We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“From a Little Cottage in Irish Town, St. Andrew”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
RafJam's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Irish Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
1 review
“From a Little Cottage in Irish Town, St. Andrew”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My first encounter with Rafjams Bed and Breakfast was after a near death experience while hiking..Calm down… all that happened is that it was my first hiking experience and I was overweight, unfit, I underestimated the journey and just sat in the bushes every few minutes until strength returned to my legs. This hike was the beginning of so many journeys for me .....READ MORE ON MY FULL REVIEW HERE http://dabluecommunity.com/publishing/authors/840-dee-hunt/3453-from-a-little-cottage-in-irish-town-st-andrew

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee32hunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjam10, Owner at RafJam's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 December 2014
Hello

Oh!! Thank you for a lovely review, of course we are always working on our product to improve it for you our guests, we always doing something new to make you very happy and comfortable here at Rafjam.

Thank you for visiting and hoping to see you soon.

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    29
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
24
60
21
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
De Pere
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

If you want a lovely place to stay in the beautiful Blue Mountains, Rafjam is a good choice. The streams and water falls were peaceful. The rooms were exceptionally clean. Susan's family is wonderful and provided a peaceful place to rest and enjoy the Blue Mountains. The breakfast was included and the other meals were reasonably priced and very good. Their tour guide to a coffee plantation was outstanding.
Make sure you have a good tour guide to get you to Rafjam and back. The roads are rough to say the least. After two days of looking on line, we found Courtney Minors. He offers several different Blue Mountain tours. He is interesting, knowledgeable, flexible and will take you where you want to go. He picked us up in Montego Bay and three days later dropped us off in Ocho Rios.

Room Tip: We wished we could have stayed longer than 2 nights. We were in a room. The cottage might be our ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsshareOURTRIPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjam10, Owner at RafJam's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 December 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for a lovely review, yes we have a great tour guide to the coffee plantation, we also offer transfer and pickup from Rafjam. We are quite happy you had a great stay with us.

Thank you

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We travelled to Jamaica in Jan. 2014 and spent 4 days at Rafjam's B&B. The lush scenery, fresh cooler air and green hills were absolutely breathtaking. Nestled in a valley in the Blue Mountains, this place is really unique and buzzing with life. We stayed in our own private cottage which was literally built along the side of a rock wall. With our own balcony, sitting area and natural swimming pond this little spot provided a very relaxing retreat like feel. Susan and her team were friendly and hospitable. In terms of meals, there aren't many options in the area so we were glad to have Susan and her family provide full breakfast buffets and dinner each night. Meal times were great for socializing with other travellers and comparing stories about the day. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for an authentic Jamaican experience that's a little off the beaten path.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattica2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjam10, Owner at RafJam's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hello Mattica

Thanks for your review, it was a pleasure having you staying in Bedrock Cottage, so sorry about our menu at the time you visit, but as most of our guests know Rafjam is always improving and we have now reviewed our menu so you now have more options. Thanks again for a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Willemstad, Curacao
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

A few days ago we left Rafjam with a little bit of pain in our hearts. We loved the atmosphere, the people and the beautiful and fresh surroundings. What we wanted, it was all there. Susan is a lovely host and her team is absolutely fun to have around. They made us all feel right at home. We loved it. We would like to thank Susan for sharing her magic place, her time, her energy and her passion with us! For now we say goodbye....but not for long...We will visit Rafjam again. We are sure of it.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarjoleinLapre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjam10, Owner at RafJam's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hello Marjolein

Thanks for a lovely review, it broke my heart always to see my guests leave its like real family going away for a while, and thats exactly how i felt when you guys were leaving, it was such a pleasure having you visiting us, thanks again.

see you soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2014

If you have a chance, i would suggest you rent the cottage. It comes with your private kitchen, bbq and natural swimming pool. At night you get a firefly-firework at no cost at all. Excellent place to relax after the stress of travelling the island. Superfriendly owner and staff.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luc f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjam10, Owner at RafJam's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hi Luc

Thank you so much for your review, we are extremely happy you enjoyed every minute of your stay with us, thank you for your review and see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Antonio, Jamaica
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Susan's Rafjam is a gem: nice location, nice place, nice people, nice gardens, nice vibes, nice excursions to do around! I would recommand it to all the people looking for an authentic and charming b&b where to stay in the Blue Mountains.
Big up to Susan and her team for the good work!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjam10, Owner at RafJam's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hello Latitude

Thanks for your review

If i can count correctly you have been here over five times and for me that is a wonderful thing, We are happy we were able to deliver to you our valued guests. Thanks for your review.

See you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hoensbroek, Limburg, Netherlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2014

My husband and I visited Rafjam in January of 2014. This was the most memorable portion of an exquisite trip around the entire perimeter of Jamaica. The staff is endearing and incredibly hospitable. The location is spectacular. We drove, so getting in and out of the area with a rental car is treacherous, but the experience of this oasis is well worth the transportation difficulties. Go!!

Room Tip: We ended up in the "Cottage" which away from the main lobby includes two floors (the livin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shayla L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjam10, Owner at RafJam's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hello Shayla

Wow, its such a pleasure to hear that we ended your vacation and it was more than worth the terrain, Thank you for your review it was a pleasure having you visiting us at Rafjam. We choose our staff very carefully, we choose people from the area who loves and enjoy their job, you will see from our housekeepers, Chef, gardener etc. everyone is happy and that's because management takes really good care of them, they are like family not like mere workers and that is why they deliver to the max. Thanks again for coming.

See you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irish Town
2.6 mi away
Starlight Chalet & Health Spa
Starlight Chalet & Health Spa
#1 of 1 in Blue Mountains National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 817 reviews
1.0 mi away
Strawberry Hill
Strawberry Hill
#5 of 25 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Great Huts
Great Huts
#1 of 27 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 764 reviews
4.5 mi away
Neita's Nest
Neita's Nest
#1 of 28 in Kingston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
29.1 mi away
Zion Country Beach Cabins
Zion Country Beach Cabins
#2 of 27 in Port Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RafJam's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RafJam's Bed & Breakfast

Property: RafJam's Bed & Breakfast
Address: Red Light District, Newcastle Road, Irish Town, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Andrew Parish > Irish Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Irish Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — RafJam's Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the valleys of the Blue Mountains, Rafjam Bed and Breakfast offers an authentic, local Jamaican experience like none other. Rafjam is located up the B1 highway from Papine in Kingston. After about a 30 minute drive and arrival to the town of Red Light, turn right on Hopewell Road and drive all the way down the cul-de-sac. Nestled between two rivers, the guest accommodations are perched high above the natural scenery: the cascading river in our backyard or the fleeting glimpse of a hummingbird sipping rain water from the petals of a heliconia. The climate in the mountains drifts from sun to cloud all day, with scattered rain. Rafjam offers an ideal spot to soak in the soothing Jamaican sun while not getting scorched along the way. You can always jump into one of the many freshwater pools on the property to cool off, or climb up to the 15 foot waterfall just five minutes away. Born and raised in Springdale Cove, Susan inherited her parent's house and decided to refurbish. Eager to offer a taste of paradise to everyone, she opened these magnificent Blue Mountain Cottages with the help of her husband. This vivacious, real Jamaican lady and her professional, laid back team will welcome you and provide whatever you need for you to enjoy your stay. Rafjam's kitchen serves a variety of succulent Jamaican and international cuisines. Our team includes world renowned chefs who evoke their Caribbean, North and South American, and European palates with their culinary creations. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are available. A special request? We will cook according to your taste. Many of the items we serve are grown organically right here in our own backyard or acquired directly from local farmers. A global, eco-friendly gustatory experience in the quiet heart of the Blue Mountains.Five star service in a family setting... you will surely be back again! Rafjam: service beyond expectation... Rafjam also has a hostel in Kingston towN,for those of you who wants to stay closer to Kingston for night life, beach, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers and Expedia so you can book your RafJam's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafjam`s Bed And Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages And Nature
Rafjam`s Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages And Nature Hotel Irish Town

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing