We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot for young and old!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Motupiko
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quinney's Bush Camp
Certificate of Excellence
marlborough
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful spot for young and old!”
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We LOVE Quinneys and it's my 4th year in a row visiting in the holiday period. This year, instead of wine, walks and tents, I went with my
Mum and 6th month old and stayed in a cabin.
Even though it was a little damp, it was still hot and we got to enjoy the fabulous walk around the camp with our dog (it's got bigger since last year and will be even better when all the trees are big!), the swinging bench seats dotted throughout all the 100ft plus sized trees, a few rides down the water slide and met some old friends and made new ones.
Everyone is so friendly, I love how in the early evenings all of the kids all come together to play in the huge and super safe play ground and around.
We will be coming back again every year in summer and lo forward to my son riding the go karts and flying fox.
Couldn't recommend Quinneys Bush more.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank biscuitnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    13
    4
    2
    3
See reviews for
81
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Takaka, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is our 5th year at the fantastic Quinney's Bush in Motupiko, Nelson. We go every year for about 10 days with our two children and our little dog. This year we introduced two other families to our special place. I love it here because my children can run, bike, play etc, for hours safely. They meet special friends every year, as do we. The owners work their butts off during the down season and always surprise me the following year with improvements to facilities that I thought were great as they were. This year the river has a massive swimming hole, along with a nice bank for resting, a floating raft and a waterslide that makes it lots easier to get in the water. Things I find extra special about Quinneys are, being able to light a fire in a brazier, buy firewood really cheap, the showers are spotless, as are the loos. The Flying fox is EPIC, as is the waterside structure (an engineering feat) …the bike friendly atmosphere, the way everyone looks after each other, the birdsong at dawn, the recycling, the kitchen and freezers and fridges, the dog walk area, the go cart rides, the wagon rides, the friendly staff….the new telecom phone coverage, the trees, the bush, the night walk. There is so much to do here. The kids love it. Parents can relax. Luckily, trashy people who like to party all night do NOT come here. IT is a family environment…not one of those campgrounds with creepy little permanent caravans with single old men…ick!!! NONE of those. IF you like nature, spending time together, making awesome memories, meeting new friends that you will see year after year, then come to Quinney's. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Ok…you come here and bring your own accommodation. There are cabins and a caravan or two to rent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LalaManson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Second time we have been to Quinney's Bush and there have been some really lovely improvements since our last trip. The addition of the fitness track and Pontoon on the River makes for a lot of fun for the kids. Definitely a camping ground for the younger families (pre teens) but you can really let them go for it and not worry about them because it is a very safe campground.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We have just returned from another great week's camping at Quinney's - for the third year in a row... the kids insisted that we go back again when we asked them what they wanted to do in the holidays. The weather was a bit mixed but that did not matter. We always make great friends there and the environment that is created by the Quinneys makes it feel really safe for the kids. The swimming hole is really amazing and there is always something for the kids to do - like going on the big flying fox in the morning or evening, or going on the huge water slide in the afternoon, or having a go on the go-carts... or just biking or scootering if you have bought your bike... or trying your hand at the confidence course. You can even take your dog with you and there is a 2km walking/running track that is constantly in use. People are so considerate with their animals - I have never seen any "evidence" left behind of dogs' toileting despite lots of dogs being there... There is a noise curfew which is enforced in a friendly manner by the owners at night after 10.30 - which is really great to let everyone get some sleep... Rowdy campers are not tolerated by the owners which makes it fair for the majority. While the kids are fully occupied with various activities all day... even on rainy days there are things like movies or shows put on for them... the adults can get some real rest and relaxation or just watch the kids have their fun. The facilities, although basic, really have everything you need to give you a true family camping experience. Whilst there this year I heard someone complain that there weren't enough showers - but I think she should have gone to stay somewhere else as she had lost the point of the place - you shouldn't expect all the mod cons when having a true camping experience! We also love the braziers that are provided.... Nightly marshmallow toasting is a must!! I think we would have difficulty convincing the kids not to go back again next year! :-)

Room Tip: We took our tent and had a non-powered site. You get more space to pitch camp if you don't have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trish F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2014

Location and facilities are very good however it felt like being on a school camp with the owners constantly watching us and trying to control everything we did. One of our party drove to the toilet once when she was unwell. The owner waited outside the toilet until she came out and told her that she drove too fast to the toilet which she accepted and thought that was the end of it. Then the next day we had a sticker stamped on our vehicle telling us not to drive to the toilet-totally unnecessary, over the top and controlling.

Furthermore on New Years Eve the owner came to our site at 1220am and nutted off and swore at one of our party about loud music. Had he simply asked politely for us to turn the music down instead of storming up and loosing his rag then this would have not been a problem. The rules in the camp stated that we were allowed music on new years until 1am. The owner to his credit did apologise the next day, but this incident put a dampener on our new years and our camping experience.

The only other thing which we feel should be mentioned is that the shower and toilet facilities are single sex facilities, however male workers entered the female facilities at times without warning and female workers entered the male facilities in the same manner. This is unacceptable practice especially when this is done without prior warning. Other places have signs which advise that the opposite sex may be present in those facilities for cleaning purposes, however this did not exist here.

The camp is generally an enjoyable place however the owner needs to relinquish some control and realise people are on holiday and do not want to be constantly watched and controlled.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rachscott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkQuinney, Owner at Quinney's Bush Camp, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Oh dear, a camper who is having trouble understanding why we do what we do. To explain:
1. We discourage campers driving unnecessarily in the camp and as this lady was located only a short distance away from the toilet she could easily have walked. We will do all we can to protect the safety of kids here and a speeding vehicle is just plain dangerous. If you don't like this policy then find another campground where you can drive fast through the camp. We don't tolerate it at Quinneys Bush.
2. The sticker was put on the vehicle the next day as a reminder, as happens with other vehicles also for a variety of reasons.
3. New Years Eve. The rules stated that music was to be at an acceptable level and this groups wasn't. After several (polite) requests to the owner to turn it down, due to many sleep deprived nights and being ignored I lost my temper and used a word I don't often use which he did finally respond to. I then explained to the group that music was to be at an acceptable level. To their credit, she apologised to me the next day for their arrogance after receiving my apology.
4. We receive many compliments regarding the cleanliness of our facilities, and this is due to spot checks being made right through the day. We instruct staff to wait at the door and give some kind of verbal or visual warning before entering a toilet of the opposite sex. Signs don't work, as campers step right over the Closed for Cleaning signs we put up each day.
5. We will continue to exercise the control needed to ensure that Quinneys Bush remains a safe and friendly environment for the majority of our guests who appreciate this and return year after year. Once again, if this doesn't suit your group, find another campground.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level 6 Contributor
798 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 429 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Lovely position. Ideal for families with younger children (pre-teen). Lots of large tents; some caravans and a few camper vans. Facilities are a little limite and of only OK quality... eg kitchen, laundry, bathrooms... Pay showers. Camping spaces are fairly close together with no screening although the site is wooded/attractive. 3 stars I would guess against the gold standard of 5.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkQuinney, Owner at Quinney's Bush Camp, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
I wonder where AJCG has camped before, to label our facilities as "a little limited and of only OK quality?" There are plenty of other responses below that say exactly the opposite. Our toilet/shower blocks have toilets, showers, basins, hand soaps, hand driers, mirrors, bins, seating, fresh air dispensers, tiled floor...what more does one need??? Amenities Block 2 is the exception to these features as it is still to be completed.

AJCG also states that "camping spaces are fairly close together with no screening." Again, please see other responses below that say exactly the opposite. Quinneys Bush is a camp that allows campers on non powered sites to camp wherever they wish and there are no defined sites or maximum spaces allowable. Campers on powered sites have a space that, in general, is around 8 metres square but some are much larger. Compare this with other campgrounds where you are packed in like sardines!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Our 36hr mini break felt as relaxing as if we had been away a week. Heaps for children to do water slide, swimming hole, adventure play ground, go kart, BMX and under 100cc motorbike track AND pets welcome too.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cari S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Quinney's Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinney's Bush Camp

Property: Quinney's Bush Camp
Address: State Hwy 6 | Motupiko Nelson, Motupiko 7072, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motupiko
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Motupiko
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quinney's Bush Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back to basics adventure camping Kiwi family style: *Spacious grounds with native trees *Safe river swimming, campfires *Hammocks, flying foxes, amusements *Skatepark, BMX track, waterslide *Shop, fridge/freezer, laundry, kitchen *Toilets, showers, wash facilities *Tent sites, power, cabins, caravans ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing