We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our best campstays on this trip”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Motupiko
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Quinney's Bush Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 January 2014

What an amazing place with a great atmosphere. Fantastic welcome from the lady at
reception - so keen that we should enjoy our stay. Everything has been incorporated into one place to provide a fantastic experience for families - children have been catered for in every aspect of the parks development and we saw very happy and content children of all ages and both genders challenging themselves constantly on all of the available equipment and experiences. We will definitely be recommending this wonderful camp to others, especially those with young families. The developing ablutions block is top notch too. Well done to the owners and management.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2014

We had an amazing stay at Quinney's bush camp. My Children aged 14 ,7, 2 had the most fantastic time in the 6 nights we were staying there. Clean and tidy Kitchen , Toilets and shower blocks . My Children had so much fun, toasting marshmallows, water slide, flying fox, trailer rides, swimming in the river. a great place for all ages I even had a ball .

Room Tip: I hired a caravan it was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gina A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

Hard to believe but they have found even more ways to amuse kids. Eel feeding & orienteering new this season, and pontoon in the waterhole. If you have children it is the only place to be. Very safe bike riding due to strict speed rules. Camp sites you can stretch out on and enjoy shade and sun. The adventure playground/confidence course, under tree playground and small playground are all great. Skate park/BMX track, fitness trail - I have failed to find anywhere with the facilities. water slide and trailer rides a daily must. You meet fellow families that are all about their kids, shared cricket and board games, and nightly roasted marshmallows on the brazier. The yellow vests wandering around give you confidence to let children play freely and enjoy the facilities and new friends. You know a QB staffer is always nearby if they need assistance.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank GQHQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

If you want your kids to experience the freedom you had growing up then Quinneys Bush is the place to take them. Kids go mad riding their bikes all around the camp at all hours of the day and they are never short of things to do with swings, flying foxes, the swimming hole in the river, go carts and all manner of playground equipment.

Facilities are clean and well maintained and if you have all the right camping gear then this would be the perfect spot to camp - particularly in a large group as most kids seemed to rove around in packs together. Our 10 year old felt a little left out not knowing anyone and would love to come back with a group of friends.

We were travelling from Australia so couldn't bring any camping gear so hired a tiny 70's era caravan with awning for our stay which was fun for the kids but a bit tricky when it rained.

If you are into camping and have all the right gear then this camp is highly recommended as a family destination - the kids will have a ball and you are unlikely to see them except at meal times. Don't forget to take their bikes!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Keri L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We LOVE Quinneys and it's my 4th year in a row visiting in the holiday period. This year, instead of wine, walks and tents, I went with my
Mum and 6th month old and stayed in a cabin.
Even though it was a little damp, it was still hot and we got to enjoy the fabulous walk around the camp with our dog (it's got bigger since last year and will be even better when all the trees are big!), the swinging bench seats dotted throughout all the 100ft plus sized trees, a few rides down the water slide and met some old friends and made new ones.
Everyone is so friendly, I love how in the early evenings all of the kids all come together to play in the huge and super safe play ground and around.
We will be coming back again every year in summer and lo forward to my son riding the go karts and flying fox.
Couldn't recommend Quinneys Bush more.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biscuitnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

This is our 5th year at the fantastic Quinney's Bush in Motupiko, Nelson. We go every year for about 10 days with our two children and our little dog. This year we introduced two other families to our special place. I love it here because my children can run, bike, play etc, for hours safely. They meet special friends every year, as do we. The owners work their butts off during the down season and always surprise me the following year with improvements to facilities that I thought were great as they were. This year the river has a massive swimming hole, along with a nice bank for resting, a floating raft and a waterslide that makes it lots easier to get in the water. Things I find extra special about Quinneys are, being able to light a fire in a brazier, buy firewood really cheap, the showers are spotless, as are the loos. The Flying fox is EPIC, as is the waterside structure (an engineering feat) …the bike friendly atmosphere, the way everyone looks after each other, the birdsong at dawn, the recycling, the kitchen and freezers and fridges, the dog walk area, the go cart rides, the wagon rides, the friendly staff….the new telecom phone coverage, the trees, the bush, the night walk. There is so much to do here. The kids love it. Parents can relax. Luckily, trashy people who like to party all night do NOT come here. IT is a family environment…not one of those campgrounds with creepy little permanent caravans with single old men…ick!!! NONE of those. IF you like nature, spending time together, making awesome memories, meeting new friends that you will see year after year, then come to Quinney's. You won't regret it!

Room Tip: Ok…you come here and bring your own accommodation. There are cabins and a caravan or two to rent...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LalaManson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Second time we have been to Quinney's Bush and there have been some really lovely improvements since our last trip. The addition of the fitness track and Pontoon on the River makes for a lot of fun for the kids. Definitely a camping ground for the younger families (pre teens) but you can really let them go for it and not worry about them because it is a very safe campground.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank Rachel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Quinney's Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quinney's Bush Camp

Address: State Hwy 6 | Motupiko Nelson, Motupiko 7072, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Nelson-Tasman Region > Motupiko
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Motupiko
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Quinney's Bush Camp 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Back to basics adventure camping Kiwi family style: *Spacious grounds with native trees *Safe river swimming, campfires *Hammocks, flying foxes, amusements *Skatepark, BMX track, waterslide *Shop, fridge/freezer, laundry, kitchen *Toilets, showers, wash facilities *Tent sites, power, cabins, caravans ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing