We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than expected...”
Review of Lake Land Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lake Land Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Monnickendam
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Better than expected...”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Recently visited this hotel with National Holidays. After reading earlier reviews I was very apprehensive but pleasantly surprised. Although we arrived early afternoon our rooms were available. Basic, no drawers, but clean and warm. Staff were helpful and food plentiful although not great for vegetarians (even though this had been pre-booked).
Great location overlooking lake. . Main downside was the tiled floors and cases rumbling past, not to mention other noisy guests - sound travelled easily!

Room Tip: choose room at end of corridor or upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DollieNorthYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    62
    105
    45
    39
See reviews for
42
98
12
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Arrived late at hotel,staff very accommodating meal quickly made available even though arrival
Was later than they expected.Meals Buffett style,food of good quality and plenty of it.
Room plain and simple,down side little storage,in my opinion motel like.
Setting very good room overlooked the lake,very peaceful.
Hotel a short walk from the village and marina,both worth a visit.
Staff were very good,did everything they could to make stay enjoyable,kept the buffet meals
Replenished quickly.
We were fortunate a free bar was included which had a good choice of drinks,bar staff vey efficient and freindly
I found it an enjoyable place to stay as a coach holiday.

Room Tip: We stayed on the ground floor nearly at the end of the corridor room 245 lake view.Other guests a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here for four nights April/May on our coach holiday. The hotel is about 30 mins from Amsterdam, so you have the fresh country air to come home to from the hectic manic city.
The setting is lovely surrounded by water, but with this comes mosquitoes so unless you want to be eaten alive, don't open the windows to the balcony. The room was very tired but spotless. We couldn't open the sliding wardrobe doors, as they were old and just stuck halfway, so we had half a shelf to use instead of a full one. Not a lot of hanging space, for four nights, but okay for less. The bathroom was small and compact, but we did have a shower screen, and a mat to stand on, which helped when it filled with moisture. There is a lot of noise from the corridor as they are all tiled and people are arriving and departing at all times. Try and get a room at the end of a corridor without so much passing traffic, it is a walk to reception, but a much better sleep!! There was always plenty of food for the buffet breakfast and evening meal, not full English, but that is to be expected, they have some very colourful hard boiled eggs to enjoy!!The evening meal dessert was ice cream and fruit, or ice cream and custard, a bit strange but okay. The waiting staff were very friendly and always happy to fill up any items that were running low, they worked hard when there were several coach parties in at one time. The hotel itself could do with a face lift to brighten up the outside it looks well past it's sale by date, but rather than look at the exterior you can sit and look at the fantastic boats moored in the marina and if windy listen to the noise of the rigging, with a nice glass of beer or brandy which is free from the bar from 20.00 to 23.00, after a few even the outside looks brighter!! The reception staff have a hard job with the coaches coming and going at all times, but they could learn to smile and try and be more helpful. I have already mentioned we were on a coach holiday, and so were lots of others, some for one night stop over others for the same as us four nights, so it is a very busy place, if you were looking for a sleepy quiet hotel, then look somewhere else, but if you were looking for a place to sleep, eat, drink, and recharge your batteries away from the city then it is fine and good value for money.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lizw56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just got back from a 2 night stay with National we were a bit concerned after reading some comments but I felt compelled to let others know how good a trip we had and a great hotel, its set on a large lake and yes some rooms overlook a car park but the rooms were warm and clean and only meant for sleeping in (get out and see something). There is no entertainment at night but a great pub style (brown bar) bar playing good music and friendly staff with a good selection of Dutch beers although on an all inclusive you can have pints of any beer and plenty of it. 2 mins walk out of the hotel and across the canal is Monikendam a beautiful waterside village with great bars and immaculate streets. Yes the hotel is a bit tired out side but for what you pay its a great short break. would we go again you bet we would.I don't know how National do it but its a no brainer get booking!!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hotel the corridors are all tiled and the cases can rumble but we w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Oostende42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

We stayed as part of a tour.
For the price it was good. Breakfast and Dinner included each day, despite it being of average quality and repetitive.
Room was good, but as a couple two single beds not even pushed together is a bit average.
Shower was okay, however there was no soap or shower wash and it seamed to flood the bathroom a little despite the shower screen.
Also had to pay for WiFi.
Location is good, bus stop nearby which means direct access to Amsterdam.
The hotel had bike hiring activities.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Just returned from a two night break staying at the Lake land Hotel
our room overlooked a car park with a couple of old buses in it. The other side of the hotel overlooked the lake a lovely view with all the boats. the outside of the hotel looks in need of painting and updating. The nights were very noisy as all the floors are tiled coach parties were checking in late at night and dragging cases down the corridor this sounded like a freight train going past and kept us awake. The rooms were very basic no bed side light or tables we had a small old fashioned portable tv in our room which did not work, reported to reception but nothing was done. The meals were buffet style and the evening meal was hot and not of a good standard, breakfast was cold food only. Wifi is not free and charged 2 euros for 24 hours. The location of the hotel is lovely for the short walk into the village and a short bus ride to Amsterdam.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the lake, some have balconies
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 650paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Monnickendam hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We went through National Holidays to this hotel in April 2014. The hotel is OK, needs some work doing as looks a bit run down. Rooms are very basic- but then what can you expect with the prices!! There are no lifts so if you get the top floor then good luck with your luggage!!
Breakfast and dinner were buffet style. Only cold breakfast was served. We couldn't even get toast! Dinner was very average. They could make it a little bit better standard and have some good quality food. I don't eat beef and there wasn't any vegetarian option. My daughter is a vegetarian so she hardly ate anything on our three night stay!!
Well as everyone said.............it was good value for money if you eat absolutely everything. But if you are looking for anything near fine dinning then this hotel is not for you.
On the plus side, staff was very good and helpful! Wi-fi is only 2 euros for a day (24 hours) and my daughter was over the moon for this!
All in all had a pleasant holiday not fantastic!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Navita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Monnickendam
Hotel Spaander
#1 of 4 in Volendam
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marinapark Volendam
#2 of 4 in Volendam
195 reviews
Hotel Old Dutch
#3 of 4 in Volendam
167 reviews
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Lloyd Hotel & Cultural Embassy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lake Land Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Land Hotel

Property: Lake Land Hotel
Address: Jachthaven 1, 1141 AV, Monnickendam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Monnickendam
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Monnickendam
Hotel Class:3 star — Lake Land Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lake Land Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lake Land Hotel Monnickendam, North Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing