We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Prefect Place to Be”
Review of Grand Hotel Opduin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Hotel Opduin
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
Certificate of Excellence
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A Prefect Place to Be”
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This is one of those places that when you are there you really never want to go. The staff is friendly and put the wishes of the guest at the top of their list.
The location is great, only a few minutes walk from the most beautiful beach in Holland. The rooms are clean, spacious and clean. For us it is always nice to have the possibility to have a cup of coffee or tea in the room,which is possible.
The breakfast is unbeatable. Freshly made pancakes, French toast, fried egg are just a few great things that you may find here.
An absolute must if you are in the neighborhood or want to go to Texel.

Room Tip: The restaurant "De Heeren XVII" is situated within the hotel. If you enjoy great food and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rbrtbmw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    121
    98
    29
    8
    6
See reviews for
66
143
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Namur, Belgium
Level Contributor
94 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

Marvelous location just behind the beach. Comfortable room in a spacious and good hotel. Friendly staff. Breakfast excellent with a good choice of cold and hot food. We had a dinner in the restaurant during the evening. It was a good experience but there was nobody in the bar during all the evening. Nice swimming pool inside but the wellness center is a little "cold". In conclusion, a good hotel but not a good value for money : we expected more for the price we paid.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FabriceandJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Davis, California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2012

Great location next to the dunes and a short walk to the beach, which was cold and very windy but beautiful. We had a top floor suite with a view of the dunes and ocean and it was lovely. Staff was friendly, warm and professional. Lots of inviting spots to hang out in the hotel and a range of restaurants. The general environment spoke of a relaxing holiday and we really enjoyed our stay.

On the negative side,this was the only place we stayed in two weeks in the Netherlands that didn't include breakfast. At this price point (relatively expensive) asking another nearly 18 euros each for breakfast seemed excessive. (we didn't partake) Also, two days of breakfast were included on our bill even though we did not eat it on the first morning and were actually checking out before it was served on the second morning. This was rectified, of course but, still, check your bill carefully.

Room Tip: If you can manage to pay the price, the top floor suites facing the dunes are excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank DonaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vlaanderen
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

nicely situated in the dunes of de Koog, Texel, Holland
overloaded interiot, included too much furniture in the rooms
no airco, no minibar, no slippers, no bathrobe
nice breakfast, small portions at dinner, fine dining much too expensive
ridiculously high drink prices
small swimming pool
in general : to expensive, impersonal cold, too many pretensions for no reason

Room Tip: all rooms are too expensive, try a room to the forest side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank trippersVL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashdod, Israel
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2012

There is a special atmosphere in the Texel Island and the Grand Hotel Opduin is a fine special hotel in it. The food in the hotel is of very high quality, rooms are very big and well equipped. The entire design of the hotel is very special and staff were very friendly and helpful. This is certainly a hotel which is worth traveling for, even to a remote location such as Texel.

Room Tip: Higher floor - better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moshe_I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We stayed in this hotel for one night and had a junior suite which was very large and nicely furnished. The hotel staff were extremely helpful and attentive. We ate in the hotel restaurant and the food was a high standard and the service was excellent. the breakfast was expensive but worth every penny, a chef to make you eggs and a very good selection of fresh local produce. The champagne was a nice extra. The hotel location right on the edge of the dunes is wonderful and also only a 5 minute walk to the busy centre of De Koog. My only complaint is that the single beds are a bit of a dissapointment and maybe there should be a choice available, but on the whole a superb hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

+ Nice situation
+ Very large rooms (suite)
+ generous and well-diversified breakfast
+ very good cooking (brasserie or restaurant)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louster22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near De Koog
3.5 mi away
Boutique Hotel Texel
Boutique Hotel Texel
#1 of 6 in De Cocksdorp
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Greenside
Hotel Greenside
#1 of 11 in De Koog
4.5 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel de Lindeboom
Hotel de Lindeboom
#1 of 6 in Den Burg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Kogerstaete
Hotel Kogerstaete
#3 of 11 in De Koog
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Restaurant Tesselhof
0.3 mi away
Strandhotel Noordzee
Strandhotel Noordzee
#7 of 11 in De Koog
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Opduin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Opduin

Property: Grand Hotel Opduin
Address: Ruijslaan 22, 1796 AD De Koog, Texel, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Texel > De Koog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Opduin 4*
Number of rooms: 96
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, Priceline, HRS, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Grand Hotel Opduin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Opduin Texel/De Koog

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing