We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Place...Especially with children”
Review of Overleekerhoeve

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Overleekerhoeve
Reviewed 11 April 2013

We just returned from a two week jaunt around Europe....Germany, Austria, Italy and The Netherlands. By far, the best place we stayed was Overleeker Hoeve! The hostess was so amiable an helpful, our room (complete with kitchen) was beautiful and spotlessly clean. We had canoes and pedal boats at our disposal to travel around the many canals in Overleek. They also had small bikes and toys of all sorts for the children. The kids were able to feed cows, sheep, chickens, ducks and horses. We had so much fun, we spent one day just enjoying the farm & it's amenities instead of sight seeing. My daughter borrowed a bike and went on a 25 mile bike ride. I would highly recommend it!

Room Tip: Our room, named Ot & Sien, was totally handicap accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cccruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 80 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

Overleekerhoeve is one of the most beautiful place I've ever seen. Cosy, comfortable, friendly, with a huge, fully equipped kitchen to cook to young children, according to their needs. My son, almost 4 years old, feed a sheep with a bottle of milk every evening, and learnt to take care of the animals of the farm. There are also many toys, cycles, boats and other activities inside and outside the farm, for young as well as for olders. What's more the farm is perfectly located to visit the north of the country (included the islands).
Points to ameliorate: the breakfast that is proposed by the owners is quite expensive and should be taken only until you get organised. What's more the check out is quite early (10:00) so you can't fully enjoy your last moments there !
Nevertheless, I warmly recommand this place. Among my best vacations!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nannie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2012

I generally don't write reviews but felt that I absolutely had to write one for this place. We spent 3 weeks travelling in europe-from Dusseldorf to Bacharach to Cochem to Brugges to Amsterdam and Hamburg. By far the most enjoyable time we had was at the Overleekerhoeve in Monnickendam. We are a family of 4, with a 12yo boy and 15yo girl and my kids are very picky. Nice rooms that are clean are a must for them. Our room at the Overleekerhoeve was big, beautiful and SPOTLESSLY CLEAN. The bathroom was modern, big and also spotlessly clean. The room also had a functional small kitchen and dining table for at-home breakfasts (or other meals). The owner does offer a paid breakfast downstairs but we chose to eat in our room to save some money. After staying at a "historic property" in Brugges which had a great in-town location but was small and old, the Overleekerhoeve was a very welcome change. The location of the farm was perfect and we wished that we could have stayed for an entire week (not just 3 days) at this farm and in this area. The farm is in a wonderful location just 10km (~6miles) north of Amsterdam, but away from the crowds and dirt of the city. It is in the Waterland area which has a ton of canals and quaint, picturesque harbor towns. There are a ton of bike trails as well. The Overleekerhoeve Farm has it's own canal dock with kayaks and paddle boats to use for free. And trust me the kids loved taking them all around the canals. They also have a bunch of kids' "4 wheel dirt-bikes" for my 12yo to ride all around the farm which kept him quite entertained (and out of our hair when trying to get organized and ready every day). He also enjoyed helping feed many of the farm animals on the property and chasing the baby chickens (although I'm not sure the chickens enjoyed him). We took a couple of day trips into Amsterdam to see the Van Gogh Museum (a must) and the Ann Frank House (a must), but we were always glad to return to the farm and the Waterland area where everything was clean, picturesque and not crowded. There are a ton of cute harbor towns in this area which are great for family bike rides (or canal rides-you can rent a small motor boat nearby or use the canoes/paddleboats for free) from the farm. The town of Monnickendam is nice but the town of Edam is especially picturesque and has a very cute "cheese market show" on wednesday AMs in the summer. Volendam has a beautiful "boardwalk" and the island of Marken is very cute as well. Also, Amsterdam is easily accessible from the farm by driving 15min to a P+R station and then taking a 15min tram ride into the city--all for just 8euros (parking plus tram for up to 5 passengers). Again we are so glad we picked the Overleekerhoeve as our "hotel" for our stay in Amsterdam area and could not have been more happy! Just ask our kids.

Room Tip: ALL the rooms are good. Also many rooms can accommodate up to 6 people which is rare in europe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PVtravelingmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We have visited Overleekerhoeve with 16 persons with an average age of 33-35 years old. We live only 35 minutes by car from Monnickendam, but it is an incredible difference in surrounding from our hometown.

It is only a 5-10 minutes drive to Volendam and approximately 10-15 minutes to Amsterdam. So this is a great place to stay when you want rest but also would like to visit the touristic places in Holland.

The Overleekerhoeve is just perfect! The owners are very nice people and really love their life as a farmer and owner of The Overleekerhoeve. They will show you the total farm and tell you all about the life on the farm. And off course the cows next to your breakfast table is really a nice experience.

The rooms are very clean and all you need for a great stay in Holland is there. As you can see, even for Dutch people this is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rainman1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

If you get a chance to go there....go! It was amazing. The room was perfect.( we stayed in the haystag) It was spotless! The linens were dreamy, and the beds comfy. My daughter (13) loved the animals, there were cows, horses, ducks, cats, a dog, chickens, sheep, and they were all friendly. The farmer and his wife were so nice, and helpful. They were able to point us to a local pub, which was outstanding. I only wish they were closer. If they were in the states, we would go for a week every year. They are conveniently located to Amsterdam if you have a car. They are also close to Marken Island which was adorable. This is the perfect place for families with children, or people like us who love animals and nature. The farmers wife made us a great breakfast, it was extra, but worth it. The yoghurt was beyond compare as was the fresh milk. We are still talking about how wonderful the milk was!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raqueleliseann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2011

just 25 short minutes by car north of amsterdam, you reach the farm house known as overleekerhoeve, upon arrival we were greeted by ducks quacking at our feet. the cows mooed in the barn and horses graze in a nearby pasture. it seemed like we left the busy and hectic city of amsterdam and reached heaven on earth. we were greeted by jenny and were releved to find she had a room available. myself and 3 children were tired from our flight and at first just needed a room for the night. we did not have reservations. the room ott and zein on the first floor had 4 beds, crisp, clean, white linens, a large bathroom and a functional kitchen with stovetop and fridge also a small dining table and chairs. the room was surrounded by 3 walls of windows and there were small pots of fresh crocus flowers blooming atop the window ledges. the room was clean spacious and fresh smelling, but thats not even the best part.
step outside the small bed and breakfast and you will be mesmerized by the pastoral surroundings. the fields were green and lush, the nearby lake was clean and filled with swans, true the smell of manure was in the air and if that bothers you this place may not be for you, but i found the smell to be tolerable and faint and noticed more how fresh and clean the air smelt instead. the kids were delighted to help with farm chores from spreading hay in the cow barn, feeding the horses and petting the friendly dogs. just before we departed we watched a calf being born the kids dragged me from packing up the car to watch this miracle, we watched in amazement, even my 18 yr old daughter stood motionless, we all loved this place.
overleekerhoeve would not be what it was without jenny and her husband simon. they were warm and helpful hosts, she called restaurants and helped with directions. she greeted us each morning with fresh breads and plenty of eggs bacon juice and milk to satisfy us. we especially loved the bread with swirls of cinnamon and honey, so sticky and sweet the kids loved it. i cant say enough good things about this place go there and you wont be disappointed. as we pulled away my 11 yr old son said he can't wait to bring HIS family to this place. i had really hit the jackpot with this bed and breakfast

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank levs55116
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2010

This is my 3rd trip to Holland but this is by far the best place I have stayed in The Netherlands. We went in June where the days were long and cool which were just perfect for the many activities on the farm. The hosts (Jannie and her husband) were very friendly and made sure that we felt welcomed and comfortable. On our arrival, Jannie brought out a number of cycles for the kids to play with, there were also a canoe which we can help ourselves to. This is a working cattle farm with the usual farm animals to feed and play with.

We stayed in 2 adjoining rooms (Sheepfold and Cowshed). Although not luxurious, the rooms were clean and spacious and most importantly, the beds were comfortable. Breakfast was not provided but there is a large communal kitchen with all the necessary applicances and utensils where we cooked our own meals. The kids were so thrilled with the friendly farm animals that we ended up staying in a lot, which translated to cooking quite a number of meals ourselves so having a large kitchen is very useful.

The farm is located in a typical dutch countryside. While this provides a peaceful surrounding and great views, it also means that it is not easily accessible. A car is necessary to reach the farm, especially if you have luggages or just finished stocking up on groceries for self-cooked meals. All things considered, this is still a highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ooncindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Monnickendam hotels
1.3 mi away
Hoeve Meerzicht
Hoeve Meerzicht
#1 of 2 in Monnickendam
27 reviews
2.5 mi away
Suitehotel Restaurant Posthoorn
2.6 mi away
Kamerverhuur-Waterland
Kamerverhuur-Waterland
#2 of 2 in Monnickendam
14 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Lake Land Hotel
Lake Land Hotel
#2 of 2 in Monnickendam
282 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Overleekerhoeve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Overleekerhoeve

Address: Overleek 25A, 1141 PE, Monnickendam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Monnickendam
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Monnickendam
Price Range: £72 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Overleekerhoeve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Overleekerhoeve Monnickendam, North Holland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing