We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the world experience”
Review of Lucky Lake Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lucky Lake Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Downpatrick
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Out of the world experience”
Reviewed 13 June 2014

I enjoyed the trip aswell as my partner from the moment we arrived at lucky lake hostel, the staff were so friendly and we met so many new friends from every different continent of the world! Booking to go again in august! Outstanding !!!

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clinta H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckylakeAbcoude, Owner at Lucky Lake Hostel, responded to this review, 19 June 2014
Whoop! See you in August!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    507
    92
    4
    2
    4
See reviews for
15
215
91
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (78)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014 via mobile

Located in a beautiful area outside of Amsterdam. Cheerful, fun hostel and great staff who made our stay very easy and pleasant. Kitchen, breakfast bus and lounge room were all fantastic. Nearby town of Abcoude is a lovely bike ride away. Thank you!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jack H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckylakeAbcoude, Owner at Lucky Lake Hostel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thank you , thank you J.!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Our trip around Europe took us to a load of different hotels, from 5 star spa resorts to 1 star budget hotels... but we easily enjoyed our stay at Lucky Lake more than anywhere else.

We enjoyed it so much in fact, that one day we decided not to bother going into Amsterdam city centre, choosing to hang out around the beautiful lake instead.

The staff are really friendly and helpful, the shuttle provided is very convenient, and the little shop is a life saver when you run out of food or beer.

The whole place has a very chic vibe, and you'll get a feeling of being close to nature, as I found out one night when I was tripping balls on mushrooms and a pair of ducks wandered into our room, followed by a cat who jumped into my lap.

We were already planning to return before we had even left.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malikhey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckylakeAbcoude, Owner at Lucky Lake Hostel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Oooooh, you have to come back! Thanks for the lovely words.... Keetje, the cat, says HI to you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I have just visited lucky lake, in fact Ireturned home just yesterday,
Lucky lake has to be one of the best hostels i have every stayed in. The staff are so friendly, the atmosphere was warm and inviting and the facilities we're so on point for the price we paid. Although the location isnt central, the shuttle takes you to the metro near enough anytime you want to go for just one euro each. You can hire little boats and kayaks for the lake, there's a smokers and non-smokers lounge, cinema room and ping pong table.
They have an outside kitchen and BBQ you can use or, reception will cook you a cheese toastie for just 1 euro 50
Thanks to lucky lake for such an amazing trip!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HollyTurner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckylakeAbcoude, Owner at Lucky Lake Hostel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
What an amazing review! Lots of love from all of us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Staying at Lucky Lake has so far been one of the best hostels I've stayed had the pleasure to stay at. It's really clean, the staff is so extremely friendly and welcoming and they give the best advice for whenever you're in a pickle. The location is absolutely beautiful, you won't even want to go into the main city. However, the shuttle servince to the main train station is a blessing. It's a smaller hostel so it's very easy to meet people and socialize. I will be coming back in the future. 5 stars.

Room Tip: I stayed in an all girls dorm and that was fine. I think the two bed cabins are cozier and the four...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Sukhmani G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckylakeAbcoude, Owner at Lucky Lake Hostel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
That's so sweet of you! Thanks!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Loved it, I wanna live there. The people were lovely, the place was lovely and the views stunning. I'd give it 100% haven't a bad word to say about it. It's slight out of the centre but they have this covered with a shuttle bus so no problems there.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clare W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckylakeAbcoude, Owner at Lucky Lake Hostel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear C, lovely, lovely, lovely! 'Till next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Lucky Lake hostel is a wonderful little getaway, if not the strangest place I've ever stayed. The staff is wonderful, the facilities are clean, the water is hot, the breakfast is as good as you'll find in a hostel. They even offer pizza and beer at dinner time if you're on a budget. It's kind of a hippy place, which isn't a problem in Holland. Just be aware that it requires a shuttle, then a train ride in order to reach Central Amsterdam. I'd stay here again only as part of a couple or a very large group. Not the right atmosphere for just two single guys, who are forbidden from smoking due to their employment back home.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LuckylakeAbcoude, Owner at Lucky Lake Hostel, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thanks G, for your wonderful words!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Vinkeveen
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Hotel Van Gogh
Hotel Van Gogh
#143 of 368 in Amsterdam
905 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
Waldorf Astoria Amsterdam
#1 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,237 reviews
Volkshotel
#41 of 368 in Amsterdam
1,262 reviews
Hotel V Fizeaustraat
#6 of 368 in Amsterdam
381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucky Lake Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucky Lake Hostel

Property: Lucky Lake Hostel
Address: Vinkenkade 75, 3645 AP Vinkeveen, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > Utrecht Province > Vinkeveen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Vinkeveen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Lucky Lake Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucky Lake Hotel Abcoude

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing