We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place ever!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
RafJam's Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 1 Irish Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Norrkoping, Sweden
1 review
“Best place ever!”
Reviewed 19 April 2014

I found out about Rafjam through Tripadvisor and booked it a couple of months before my departure. Susan was so kind and helpful in our mail-correspondence and I couldn't wait for getting there after reading all the great reviews.

Rafjam was all I ever dreamed of. It's located in beautiful surroundings, the staff is amazing and my cheesefilled chicken was the best meal I had during my two weeks in Jamaica, of course with a Red Stripe to go with it:)

I only spent one night there, in the beautiful tree-house that's feels luxury and comfortable all in one. I spent some hours on the balcony, just feeling the peaceful atmosphere, walked around and said hello to the cute puppies and enjoyed some time at the terrace with some good music surrounding me. The beautiful nature and peace and stillness makes you feel that you're in another world.

I fell in love with the place at first sight as I told Susan many times, "I love this, I can almost cry", and it was true. I so hope that I can go back some day and stay much longer.

I wish Susan, her son, Richard The driver, and everyone else I met the best, see you next time!

//Helena from Sweden

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helena J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjam10, General Manager at RafJam's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Hello Helena

Wow! such a wonderful review on Rafjam, i know if you ever return to Jamaica this is your home away from home. I am very happy we delivered great service and do hope our team will continue to make everyone happy.

Thanks

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    129
    30
    5
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
60
21
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I had the pleasure of staying at rafjam for 3 nights. The service was absolutely amazing, the food was made at your request and was always delicious. The entire staff was warm and welcoming, with clean rooms and a beautiful property which includes a breath taking 20 foot waterfall. I cannot wait to stay at raf jam again!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjam10, General Manager at RafJam's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Hello

Thank you for your, review, i am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that the peace and serenity of the property was one of the things you were happy about.

Thanks for your review

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Rafjam was the perfect get away from the hustle of everyday life. a beautiful bed and breakfest tucked away within jah's magnificent mountinous beauty. Rafjam was exactly what i needed and was looking for. I felt safe and welcomed with all rafjam staff. Many thanks to susan and rafjam for a blessed visit. One love...

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Philwhite79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjam10, General Manager at RafJam's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Hello

Thanks for your wonderful review. A pleasure it is to know that we are always at your service, on behalf of the entire staff at Rafjam we take the opportunity to say thank you and hope to see you again soon.

Best

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Set in the spectacular Blue Mountains, Rafjam is fun friendly casual place. The lush grounds means that nature is right outside your window. Great hikes abound nearby, or you can just chill. We enjoyed visiting a nearby coffee plantation, such good coffee! The colorful walls give the property a fun vibe, and you can enjoy mingling with other guests in the common areas. Susan and the staff are so warm, they'll treat you like family. The prices represent good value. You're in the countryside, and that means the roads can be a little rough sometimes, but the surroundings make it so worth it!

And how many places can boast a river complete with waterfall right in the backyard?

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjam10, General Manager at RafJam's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 August 2014
Hello

Thank you for a lovely review, we always do our best for our guests to enjoy themselves. and we are happy you are one of those guests.

Hope to see you again at Rafjam.

Best

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Saint Andrew, Jamaica
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2014

My first encounter with Rafjams Bed and Breakfast was after a near death experience while hiking..Calm down… all that happened is that it was my first hiking experience and I was overweight, unfit, I underestimated the journey and just sat in the bushes every few minutes until strength returned to my legs. This hike was the beginning of so many journeys for me .....READ MORE ON MY FULL REVIEW HERE http://dabluecommunity.com/publishing/authors/840-dee-hunt/3453-from-a-little-cottage-in-irish-town-st-andrew

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee32hunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjam10, Owner at RafJam's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 December 2014
Hello

Oh!! Thank you for a lovely review, of course we are always working on our product to improve it for you our guests, we always doing something new to make you very happy and comfortable here at Rafjam.

Thank you for visiting and hoping to see you soon.

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
De Pere
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

If you want a lovely place to stay in the beautiful Blue Mountains, Rafjam is a good choice. The streams and water falls were peaceful. The rooms were exceptionally clean. Susan's family is wonderful and provided a peaceful place to rest and enjoy the Blue Mountains. The breakfast was included and the other meals were reasonably priced and very good. Their tour guide to a coffee plantation was outstanding.
Make sure you have a good tour guide to get you to Rafjam and back. The roads are rough to say the least. After two days of looking on line, we found Courtney Minors. He offers several different Blue Mountain tours. He is interesting, knowledgeable, flexible and will take you where you want to go. He picked us up in Montego Bay and three days later dropped us off in Ocho Rios.

Room Tip: We wished we could have stayed longer than 2 nights. We were in a room. The cottage might be our ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank letsshareOURTRIPS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjam10, Owner at RafJam's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 29 December 2014
Hello

Thank you so much for a lovely review, yes we have a great tour guide to the coffee plantation, we also offer transfer and pickup from Rafjam. We are quite happy you had a great stay with us.

Thank you

Susan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We travelled to Jamaica in Jan. 2014 and spent 4 days at Rafjam's B&B. The lush scenery, fresh cooler air and green hills were absolutely breathtaking. Nestled in a valley in the Blue Mountains, this place is really unique and buzzing with life. We stayed in our own private cottage which was literally built along the side of a rock wall. With our own balcony, sitting area and natural swimming pond this little spot provided a very relaxing retreat like feel. Susan and her team were friendly and hospitable. In terms of meals, there aren't many options in the area so we were glad to have Susan and her family provide full breakfast buffets and dinner each night. Meal times were great for socializing with other travellers and comparing stories about the day. I would highly recommend this place to anyone looking for an authentic Jamaican experience that's a little off the beaten path.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mattica2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cjam10, Owner at RafJam's Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Hello Mattica

Thanks for your review, it was a pleasure having you staying in Bedrock Cottage, so sorry about our menu at the time you visit, but as most of our guests know Rafjam is always improving and we have now reviewed our menu so you now have more options. Thanks again for a lovely review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Irish Town
5.8 mi away
The Spanish Court Hotel
The Spanish Court Hotel
#1 of 25 in Kingston
840 reviews
6.2 mi away
Liguanea Club
Liguanea Club
#8 of 25 in Kingston
238 reviews
2.6 mi away
Starlight Chalet & Health Spa
Starlight Chalet & Health Spa
#1 of 1 in Blue Mountains National Park
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Strawberry Hill
Strawberry Hill
#4 of 25 in Kingston
334 reviews
24.8 mi away
Great Huts
Great Huts
#1 of 27 in Port Antonio
779 reviews
4.5 mi away
Neita's Nest
Neita's Nest
#1 of 30 in Kingston
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to RafJam's Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about RafJam's Bed & Breakfast

Property: RafJam's Bed & Breakfast
Address: Red Light District, Newcastle Road, Irish Town, Jamaica
Region: Caribbean > Jamaica > Saint Andrew Parish > Irish Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Irish Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — RafJam's Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Deep in the valleys of the Blue Mountains, Rafjam Bed and Breakfast offers an authentic, local Jamaican experience like none other. Rafjam is located up the B1 highway from Papine in Kingston. After about a 30 minute drive and arrival to the town of Red Light, turn right on Hopewell Road and drive all the way down the cul-de-sac. Nestled between two rivers, the guest accommodations are perched high above the natural scenery: the cascading river in our backyard or the fleeting glimpse of a hummingbird sipping rain water from the petals of a heliconia. The climate in the mountains drifts from sun to cloud all day, with scattered rain. Rafjam offers an ideal spot to soak in the soothing Jamaican sun while not getting scorched along the way. You can always jump into one of the many freshwater pools on the property to cool off, or climb up to the 15 foot waterfall just five minutes away. Born and raised in Springdale Cove, Susan inherited her parent's house and decided to refurbish. Eager to offer a taste of paradise to everyone, she opened these magnificent Blue Mountain Cottages with the help of her husband. This vivacious, real Jamaican lady and her professional, laid back team will welcome you and provide whatever you need for you to enjoy your stay. Rafjam's kitchen serves a variety of succulent Jamaican and international cuisines. Our team includes world renowned chefs who evoke their Caribbean, North and South American, and European palates with their culinary creations. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are available. A special request? We will cook according to your taste. Many of the items we serve are grown organically right here in our own backyard or acquired directly from local farmers. A global, eco-friendly gustatory experience in the quiet heart of the Blue Mountains.Five star service in a family setting... you will surely be back again! Rafjam: service beyond expectation... Rafjam also has a hostel in Kingston towN,for those of you who wants to stay closer to Kingston for night life, beach, etc. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your RafJam's Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rafjam`s Bed & Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages And Nature Hotel Irish Town
Rafjam`s Bed And Breakfast, Blue Mountain Cottages And Nature

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing