We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for fishing”
Review of De Halve Maan

De Halve Maan
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
De Halve Maan
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bovenkarspel
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is managed by a family. They are very kind but no one will tell you the best spot for fishing... The hotel is very old style, almost like an hostel but clean, with good breakfast(europeAn style) and I also eat dinner there because is difficult find a restaurant in that small town. Home food but taste good...

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Fabio d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

We arrived here on the first night of a Shearings holiday 'Holland in Bloom'. Although we had been warned when our itinerary arrived that due to our late arrival at the hotel, we should eat our evening meal on the ferry crossing. However, we were not prepared for a one o'clock in the morning arrival and so by then we were ravenous having only had a sandwich at 4.30pm on the ferry. It would therefore have been nice to have been offered at minimum a drink of some description when we arrived hungry, thirsty and thoroughly worn out. We couldn't even make a cup of tea once in our room because the facilities were not provided.
The room proved to be extremely basic although clean. Towels were provided contrary to other reviews I had read but they were small, well-washed and practically threadbare.
Our room was on the front of the hotel and facing the main road through the village so apart from a two hour period of relative relief from traffic noise, we did not sleep well on each of the three nights we spent here. It didn't help that the AC outlet was situated directly underneath our window so we also had the noise from that to contend with.
Breakfasts were adequate but once the cooked items were gone they were gone and not replenished. The evening meals were set and indeed our coach driver informed us what we would be having each night before we even arrived as apparently the menu stays the same all the time. However, there was plenty of it but again it was very basic fare.
The staff were pleasant enough but once the meal was finished, they made it very clear that they wanted you out of the dining room so that they could set up for breakfast..
It was a long drive from Calais to the hotel and unfortunately our itinerary did not allow time to explore the village and surrounding area so we actually could have been anywhere for all we saw of it.
This is a holiday for people with lots of stamina who enjoy long and tiring coach journeys, basic accommodation and plain food. Definitely a no frills or thrills break!!

Room Tip: If you have mobility problems, ask for a room on the ground or first floor as the stairs are steep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank EileenandIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Like others before us we stayed at this hotel on a Shearings tour 27th to 29th April. Having read some of the previous comments on Trip Advisor we were a little concerned before arriving, however, we received a very warm welcome in this family run hotel. The rooms, although fairly basic, were clean and towels were changed daily, although a bit dated the bathroom had an excellent wet room shower, and bath towels were provided. The bed was comfortable and the duvet was warm. The food was very good and at breakfast we were offered the usual continental fare as well as a variety of cooked items which were available. Although there was no choice at the evening meal it was well cooked and there was plenty of it. The staff were very friendly and helpful and overall the only drawback was that smoking was allowed in the bar. We felt the dining room layout suited a coach holiday as it enabled you meet and chat with your fellow travellers. All in all for the money we paid we felt the hotel offered good value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Bazcoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The family run hotel was clean and the staff were friendly but it required a major facelift internally. Everywhere was brown even the bath, toilet and washbasin in our en-suite.
Allowing for the fact that this was a coach tour and they had to cater for 40 people. To sit down to tressle tables joined together with a paper roll for the table cloth was not on.
The food was poor as was its presentation.
The best part was the bar but that was spoiled by people smoking.

Room Tip: Choose floor 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelallaston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stayed here for three nights on a Shearings Tour [14th-16th April 2014]
very pleasant staff and owner at this family hotel .excellent breakfast and well cooked evening meal.the bedrooms and bath rooms were clean, warm and simple as is the hotel.
The only problem was smoking allowed in bar which the locals used and of course this made it rather unpleasant {smoking still allowed in public places Holland [ apparently at owners discretion]!! A lot more of us would have stayed in and used the bar if a "No Smoking Bar was available and it could have been done at little expense .but all in all we liked the hotel and would return .Charles and Liz Gray

Room Tip: Hotel is quiet and has a lift as stairs a bit narrow so i would think all rooms ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel on a Shearings tour last week. After seeing previous reviews we were a bit doubtful about it, but need not have been. We had a room with 3 twin beds even though there was only 2 of us. Our bathroom/wetroom was plenty big enough, with both a bath and shower, we had taken bath towels with us after reading that they weren't provided, that was also wrong, we had both bath and hand towels, which were changed each day. When we arrived our cases were taken to our room, so we didn't have to worry about them. The food at both breakfast and evening meal was lovely, with plenty of choice of both hot and cold food at breakfast. Our only problem was that we couldn't pick up the wireless internet, whereas other people could, but having said that we were on holiday so it wasn't really needed. All in all this was a great holiday in a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wenjohn1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Have just spent 3 nights here on a Shearings tour. The hotel has obviously had a complete make over and all the rooms are spotlessly clean, the bathrooms are small but adequate (how much of your holiday do you want to spend in the bathroom anyway?) and the towels were changed each day.
The staff (family) are friendly and helpful - we arrived at 11.00pm and they had the bar open for us while they took all the bags to the rooms.
The food is good; breakfast is buffet style continental or cooked and the coffee just keeps coming. As we were a group of 50 dinner was a fixed menu but the food was excellent (3 courses) and nobody had to wait. I noticed that the locals eat here.
As a group we were highly satisfied with our stay
I suggest to the moaners that if they want 4star service they should stay in 4star hotels

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KentGrandad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to De Halve Maan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Halve Maan

Address: Hoofdstraat 254, 1611 AN Bovenkarspel, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Bovenkarspel
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Bovenkarspel
Price Range: £56 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — De Halve Maan 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your De Halve Maan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing