We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, friendly but poorly orgnised service, medium quality food. Strange.”
Review of La Lanterna

La Lanterna
Ranked #24 of 31 Restaurants in Ommen
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Reviewed 27 August 2017

Service friendly, but poor organisation.
All the time different waitresses who 'will pass on the message'. Drinks served rapidly, but then had to wait half an hour before our orders were taken, we were about to leave. After dinner asked for the bill and waited again a quarter of an hour, finally went to the bar to check out.
Dishes were then served very speedy after ordering, and having made a remark.
Lasagna was sloppy, had no bite, nice and spicy but far too salty.
Grilled steak was OK.
All of an intermediate quality, no refinement.
House wine (both white and red) were terrible.

Date of visit: August 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank edelange2470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 30 November 2014

I didn't expect that a so-called Italian restaurant in Ommen would be able to produce good Italian dishes, but ithe food was even more awful than I expected. We tried a calzone ripieno and canneloni with spinach. The calzone was filled with 3 slices of cheap ham, some slices of cheap salami milanse from Stegeman or similar, Dutch cheese and some dried herbs. There was no relationship whatsoever to you would get as a calzone in most other (even Turkish style) pizzeria. In Italy a calzone would normally be filled with ricotta cheese, sometimes also ham and peppers. In the Netherland very often the ricotta is replaced by mozzarella.

The canneloni contained spinach that looked gray rather than green (clearly not fresh) and here as well they did not use ricotta cheese (which here is a rather standard ingredient even in the Netherlands) but again fatty Dutch cheese. There was no trace of parmesan cheese and again dried herbs. This taste had again nothing to do with Italian canneloni.

We drank house wine that was even worse than the cheap Bardolino you get at cheap Italian restaurants.

In my view, the cook hasn't got a clue about Italian food, The table next to us, the people asked specifically to cook the
pizza well (last time it was still raw). It makes me wonder why the other people are positive about this rather depressing restaurant. Have they never had eny decent Italian food, is it because it is the only (so-called) Italian restaurant in Ommen, are they connected to the owners? My advice is: avoid this restaurant, as it is even worse than most Turkish style Italian restaurants in the Netherlands.

Date of visit: November 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank explorerUtrecht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2014 via mobile

Small restaurant , the owner is Italian. All different food we chose was good, soup, pizza, filet, etc ... Quiet restaurant.

Thank JordiMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Service is excellent and the food is really good. Pizza's are full of flavor and the pasta sauces also taste very nice. The decor is outdated but that problem solves itself when you see the bill: very affordable.

Thank Liekehanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile
Google Translation

Date of visit: August 2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Lanterna also viewed

Ommen, Overijssel Province
Ommen, Overijssel Province
 
Ommen, Overijssel Province
Ommen, Overijssel Province
 
Ommen, Overijssel Province
Ommen, Overijssel Province
 

Been to La Lanterna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing