We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dinner was good, don't know about the hotel though”

Grenshotel de Jonckheer
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grenshotel de Jonckheer
Ranked #1 of 1 Ossendrecht B&B and Inns
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
87 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Dinner was good, don't know about the hotel though”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2012

We went there just for dinner, so I can't say anything about the quality of the hotel. It was quite crowded so it seems they are doing well. We had nice dinner, service was good, food was also fine. Would go there again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kamukwam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    17
    35
    4
    1
    2
See reviews for
10
17
2
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level Contributor
200 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

We chose this hotel due to the good reviews both the hotel and restaurant have received.

If you are travelling north into Holland, or south out of Holland, it is just 5 minutes from the main road on the outskirts of a small town, near Bergen op Zoom.

The attraction of the hotel is that it is less than 2 years old and has modern amenities and plenty of free parking.

We found all the staff to be friendly and efficient. All spoke at least some English.

The rooms are large and reasonably well furnished. The beds are soft, yet supportive.

The shower rooms are a good size, but only have soap dispensers on the wall and no other extras provided.

The towels are large and soft.

The television has a good choice of channels in different languages, including BBC 1 and BBC 2.

The food in the restaurant is not cheap, but is of very good quality. There is a choice of fish, meat and vegetarian main courses. There are hot and cold starters. The desserts tend feature a lot of cream and ice cream, but are never plain.

In addition to the a la carte menu they offer a 3 course menu, with no choice, at 29 euro’s and a 4 course chef’s surprise menu at 34 euro’s. We sampled both the 3 course menu and the a la carte and both were very good.

The menu has English translations, but a bit of guesswork is still required.

After such a good dinner, the breakfast was disappointing. Nevertheless, there is a limited selection of cereal, ham, cheese, fish, pastries and bread. Tinned fruit, yogurt and fruit juices are also provided. The only hot option is a boiled or fried egg, cooked to order.

The outside seating area and the restaurant are very popular with the locals, so make sure you reserve a table for dinner.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UkAlwaystravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012 via mobile

Came to Ossendrecht for a cycling event and luckily stayed at Grens Hotel. Can't speak too highly. The rooms are simple but fine, but the real joy is the dining room. Had two meals there and the food, wine and service were excellent, and quite reasonably priced.
Would return anytime.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geoff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

It was a nice surprise to discover this brand new hotel in the area. The Front Office Staff was very friendly, even showed us to our room. There is a lot of parking space, free Wifi, coffee and tea facilities in the room, a really nice bathroom... The breakfast was good, had healthy options, the chef comes and brings you really tasty scrambled eggs as well! I think this hotel would be perfect for both business and leisure travellers.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liensc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

It was a surprise to find a new, stylish and up-to-date hotel in this little corner of the country.
The hotel opened a few weeks earlier, which probably explains that there are few areas for improvement left. None of these however are a major concern.

Easy to find, nice & quiet area, plenty of parking space.
We received a friendly welcome and check in was one most efficient.
Hotel surroundings, reception area, rooms etc were all very clean and neat.
The rooms feature an elegant, contemporary warm design.

A few things that need to be looked at: quality of matrasses and pillows (supersoft), amenities (none available), no bottle of water (or coffee/tea available in room), split mirror in wardrobe not very handy, breakfast could have been more elaborated.

It is a good thing to see a new, nice and stylish small hotel in this area and I believe they deserve some credit in these first weeks to look at further small enhancements.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joris_R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ossendrecht
0.6 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Dekkers
#2 of 3 in Ossendrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
1.6 mi away
De Volksabdij
De Volksabdij
#1 of 3 in Ossendrecht
4.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
7.1 mi away
Grand Hotel and Residence De Draak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant Stadspark
6.0 mi away
Bed and Breakfast Ouwerveldezicht
Bed and Breakfast Ouwerveldezich...
#1 of 1 in Wouwse Plantage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
2.8 mi away
Tasty World
Tasty World
#1 of 1 in Hoogerheide
3.5 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grenshotel de Jonckheer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grenshotel de Jonckheer

Property: Grenshotel de Jonckheer
Address: Aanwas 17, 4641 JE Ossendrecht, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Brabant Province > Ossendrecht
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Ossendrecht
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Grenshotel de Jonckheer 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Evoline ltd so you can book your Grenshotel de Jonckheer reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing