We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
RafJam's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Irish Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hanau, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Paradise”
Reviewed 16 May 2013

I think this is a place that comes closest to paradise, cool mountain setting with a cold natural pool from a mountain spring, the garden is set up carefully to match the surroundings, a place full of peace and relaxation.

We just walked in and had no reservation so there was only two people from the staff, but they did everything to make us feel welcome, a place I surely recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjam10, Owner at RafJam's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Dear Utah H, Thank you for your review, we were very happy to welcome you both here and are very pleased you enjoyed your stay. AT Rafjam we aim to please, please come and visit again soon......Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    30
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
60
21
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Stockholms Län, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Great place and fantastic people! We stayed at their wooden cottage and it was fabulous. The bathrum is absolutley stunning and so is the natural stone on bottom floor. The view from the upstares bedrooms are also really nice. The small stream outside and the beautiful nature really makes this place magical. We had a lot of business in Kingston but did not want to stay there as it's so much husslin everywhere. So it was nice to get a way up to the mountains and eat some good food at Rafjam. No people trying to sell you stuff just some nice food, john holt and some red stripe. We had a 1 year old with us so we got very happy about having some kitchen facilites. Even if you are not visiting the mountains and you just have business in Kingston it's worth the 40 min drive down just to get out of town for the night.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjam10, Owner at RafJam's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Hello Tom, It was a great pleasure having you here at Rafjam, we saw you really loved it here to be able to return three times in one trip, is an honor to us, Thank you for visiting us and hope to see you again soon.

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St-Quentin, France
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

Great spot from with to discover the blue mountains scenery and atmosphere.
Getting to rafjam from Kingston is easy, rather ask for their preferred taxi driver or drive up the hills. Ask for directions. The way from the main road to the B&B is a dirt road and part of the experience, I had no problem with my rented toyota Corolla, by night.
Arriving there, the place is very clean, large rooms and bathrooms, and large smiles welcoming you.
We were a group of 14 and had no problem having our meals on the deck outside. There are covered places if you fear the sun or the rain. The menu is great with choices for various tastes, we really appreciated the local meals from breakfast to dinner.
The temperature was naturally cooler in the mountain than on the seaside, but there was no need to have a sweater on at this time. we rather had a swim in the natural swimming pool and a red stripe at the Tiki Bar.
We had first chose this B&B against the other short listed because it had many activities that could be organized. We visited a coffee plantation and went up blue mountain peak by night .
Beyond the scene, the place, the atmosphere, was a dedicated team managed by Susan. Very open and willing to share what their country has best in the mountains. Thank you all for taking care of us ! We had a great time and know where to go when we come back in the mountains.
Andrew

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjam10, Owner at RafJam's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Hello Andrew, my staff and i always feels good when our guests can leave and are totally happy, we are very happy we could cater for your group and deliver in a great manner, We are happy you had a great time here. Please we will welcome you back at Rafjam the next time you visit. see you soon......Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port of Spain, Trinidad
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Me and my boyfriend went here together with two friends and their baby. We came here twice, both time because we had some things to do in Kingston, and we didn't want to live in the town. We shared the tree house together. What a place! Beutiful garden, wonderful house, and kind staff. The owners, and the staff really make you feel welcome and at home.

Good to know is that the road to Raf Jam is kind of a adventure. We had a rental car, and loads of luggage. Some of us had to walk a part of the road. But, as long as you are careful it is really nog a problem to get there!

I highly reccomend everybody to stay here! You will probably not regret it.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lovisa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjam10, Owner at RafJam's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Hello Lovisa, Thank you for your review, We are extremely happy you had a great time here, we were very happy to host you. Thanks again and hope to see you soon.....Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 March 2013

I came up to RafJam to escape from Kingston for a bit. I'm really glad I did. Even though its a short drive from the city, it was like staying in a treehouse surrounded by waterfalls and beautiful wildlife. And, best of all, wonderful Jamaican people.
Susan and Raf were kind, down to earth and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shantiwww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventnor, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Spending 4 day's with my parents in this isolated place down a dirt road next to the little mountain village called Red Light i begun wondering if I would be able to enjoy myself, and regardless to say I loved it. Susan is lovely, and the family including their dogs are wonderful, they truly make you feel at home! The sound of the crashing waterfall in the garden puts you in a beautiful place, and the little paths leading up to the mountains are great to go exploring in and sight-seeing. I hope you're enjoying Yatzee! Its a fun game! Overall you need to visit this place to truly experience the wonder of it. Hope everyone is well and say hi to William!

Room Tip: They have an amazing little new cottage they've been building up themselves, and should be finis...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatxiFC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2013

We were 3 people, spent 4 nights here (although 3 would probably have been enough). All was fine, we were given 2 rooms, instead of 1, shame the wifi didn't work much, but we survived! Do think you need a torch to be able to go out in the evening, as it's quite a walk from the road. Susan and family were very friendly, and work so hard to make this all okay. I can imagine that it will only get better and better, more and more beautiful, as the family continue to improve the facilities. The river is fantastic, the gardens impressive, really hope Susan gets to buy her 4x4, because she really needs it! Good luck!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irish Town
6.2 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#8 of 25 in Kingston
238 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
836 reviews
2.6 mi away
Starlight Chalet & Health Spa
Starlight Chalet & Health Spa
#1 of 1 in Blue Mountains National Park
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Strawberry Hill
Strawberry Hill
#4 of 25 in Kingston
332 reviews
4.5 mi away
Neita's Nest
Neita's Nest
#1 of 30 in Kingston
188 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mount Edge Guest House
Mount Edge Guest House
#3 of 4 in Saint Andrew Parish
103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RafJam's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RafJam's Bed & Breakfast

Property: RafJam's Bed & Breakfast
Address: Red Light District, Newcastle Road, Irish Town, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Andrew Parish > Irish Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Irish Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — RafJam's Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the valleys of the Blue Mountains, Rafjam Bed and Breakfast offers an authentic, local Jamaican experience like none other. Rafjam is located up the B1 highway from Papine in Kingston. After about a 30 minute drive and arrival to the town of Red Light, turn right on Hopewell Road and drive all the way down the cul-de-sac. Nestled between two rivers, the guest accommodations are perched high above the natural scenery: the cascading river in our backyard or the fleeting glimpse of a hummingbird sipping rain water from the petals of a heliconia. The climate in the mountains drifts from sun to cloud all day, with scattered rain. Rafjam offers an ideal spot to soak in the soothing Jamaican sun while not getting scorched along the way. You can always jump into one of the many freshwater pools on the property to cool off, or climb up to the 15 foot waterfall just five minutes away. Born and raised in Springdale Cove, Susan inherited her parent's house and decided to refurbish. Eager to offer a taste of paradise to everyone, she opened these magnificent Blue Mountain Cottages with the help of her husband. This vivacious, real Jamaican lady and her professional, laid back team will welcome you and provide whatever you need for you to enjoy your stay. Rafjam's kitchen serves a variety of succulent Jamaican and international cuisines. Our team includes world renowned chefs who evoke their Caribbean, North and South American, and European palates with their culinary creations. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are available. A special request? We will cook according to your taste. Many of the items we serve are grown organically right here in our own backyard or acquired directly from local farmers. A global, eco-friendly gustatory experience in the quiet heart of the Blue Mountains.Five star service in a family setting... you will surely be back again! Rafjam: service beyond expectation... Rafjam also has a hostel in Kingston towN,for those of you who wants to stay closer to Kingston for night life, beach, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your RafJam's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafjam`s Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages And Nature Hotel Irish Town
Rafjam`s Bed And Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages And Nature

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing