We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Brilliant Campsite"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Motupiko
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quinney's Bush Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 January 2013

Quinney's Bush is the best camping ground for all. Mark & Family are excellent hosts and have created a wonderful campsite with beautiful surroundings. A waterslide-Flying Fox-Swimming Spots just to name a few are superb to keep a great smile on you families face (priceless).Absolutely brilliant....

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (99)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

88 - 94 of 99 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2013

Our trip to Quinneys Bush was awesome, so much to do, flying fox, waterslide, go-carts, BMX track, motor bike paddock, fitness trail, swimming hole, confidence course. We had the best time ever. We only have a 16 yr old at home now so have started taking the grandchildren, its great to make lasting holiday memories for your children/grandchildren and Quinney's Bush Camping is the place to do it.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2013

As a family we have camped here for many years and always impressed with the camp. The activities for kids of all ages is beyond anything I have come across in NZ. Every year there is another improvement, this year was the "fitness trail" , which is a walkway around the perimeter of the camp. I find the comments about it being like a prison camp offensive. That couldn't be further from the truth. The staff are great, helpful and have the rustic toilets and showers keep clean as possible.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank tarn67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

This was our first time at this camp, and we found all the facilites lovely and clean, and well maintained. The play ground for the kids was fantastic, as was the flying fox etc. The water hole that the owner had made in the river was great, especially with the slide going into it.
Mark and co were always very polite to us, and very helpful when needed. Would definitely stay at this camp again.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PEG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

just finished 10 days of camping at quinneys, our 6th year of going there plenty of things to do for kids, flying foxes , waterslide, play ground equipment, skate park, swimming hole and slide ,A ,very safe and friendly enviroment, You re able to take your dog if u wish as well ,and have a fire every night right outside your tent! We generally have music playing most nights until the 1030 shut off point but can happily chat or drink into the wee smalls if u so desire as long as your not overly loud u will never have a problem, This camp ground is family friendly so 1030 music shut off is for the kids to get a good nights sleep,so they can go hard all over again the next day ! This year they added 2.5km fitness track round the outside of the camp to be run walked or biked over, a dog lovers delight for there exercise , my daughter has just reminded me of the trailer rides each night that the kids all love ,So a great place to relax read an unwind . Matt ,Angela and zara fox

Room Tip: bring an umbrella in case it rains !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank matt f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2012

For something different this season we booked a caravan at Quinney's Bush and it's been brilliant! The new swimming hole at the river has been a highlight as well as the s'mores over the campfire. For my 6 year old these are the things she dreams about all year long. It's not often I can let her explore her independence but at camp I know it's a safe environment and she makes friends with other kids instantly. Blue skies and wonderful weather have accompanied the excellent service and heaps of new work and upgrades done around the place. Well done owners and staff.... can't wait for next year now!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank webkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2012

We stayed here in early Jan 2012, along with 5 other familes. Yes there are great facilities for the kids and they looked forward to the hydroslide being open (2hrs a day) and the Flying Fox (2 x 1hr per day), but the place is run like a prison camp.

Sitting around the campsite talking after 1030pm is prohibited, and their various employees come around right on 1030 to tell you to stop talking. Between us we had 8 kids all 10yrs or younger and by the time they'd gone to bed most nights at around 930-10 (remember we're on holiday!) this left little time for the adults to have a chat.

Every camp ground I've been to, has a kind of self-imposed noise policy, ie if someone's making too much noise you go and ask them to keep it down a bit. We're all around the 40 yr mark and were just sitting around having a beer or wine, talking quietly, with no music, or drunken escapades.

But this isn't acceptable to the Camp Leader (Mark) and his followers, no noise after they say, which in effect is bascially forcing you into bed at 1030 - ludicrous.

One evening a young employee right on 1030 came in and told us to be quiet as it was now 1030, we kind of snickered and off he went and proceded to adhere to what he'd said. The next morning Camp Leader appeared and gave it to us all both barrels for being rude to his staff member bylaughing at him. No chance to put our side of the story, he just stood there waving his finger staring us down and admonishing us. Just totally childish behaviour.

The 'Rules, Rules, Rules' comment made by another disgruntled guest is spot on, it really does feel like that. We've camped us a family (always with at least 3 other families) for the last 7-8 years in camp grounds throughout the South Island, but we have never encountered anything like this clown.

Bottom line - if you're a family by yourselves, then this place would be great, but if there's more than that, then be prepared to be treated like a little child.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DougRydal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 30 June 2012

When our guests book in at Quinneys Bush, they are given a camp procedures sheet, which lists the important things we ask them to comply with so that everyone can enjoy a great holiday here.

These particular guests would have agreed to these procedures, one of which asks them to respect others by keeping all noise to an absolute minimum after 10:30 pm. This group were not doing what they had agreed to do and so were asked to comply, by a staff member but they were disrespectful to him, outright laughing at him to his face.

They did not comply as requested during the night and we received a number of complaints about them from other guests, so I asked them in the morning to either comply with the procedures they had agreed to or leave. To their credit, they did just that the next night.

The complaints received were about their loud and continuous talking and raucous laughter after 10:30 pm, which is just not acceptable here. Guests are not asked to refrain from sitting around a campfire talking-that is just ridiculous. Nor are they expected to go to bed at 10:30 pm-again, quite untrue. They are simply required to be quiet so as not to disturb other guests.

We have hundreds of guests camping here each night during the season, including many large groups of families and we are often complimented by our stance regarding noise after 10:30 pm. Many people camp here because they feel it is a safe and family friendly place to come, with lots for the kids to do.

A "self-imposed" noise policy in our experience ends up being a slanging match between guests, including quite unnecessary swearing and threats against each other. Not what we or our guests want at Quinneys Bush, thank you.

Bottom line-if you want to enjoy a great holiday with lots for the kids to do and a peaceful night's sleep, then Quinneys Bush is the place to be!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Quinney's Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinney's Bush Camp

Address: State Hwy 6 | Motupiko Nelson, Motupiko 7072, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motupiko
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Motupiko
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quinney's Bush Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back to basics adventure camping Kiwi family style: *Spacious grounds with native trees *Safe river swimming, campfires *Hammocks, flying foxes, amusements *Skatepark, BMX track, waterslide *Shop, fridge/freezer, laundry, kitchen *Toilets, showers, wash facilities *Tent sites, power, cabins, caravans ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing