We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we loved the breakfast”
Review of Hotel Greenside

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Greenside
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“we loved the breakfast”
Reviewed 30 September 2012

We were happy to have booked this hotel. We stayed during the weekend of Texel Culinair and there was not much choice left for hotels. Very lucky for us a room became available the day before arrival. The hotel lobby was small but was modern and nicely styled. The frontdesk was nice and happy to help. The room start with a luxury room, their basic room. It was clean and spacious. Bigger than an average room in the Netherlands. The bathroom has a bath and a separate shower, but it looks a bit dated. The room has a small terrace which does not look inviting but it was nice to be able to open the door to have some fresh Texel air. During the nights it was silent, no noise from neighboring rooms. The breakfast and the breakfast room were really nice and the staff serving the breakfast room were all very friendly.There is a sauna, free of charge which we did not use. Check out went smoothly. Will definitely consider this one again for our next trip to Texel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IvanFromNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    177
    96
    19
    2
    2
See reviews for
41
198
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2012

Greenside is welcoming, comfortable, and a safe haven from the fierce wind that blows over the sea. We had a suite with a lovely balcony, reclining chairs, fancy coffee machine. The bathroom products were by Rituals. There was also a high-tech weather prediction system with alarm clock thingy that we could not figure out. Breakfast was good. All in all a very positive experience. The only problem is that the double bed is actually two single mattresses joined together, so one person ends up in the crack!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rchandiramani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

We booked this hotel for a more luxurious end to our road trip from London to Lille, Antwerp and Texel.

Upon arrival we were disappointed with the aspect and quality of the building, it was similar to a modern housing complex, situated in a residential area, and far from the riverside location we had anticipated from the imagery supplied.

Our room was most disappointing and far from the Deluxe description. It was indeed a huge room with a separate living area with table and sofa. The design, layout and furnishings were poor, it felt like the Premier Inn brand in the UK, a business hotel room feel with no style whatsoever. The bed was enclosed by the wardrobe and felt awkward. We did ask for to change rooms on arrival, having enquired if there was indeed a Deluxe room. The staff were friendly and helpful and offered us an alternative garden room which we later discovered had no heating but instead an air conditioning unit to heat the room which was noisy and inadequate. We spent the first night, rather cold and in a very uncomfortable bed which was made up of two singles, having booked a double. The following morning we reported our uncomfortbale night and were offered another room. Again we had to pack up our belongings and move to another room, we were not offered any assistance to move our belongings, although the staff aimed to please but were unaware of our discomfort on our first night. I felt at this point the staff should have been aware of our situation and should have offered us a better quality of room. The room we relocated to was back in the main building and did indeed have heating which we found to be inadequate. The bed of two singles was made up as a double and we were told there were no double beds in the hotel and that all the mattresses were of the same quality. We slept very poorly yet again due to the soft mattress, albeit this time, the hotel staff installed a board under the mattress which made no difference. The walls of the hotel rooms are poorly finished in antartex as are the ceilings, some false and suspended with poor finishings. The pictures in the rooms were cheap paper prints, bevelled in their frames. The shower room in our large bathroom was a cheap unit and overall the finish throughout was very poor. In no way does this hotel merit four stars.

On the positive side, this hotel serves a great breakfast and has a nice bar to relax and we enjoyed our time alone spent in the sauna/stream room facilities.

All in all, extremely overpriced and lacking in any style and severely lacking in basic sleeping comfort.

Room Tip: If you're looking for style and comfort, please look elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carlitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2012

The hotel is located near the town Center. Comfortable, clean and spacies rooms.
Friendly staff. Cozy breakfastroom with elaborate choice in breakfastfoods. Excellent restaurant. Most food is fresh from the Islands and very tasty.
Sauna and steamroom are a definate plus!

Room Tip: Luxury rooms are very spacies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Veerle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We were pleased with our stay here and would return. Upon check in, we were told we were being given a complementary upgrade to a junior suite. Our suite was large, clean, and comfortable. There was a sleeping area with a bed and nightstand, which was separate from the sitting area, which included couches, tables, tv, mini fridge and expresso machine. The bathroom contained a large tub and an enclosed shower stall. The room had a large balcony. The staff at the front desk were helpful, friendly, and knowledgable about the area. There was ample parking. The breakfast contained an assortment of breads, cereals, condiments and toppings. Hot food was limited to eggs and bacon.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne1223
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

We had a great weekend out on the biggest island of the Netherlands. This hotel offers many attractive package deals. Ours came with bikes and a dinner. We have not one complaint. The rooms are huge, comfortable and clean. The breakfast area offers a lot of variety and the dinner served at the hotels' restaurant was just great. The staff well trained and the food tasted fresh and cooked with a lot of attention. Koog itself is a pretty cheap and sad small town, totally focused on (low budget) tourism. We did not like it at all, but the beach and the nature around Koog, made it possible to ignore town. We had a coffee near the hotel at a fantastic place called the Windroos run by disabled people. True value for money; biological products, real Italian coffee and all for a good cause. We also liked sipping our wines, reading magazines at a lovely small beach restaurant / hotel called Noordzee.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllesP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

Very charming hotel in a splendid environment off course. Rooms are very tidy and with modern accomodation and a large, wel equipped bathroom. Service is very good and breakfast is elaborate and diverse. We also had dinner which was very nice, you get high quality for a very reasonable price. For the price you pay, you get everything you can expect from it.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near De Koog
0.4 mi away
Grand Hotel Opduin
Grand Hotel Opduin
#2 of 11 in De Koog
276 reviews
3.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Texel
Boutique Hotel Texel
#1 of 6 in De Cocksdorp
155 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kogerstaete
Hotel Kogerstaete
#3 of 11 in De Koog
151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel de Lindeboom
Hotel de Lindeboom
#1 of 6 in Den Burg
159 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fletcher Hotel-Restaurant De Cooghen
0.2 mi away
Hotel Zeerust
Hotel Zeerust
#8 of 11 in De Koog
67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Greenside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Greenside

Property: Hotel Greenside
Address: Stappeland 6, 1796 BS De Koog, Texel, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Texel > De Koog
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in De Koog
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Greenside 4*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Greenside is an intimate four-star hotel in the seaside resort De Koog, just outside the centre where peace predominates. The spacious rooms are surprising. The large sitting area, the comfortable beds and your own private balcony or terrace. Extra luxurious are the Superior bedrooms with Whirlpool and Sunshower. Greenside has a separate wellness and fitness area. Bordering on the water is the restaurant Wambinge. Classic simplicity characterizes the tasty dishes; products from Texel reign supreme. Greenside can also facilitate business meetings. A tasty lunch or dinner and a relaxing stay in Greenside compliment your business event on Texel. In cooperation with sport and cultural partners Greenside organizes complete made to measure (day) programmes. Our function rooms form the perfect setting for family dinners, weddings and other parties or functions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Greenside reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Greenside Texel/De Koog

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing