We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night stay in Purmerend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Van der Valk Hotel Purmerend
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“One night stay in Purmerend”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Nine of us stayed at this Hotel as we had a party in Purmerend. A delightful hotel; nice and clean and tidy and the staff were very helpful indeed. We didn't eat in the hotel at all, merely having drinks, but the Restaurant looked lovely. A short walk into Purmerend so very well positioned. Would not hesitate to stay there again.

Room Tip: None of us had a problem with any of the rooms that we had - no problem with noise element at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernadetteHudson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    32
    29
    9
    6
See reviews for
19
33
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
bicester
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Excellent breakfast, comfy and clean rooms, helpful staff and excellent value for money. An easy walk into town and very pleasant spot. Didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening, but it seemed popular.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nwhirst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Landgraaf, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

The hotel was old and not idyllic... some places in the world are charming because of their age... NOT this hotel. The rooms were too small ( I stayed in at least 5 different Vander Valks and this was the absolute worst. The staff was uninterested, not capable, not to be found when needed and actually rude.
The breakfast was ok, the scrambled eggs though absolute uneatable. Hard, burned and the staff didnt want to change it either, because "its still enough present".
The surroundings were ok, although you had to walk a while to find it...
Actually NOT to recommend ever...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dr-John4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Zuidoostbeemster hotels

Burke, Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Our very drab room was right off the dining room with windows towards the main entrance - for privacy, the brown curtains had to be closed. Lighting was poor and the decor (carpet, bedspread, etc appeared very worn and ugly. The bathroom needed a complete overhaul. The plastic towel rack was loose and came off repeatedly, so that the towels were in constant danger of falling into the toilet bowl underneath. One had to be careful washing one's face in the tiny sink as to not bump into the mirror board right above. Maintenance seemed to be missing.
On the positive side, the restaurant was comfortable and the staff friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: May be we got the worst room in the hotel since there were just a couple off the dining room and we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We are a Australian couple travelling Europe for 6 months, this hotel appears very nice but the staff are not happy or welcoming...we arrived 9.30am for breakfast one morning and it was very basic, I requested cold meat and was told abruptly breakfast is nearly finished?? Not good morning or hello etc, the room was very basic with the most awful bed spread on the bed, if they just took the bed spread off it would be a better appearance...the bathroom was tiny and water would not regulate was either cold or hot (room 28)...We do not recommend this hotel for tourists. Purmarent locals support this hotel and are made welcome.

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaulinaPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fife
Level 5 Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013 via mobile

I stayed in this hotel whilst on a weekend break visiting a friend who stayed in pummerend. There was a party of 5 and we booked 3 rooms. Our friend booked the hotel on our behalf. The hotel was close to restaurants and shops and all within walking distance. My friend picked us up so I can't comment on easiness too public transport.
Staff are pleasant although I found them to be slow on asking for requests.
The room itself was very basic, the bed was comfortable but it was 2 single beds pushed together and into a double bed. The window didn't close but didn't cause a problem as the weather was ok but i would imagine if it was winter, it might cause a problem. There was no dressing table with mirror or a plug nearby that was suitable too use for any hair drying.
One thing was that there was no tea/coffee making facilities which is a first and this is something that should be considered.

We had breakfast on the second morning and found there was lots to choose from and fresh, no complaints there.

It is not a hotel for 'tourists' I would say and I found it to be overpriced compared too what we received. The only bonus was free wi fi.
If I was to return, it possibly would consider returning if the price was right but I would definitely consider other hotels first.



Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank MrsPScot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purmerend
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

The location is good, free parking and a cosy restaurant. The food is good and so is the ambiance. Staff is friendly but not professional. We made a table reservation in the serre, it was not ready. Waiting on another table but no excuse. Long time to wait for the menu and for the dishes and for the bill

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajheideman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Zuidoostbeemster
2.1 mi away
Hampshire Golfhotel - Waterland
4.0 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Volendam
5.6 mi away
Hotel Spaander
Hotel Spaander
#1 of 4 in Volendam
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.8 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Akersloot / A9
5.2 mi away
Marinapark Volendam
Marinapark Volendam
#2 of 4 in Volendam
189 reviews
10.3 mi away
Van der Valk Hotel Hoorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Van der Valk Hotel Purmerend? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Van der Valk Hotel Purmerend

Property: Van der Valk Hotel Purmerend
Address: Purmerenderweg 232, 1461 DN Zuidoostbeemster, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Zuidoostbeemster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Zuidoostbeemst...
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Van der Valk Hotel Purmerend 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Van der Valk Hotel Purmerend reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing