, which was splendid. Namely, hotel is a nice bulidling, but the walls are thin as a paper. Despite that I slept there like a baby. We were given the oval room on the second floor, because of all the windows I felt like I was in opera box. Otherwise the room was basic and a bit obsolete. But it had anything you need. The best was the slepping quality and the view of a green meadow with two bulls pasturing.
The breakfast was served in a cosy living/dinning room. Because of the buddhist nature of the hotel, the breakfast was vegetarian, using only local bio products. I must admit, I am more like a meat person, but it was a whole new experience.
The village is typically well settled as everything in The Netherlands and you have everything you need. Some restaurants, bars, small grocery, gas station, train station with fast connection to Maastricht and bike rentals. It is worth mentioning that you can reach the city of Valkenburg in 20 minutes by bike.
All in all Kadampa is a splendid place if you look for peaceful, cosy place to stay away from the everyday problems.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MannyRiviera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
47 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2012

Hotel Kadampa is like a buddhist retreat house. It looks like it might have been a mansion at some point and converted into a hotel. It is a pleasant building with many guest rooms. The rooms are quite basic but clean and has everything one would want for a weekend away, including free wi-fi!

For us, we wanted a break from the city and were looking for somewhere serene and simple. We got it here! Our room enjoyed a pleasant outlook over the fields and the river next to the property. The public common rooms like the lounge room and the dining room are spacious and very relaxing....it has a very homely atmosphere.

Breakfast is served in the big dining room and is quite sufficient....like what one would get from one;s own kitchen...cereal, boiled egg and very nice coffee or tea.

Through the day, coffee and other refreshments plus extremely delicious cakes and pies are available at the dining room at very reasonable prices.

There is a buddhist meditation centre attached to the property where meditation sessions are held regularly and hotel guest are welcome to attend. We also did a lot of walking through the woods and visited nearby villages.

The hotel is at the edge of the Schin op Geul village and requires a pleasant 5-10 minute walk to the centre where the train station, little shops and other eating places are located. There is enough variety of cafes and restaurants in the village to last the weekend without the need to travel to the bigger town of Valkenburg.

We enjoyed our stay very much and will do it again very soon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank whiteroses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shoreham-by-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2011

We found the Kadampa hotel just as we expected; really peacefull and relaxing. The hotel is part of a Buddhist organisation, and their ethos is extended to all visitors. The room was comfortable and clean, although a little basic. We had a great view over the fields and river next to the hotel.

The owners helped us with walking routes, bike hire and places to eat in the village. They even helped us hose down our bikes after a muddy ride out. The breakfast is a good selection of the continental variety with cheese, cakes, pastries and a selection of breads.

The local cafes and eateries in Schin Op Guel all offered good evening meals so we didn't need to walk back into Valkenburg in the evening. The train station is a 5 minute walk away, and the Thermae 2000 spa is 20 mins away by bike and well worth a visit for the day.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Schin op Geul hotels
0.4 mi away
Landhotel Restaurant Heuvelzicht
Landhotel Restaurant Heuvelzicht
#1 of 6 in Schin op Geul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bemelmans
Hotel Bemelmans
#2 of 6 in Schin op Geul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Op De Beek
Hotel Op De Beek
#5 of 6 in Schin op Geul
3.0 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bungalowpark Schin op Geul
Bungalowpark Schin op Geul
#1 of 5 in Schin op Geul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 11 reviews
0.4 mi away
Panorama Sousberg B&B
Panorama Sousberg B&B
#2 of 4 in Schin op Geul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Salden
Hotel Salden
#3 of 6 in Schin op Geul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kadampa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kadampa

Property: Hotel Kadampa
Address: Graafstraat 39, 6305 BD Schin op Geul, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Limburg Province > Schin op Geul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Schin op Geul
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kadampa 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Also Known As:
Hotel Kadampa Schin Op Geul, The Netherlands - Limburg

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing